Ulog No. 18: "Sports Day, Sick, Steemit and Saturday Flat Tire"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

ulog18.png

Thursday, 5th July

We had Junior Primary Sports Day at school. The ELC children also participated in different events. I did not want to go to work but I had no choice. We were short of staff because one of the educators asked for a day off that day because she wanted to watch her own kids participate in different events.

I was not feeling 100% at that time because I was up almost all night, sneezing a lot due to the weather being too cold, or I probably caught a cold virus from the child I held the previous day. That child was very sick and he sneezed on my face. I am hypochondriac and paranoid myself, so when something like that happens, I could not help myself but think I'd probably get sick from that.

A parent asked me how I was feeling, and I said, I was not feeling well. She's also a member of the church where I go to, and we belong in the same Home Group which is held fortnightly Thursdays. We had home group but I didn't go there. This parent sent me a text message that she meant to tell me not to come to Home Group that I needed to rest and sleep instead.

I missed connecting with people from our church, and this fortnightly Thursdays is our chance to catch up and connect outside our Sunday church meetings. It's actually healthy and beneficial for me to do that because I learn from them, they inspire me and they give me encouragement and support through their words and prayers.

Friday, 6th July 2018

It was my brother Enrico's birthday, and here is the screenshot of my Facebook message for him:

july6.png

I was also meant to submit an assignment but I failed to do it. Not that I am making excuses, but I was still sick and I'd rather be a couch potato than stay up and work in front of my computer. I have the laptop with me, though, to submit posts on Steemit, just so I'd keep myself active.

I love five-minute #freewrite by @mariannewest because I don't need to spend a lot of time in front of the computer to be able to write anything but bearing in mind the prompt for the day. The prompt changes each day, by the way. I use the Google 5-minute timer whilst I type on the Notepad. After 5 minutes, I copy it and paste it on Steemit. I add photos because I like to add colour to my post. I also have a template of a picture (sourced from Pixabay) that I add to the beginning of my freewrite. Then I format my post at the end. So the writing is 5 minutes, but I spend another 5-10 minutes for editing and formatting.

So that's what I did the past few days. Writing for an entry to @mariannewest's 5-minute freewrite, as well as commenting on other people's posts. I love @insideoutlet's guessing game, too. So I also spend time trying to guess what her image is each week. I love challenges like that.

I mentioned earlier, I was sick. I watched TV all day and stayed in the lounge room whilst I folded our laundry that had been in baskets for days. Finally I got the chance to get to it. I maximised my time sitting down by being productive. Most of it was finished, but I still had another pile of laundry needed to be sorted out.

I binge watched this series called "Younger" which has 5 seasons. Each season has twelve 25-minute episodes. Meanwhile, my husband was at my auntie's investment property helping out in doing some repair and renovation jobs. He has been working hard doing this job for almost a month now. He is very meticulous and his attention to detail is superb. His motto is "work or give your 100% on any job or don't do it at all." I am the same, except that I just procrastinate a lot. I'm thankful that he still loves me despite this obvious flaw.

I could not be bothered watching Wimbledon as well. I usually follow the Grand Slams from Round One up to the Finals, but it's already in the fourth round now, and I have not watched a single match since it started on Day 1 this week. I had been busy as it was the last week of Term 2. I completed 10 reports (for 10 out of 21 children), my Director finished the rest of the reports. So that's what I had been doing for the last couple of weeks. I'm glad that it's over now! All I have to do now is finish my assignment. I will try to finish it tonight or tomorrow, and submit it on Tuesday the 10th of July.

Saturday, 7th July

I was feeling a lot better. My two aunties (they're my father's sisters) and I planned to go to Port Lincoln. We were set to go. I said I would take my car and I would be the designated driver. My husband, John, said to come past the house where he's working (my auntie's house) so I could say goodbye. Even though he was busy, he said he was going to miss me and wanted to see me before I'd go. I would only be away for a few hours, since Port Lincoln is not too far from our town. It is just a 2-hour-and-45-minute drive from our town to Port Lincoln.

So I went to my aunties' house and picked them up, and then went to the other house. I had a feeling something was wrong with my car. I could feel it. I just thought maybe the road was just bumpier, or I was just feeling a bit paranoid because this would only be my second time to drive out of town.

Thank God we had to see my husband first. First thing he noticed was the flat tire. Totally flat!!! That explained my "gut feeling". I did feel that the steering wheel was quite harder to manoeuvre than the usual. We had no choice but to use my auntie's car to drive to Port Lincoln. But John had to check my auntie's car first. He checked the oil level, power steering fluid, or whatever you call it. He checked the tires.

By the time, he was finished checking with everything, it was already past 11 in the morning. My aunties and I decided we should just go to Cowell, instead of Port Lincoln. At least to go to Cowell, it would only take 45 minutes to 1 hour to get there.

P7070134.png

There was nothing in Cowell. We went there only to have lunch. I had Calamaris and chips. The calamaris were chewy but I enjoyed it. The seasonings compensated the chewiness of the calamari squids. We checked the shops, but we forgot that it was Saturday, so there was practically nowhere to go to in Cowell. The shops were closed, except for a pub. But we didn't go there to go to a pub. So we impulsively decided to go to Port Augusta. But to go to Port Augusta, we had to drive past our town first. Before we left that town, I bought 3 dozens of oysters for $13.50/dozen.

I drove my auntie's car back to our town. But by the time we got there, it was already 4 PM and so in the end, we decided it's best to just go to Port Augusta or Port Lincoln another time. It's not like we really had the urgency to go to these towns. We just wanted to do some sightseeing and some shopping. Our trip to Cowell was not completely a waste of time, because we spent a bit of time together, had lunch and brought home lots of OYSTERS!!!

I will be writing another Ulog post for whatever happened today, Sunday, 8th July, as today has been pretty eventful. I also want to share a little bit of what I learnt from church in my next post. Thank you for reading! Bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
17
Course Assignments and Volleyball
16
When You're Upvoted by...
15
Marie and Pierre Curie
14
When God doesn't answer my prayers, it doesn't mean He's absent

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank, @ocd-witness.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify.jpg


All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @terminallyill, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Good thing that your husband checked everything on the car!! And I am glad that you are feeling better!!
I am so glad that you are part of the freewriters!!

Sick and then flat tyre. Oh well at least it has been spotted early.

Yes, silly me! I knew something was not right, and I should have told my husband right away. But I'm glad we went to see him first before we left town.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14