Some Time in the Sun [#ulog 3]

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Not too long ago I found myself wandering around in San Diego after attending a friend's lovely wedding. It was a great sunny day, and I had a lot of time to kill before my flight later in that day. I met with a few folks for lunch, and then I wandered along the sea shore. Because my planning is terrible, I did not make the best use of that time, but at least I was able to catch some nice photos!

First is lunch, where I got a drink and some tacos.

mescalita.jpg

I believe this is a mescalita, at least I think it is. Either that or a margarita. Nice and sour and refreshing.

bluecorntacos.jpg

I like the color of blue corn, something psychological about it makes me think it tastes better than other corn. Or maybe it actually does taste better. Also it looks more like black corn to me. Looks like octopus on the left, pulled pork in the middle, and maybe fish on the right? Ah well, but it was all good! I think... Maybe the texture of octopus doesn't really fit with tacos though.

thecave.jpg

This is a fun sea cave that was fun to just look at while the waves crashed in and out. I believe there is access to get to a beach cove where you can be at that level but I did not end up going.

birdsonthecliff.jpg

This is another section of cliff. Here are some birds chilling, probably judging the tourists in the back. They form a pretty odd formation, like they're scheming something.

sealsandwaves.jpg

Finally, some seals at the beach. At least I think they are seals. Are they seals, sea lions, or sea otters? I'm too lazy to figure it all out, probably someone just knows. They did kind of stink up the place though. And it was fun to see them rolling around as the waves came crashing in. They sure know how to relax at the beach!

Sort:  

Hey eon. You look as though you did quite a bit and at least had a decent snack/lunch and a walk along the coast. I often think I could have done so much more but may not have enjoyed it as much. Laid back is better and more enjoyable.

I was about to say the pictures make it appear I did a lot but in reality there was so much dead time. I think even for relaxing I should have picked a cafe to vegetate in. Actually I was looking for a beach side cafe but that eluded me. Next time maybe!

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed reading your story, the tacos look so good. I think you're right and they are seals.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool good to know :) thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

I miss the sea
And that cave 🐀
And oh my god Seals Seals
Awwwww

Lol, I read "here are some birds chilling" and saw the seals just lying around. I was like "Ok, hmmm, those don't look like birds. What am I missing?"

These are some really nice pictures :) I think it's a bit too sunny to appreciate the full colour spectrum, but damn, it looks like it would be nice to hang out around that beach. I love sitting and watching things happen around me.

Hah... on re-reading, I can see why that would happen. I've modified the wording a bit. Yeah, that day was just a tad too sunny and hot. Would have liked a nice cool spot to hide in and look upon the outside.

i just love these shots and now that i know you drank, its on! those tacos look delish. if its ceviche like octo that would be great. those are sea lions :)
cali marine biology class i took in hs was a fun thing to do and wr got to go be in nature by the sea. you brought back great memories. thank you for this refreshing post E! :)

Yeah I think it was grilled. And thanks for confirming! Haha.

@eonwarped yay grilled yummmmmm
you are so welcome! :)

That drink looks quite refreshing! Now I want one. Alcohol at 10 to 8 am is not a good idea though.
It feels to me that you are tired Eon. Perhaps you should have dropped everything and just do like those seals did and forget about the world for some time. Perhaps not with the seals though, you might end up smelling like them :p

Yeah I did want to do exactly that! Just like a seal.....

Those are sea lions. My surfer friend said that they will come out to play in the waves with the surfers. They like to swim under your surfboard and blow a big cloud of bubbles.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooh thanks! I also realized I probably downsized the images a bit too much and zooming in really loses a lot.

Ack how did you get here???

he's sneaky like that sometimes...

I'm mad about the sugar coated tops on glasses. It looks great. Only had while drink mojitos. The meal looks fab too. You picked a nice place to dine!

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.318 which ranks you at #2332 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 19 places in the last three days (old rank 2351).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76