Ulog 37: My Goals For The Rest Of 2018

in #ulog6 years ago

Elizabeth Lawrence (5).jpg
Sourceedited in Canva by yours truly

I promised to share this post with you on Sunday. It’s now Tuesday. My bad. Well… also Steemit’s bad for being awol yesterday… but that’s besides the point.

First, let’s have a 3 cheers for out amazing witnesses getting this bad boy up and running again. I’m full of admiration for them and their dedication to what they do.

Right. #Goals. I’m not putting that off at all. Nope.

Soo….
Ooo look, cute kitties… #inspiration - honest!

animals-cats-cute-45170.jpg
Source

Okay okay.
Goals. I want to lay out a few things I want to achieve or work on between now and the end of the year.


Health


Weight: At the beginning of 2017, I managed to lose 2.5 stone (about 16 kilograms) by changing my diet and getting more active. I really needed to do this as I’d got quite heavy and sedentary and it was affecting my joints and mood and day-to-day life. I did manage to maintain this healthier new me, until all s**t hit the fan – and food was once again my comfort blanket.

I’m not back to square one, but I have about 1.5 stone (just over 6 kilos) to shift. I want them gone by the end of the year. I started last week and have lost 5 lbs so far – yay!

Exercise: As well as the diet, I also need to get moving more. I have a desk job – and we’re headed into winter, which can mean I take steps from bed – to car –to desk – to car – to bed… and that’s your lot. I’ll be leaving work in the dark before we know it, so my main option here is to get up early and get a walk in before work. Bleurgh. I’m going to set this goal at 3 x per week during week days- and at least half an hour of exercise both weekend days.


Creative


Writing: I’ve bored you all senseless about this already- so I’m not going to go into agonising detail. I’ve got 42,000 words of my current first draft of my fantasy novel written. I’d like to get this draft finished (about another 50 – 60k words) by the end of October- or at the latest, November.

Art: I’d like to get a couple more drawings up onto my Etsy shop now that my other abstracts have sold out. I’m also going to get my shop on the Information Finding Channel on Discord stocked with my drawings so that you guys have the option to pay Steem for my pieces, should you want to.

Music: Guys – I’ve just picked up a guitar! It’s a little vintage nylon string. Super-cute, and the guy gave it to me for nothing. So… I’ll be practicing… and eventually I’ll be taking some lessons… and eventually eventually… I’d like to sing again (you can find out why I stopped here)… and I’d like to do that here. But- first things first – by the end of this year, I’d like to have reminded myself of what I can already do on a guitar and found the right teacher for me.


Steemit


Yes, this could go under creative- but I figured it’d be better sitting apart.

Posting: I want to get back up to posting on a daily basis. I’ve been a bit patchy recently because… well… life! And also, as a relatively new Steemian, I’ve been exploring where I want to sit here, what’s my thing. Why am I here?! Well – number one needs to be content, because that has always been my passion, and without that, the other bits have nothing to hang from

Welcome Wagon: I’m in my second week as newbie Peer on Team Cake, and I am absolutely loving sharing the things I’ve learned with others – encouraging, supporting and engaging them wherever I can. I can’t wait to carry on and grow further in this role, learn as much as I can to help support our trainees.

Engagement: I’ve just realised that I’m missing all sorts of notifications. I think this is because I use Gina Bot. And I love her dearly, but because I’m in the UK and an awful lot of you are awake and Steeming while I’m fast asleep, I miss the piles of activity in the deluge of notifications I get when I wake up. So, I’m going to start using SteemWorld to keep on top of my comments and mentions each day. I hate the idea that I’m mission out on conversations! I also want to keep reaching outside my daily circles and meeting new Steemians. To give this a concrete goal, I’m going to hunt down interesting content from at least two Steemians I don’t know each day.


Recap


I’m sure I’ve missed some really important things here, but it’s something to start with… here’s a super-quick recap:

By the end of 2018 I will have:

  1. Lost 2.5 stone
  2. Walked before work 3 times per week and 30 minutes each day at the weekend
  3. Finished the first draft of my fantasy novel
  4. Restocked my Etsy shop with pieces
  5. Stocked and launched my Discord shop
  6. Started guitar lessons
  7. Posted to Steemit at least once every day
  8. Stayed on top of all my notifications using SteemWorld
  9. Grown in confidence and value as a WelcomeWagon Peer
  10. Found and engaged with two new (to me) Steemians every day

Right. Phew. Now I feel like a snooze ;)

How about you guys, what are your goals for the rest of the year?
Eveningart x


EVENINGART.gif


Thanks to @penderis for the awesome logo

Sort:  

Setting goals are important. If you don't have them, how do you know how much you've achieved? I have a ton of lists around so i dont forget what needs to be done, so don't feel alone.

As for the Welcome Wagon, you have taught us so much! I am glad to be one of your waggin buddies.

https://giphy.com/gifs/loop-oval-Nj0FfX9n53gf6

Glad to be your Wagon buddy too :)

I'm glad to be home today after a long weekend of duty visits, so I'm seeing today as the real start date for getting this list underway. Excited! I've got that new-year feeling ;)

E x

You can do this!

Thank you! Now all I have to do is get going on them ;)

This is a very deliberate plan and I love it! You have my support on all points.
Huge thanks for the Gina bot. I always wanted to have a professional assistant.

Love to know you!

Thanks so much Ravi!Yep- a deliberate plan, and now I'm back home, I feel like I can really make a start on it!
Glad you're getting on well with Gina- though I'm using both her and SteemWorld together now so that I don't miss too many notifications ;)
E x

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Thank you so much - what an honour!

yayyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! you're doing so well on everything and 5 pounds gone? woo hoooooooooo

I'm so proud of you and I have no doubt that youll be steadily reaching these one at a time... and we will be cheering you on!!!!

and peering. hmmmmm i think some lady told you that you would be amazing as a Peer a while ago.... hehehe

you should listen to that lady more often. she sees greatness in you <3

Yes... yes... I will listen to that lady. I will. She's the voice in my head ;)

And thank you <3 Slowly but surely we'll get to our goals :)

WOW awesome goals! I know you will fulfil every detail. I know for sure!

Some years ago, I started my dream fulfilling list actually I call it my little treasure list.

I reflect, put my goals down, collect visuals, pictures, anything that I think it would fit to illustrate my goals.

... yeahh ... I am a very visual guy :)

I mean it's so true, you are so right ... how would you know where to walk on the path if you don't have any goals put down to visualize to embrace.

I think it is so important to know where you come from ... know where you stand ... your status ... know where you are going, what you are longing for.

Thank you so much @eveningart! It reminds me to check my goals again ... I think its again time to open my treasure list :)

<3

xx

Ooh I love that idea- I may start to keep my own treasure list, that's lovely! I'm very visual too so gathering images and colours and textures for my dreams sounds like the perfect plan.

Enjoy checking out your goals again, dig through that treasure list and set some new ones! I'm excited to start working towards mine today :)

E x

Yeah, worked out very well with me, actually ... the only kind of way to focus my goals, that worked with me ...

So glad you picked up the idea <3
xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91