Ulog 6: Playing With Paint

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Elizabeth Lawrence (1).jpg

Morning Steemians!

How are you all today?

So my question to you is, what do you do when you’re feeling a little bit low to brighten you back up? I’ve discovered that, for me, it has to involve colour.

Now, for me, as predominantly a pencil artist working on portraits and pet portraits, this presented a bit of a problem. I love to go and do some art when I’m feeling low- it’s soothing and restores my balance, but to bring me back up I NEED colour… and so I started a different kind of portrait.

I’d pick an #animal, pick an accessory and get to work with my gouache paints and markers. And it really does the trick for me- working on these pieces has me grinning in no time. They’re just so silly! And full of colour! And even better, they seem to make other people smile too!

A bit about these paintings. I work in gouache paint and India ink. The gouache, if you haven’t heard of it, is basically like watercolour paint, but it’s opaque and is really strongly pigmented so that you get these intense colours. I love the way it flows- it’s easier to manage on paper than acrylic and dries with a lovely matt finish.

Then the India ink is fab because you can get it in pen form as well as in bottles so that you have a range of lines and brush options available- and it is light-fast- so I don’t have to worry about my pieces fading or discolouring over time.

Finally – the paper. I use 100% cotton Somerset Paper. It’s actually designed for printmaking - but I’m completely in love with its texture and raw edges. It’s super-expensive per sheet… but sometimes a girl just has to treat herself!

So here’s the thing I’d like you to do for me – can you come up with an animal and an accessory and leave your ideas in the comments? I will pick one, paint it and present it in my post here next week. Thought that might be quite fun!

If you like the look of any of these pieces, I do have them available on my Etsy shop if you fancy checking them out.

Don’t forget to leave a suggestion in the comments!
See you soon,
Eveningart x

22519923_577007539314083_3968569034426687064_o.jpg

EVENINGART.gif

Sort:  

OK, so my OH said he would like a pink flamingo with a tiny nightclub door at the bottom of it's leg with a queue of people outside. I think that he has been heavily influenced at this point by seeing Marc Almond at Let's Rock singing "Say hello, wave goodbye!.

Notice the lyrics "Standing at the door of the Pink Flamingo, crying in the rain" .....

Ahahahahahahahaha!!!!
I have to paint this. Have to!
I think I'm going to be painting for quite a long time to do all these :)
E x

by the way... ohhhhhhhhhhhhh i love that unicorn!!!!!!!! your stuff looks like it would be in the stores!!!

Thank you so much!
The Unicorn found a loving new home a while ago - but I think it had quite a bit of sass going on :) E x

Ooooh let me think - I fancy a peacock (lots of drama and colour) and a handbag (darrrrling). Was going to go for a penguin and a feather duster - for no other reason then they are random! Take your pick :)

Oooohhh! I'm loving both of them - but especially the penguin and the feather duster!! AWESOME! Thank you Jennifer x

ok i'm gonna switch it up a bit. hehehehehe i realize that i'm late to the party.. LOLOL but i love @jenniferbailey's peacock... but.... for a FEATHERDUSTER (instead of the bag) hehehehe

i can just imagine those feathers!!!

hehehehe show us show us @eveningart! :)

So much talent, @eveningart, I love your work (or is it play, or both?) :)

Thank you so much!! And it's definitely a bit if both... more play with these pieces though ;) What's your animal/accessory combo to add into the pot? E x

Hmm, let me think... how about a... sheep and a ...woolly accessory (scarf, mittens, socks, jumper...) I kinda like the idea of sheep wearing sheep-made material :)

Thank you- I love this idea... for some reason in my head that instantly turned into a sheep in a Christmas jumper 😁😁

And reindeer ears, haha. I'd love to see it if you ever get the chance/time/inspiration to do it :)

Love love love this idea. It's on the list!!!

This is such a splash of color that I needed today. :)

Thanks so much @littlescribe - and for the upvote! Really appreciated. So... what would your animal & accessory combo be for next week's painting (the weirder the better ;) )

Congratulations! This post has received an upvote, minnowboost, and post promotion, compliments of @welcomewagon!

To see the Promotional Post, go here

This is amazing- thank you so much for making my day xx

Some cool art, for me when I am down or need to think, its walking and often with my camera taking photos gets me in a good frame of mind

Thanks so much! There is something really therapeutic about walking - and my other half is like that with cameras too - seem to get him in a different head-space. Thanks for stopping by. E x

I totally relate to your feelings towards art and especially color. Playing with colors calm me down too. I am a wire artist and I play with colorful beads. 😊 Animal accessory combo - chicken 🐓 and stilettos 👠 lol 😂

I love that the love of colour can really translate across whatever artform you are involved it. And thank you for that fantastically barmy combo - that feels like a challenge :) E x

OMG! They're awesome!!! I paint and sketch too, but I'm still a long way to go.. hahah It would be great to see some of your artworks with the process... <3

Thank you! I'm looking forward to seeing some of your work. I've just started a "how-to" series today, and the next painting I do, I'll film it. Would you like to suggest and animal / accessory combination to add to the possibles for this week? The stranger, the better! E x

I saw the shading one.. It was great! Hmmn~ how about an ostrich with a rainbow scarf and long boots? hihihi~

Ah thank you! Okay - I'm loving this suggestion so much! An ostrich in long boots wearing a scarf is definitely on my list ;) I'll tag you when I've done it! E x

You're welcome... I'm looking forward to seeing it... ^^

Congratulations @eveningart! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17