Ulog No. 35: "Burnout? So, I Resigned"

in #ulog6 years ago

It has been a while since my last post. I haven't been well, not from flu or anything, but mainly on stress or what you call "burnout".

Burnout, as defined by Urban Dictionary, is a state of emotional and physical exhaustion caused by a prolonged period of stress and frustration.

Sometimes, when I'm feeling this burnout or going through rough patches or facing a rock-hard situation in my life that seems like it never ends, I start to lose hope. I feel like there's no way anything will change and that I'm going to be stuck in such a mess. As a matter of fact, that's what I feel at times when I pray that I start to feel like I have been praying about something and I have not seen any change at all.

Yes, it can be frustrating and discouraging. The thing is, when I lose hope, I lose the ability to see a whole new perspective on life or see anything beyond my circumstances. I am consumed by fear, mistrust, disappointment, doubt, and resentment over my unchanging situation.

But I know that God will turn my troubles into hope. Isaiah 40:31 says,

"Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint."

I'm thankful that God is faithful in His promises. He is the only One that I can rely on in times of trouble. I know that when God promises me something, He will always come through. He keeps His promises and He will completely change my situations and turn my trouble into hope.

Decision


I decided I am just going to quit Uni and devote myself to work and finishing my Diploma course in Early Childhood Education and Care. Because I had to quit Uni, I had to resign my Teaching role position and decided I will still remain in the Early Learning Centre (where I am presently employed), of course not as an Early Childhood Teacher anymore, but as an Early Childhood Educator.

There is a difference between those roles. Of course, the pay rate is one of them. I will no longer be paid as a teacher, and I will no longer enjoy the privileges and perks of being a teacher, like being paid in the school holidays even when I'm not working. Because I won't be an ECT anymore, I cannot relieve my Director and assume leadership role and responsibilities when she's away, even though I am a registered teacher anyway. The problem is that I am a qualified primary and/or high school teacher, but I'm not fully qualified to be an Early Childhood Teacher.

Three years ago, the school employed me as ECT since I had the teacher's registration and because I was studying the Diploma course in Early Childhood Education and Care. It meant that I was working towards getting a qualification in Early Childhood Teaching. However, last year, the policy has changed. One needs to be working towards getting the Bachelor Degree in order for him/her to work as a teacher in the preschool. Because of that, I enrolled in Uni to get the Graduate Entry degree in Early Childhood Teaching. I was not mentally or emotionally prepared to study at Uni.

I could not get my head around work, studies, church and personal life, and I was already feeling that it was all too much! There was no balance and I could not give or do my best in my Uni studies, because I dedicate most of my time at work, and that's basically it. My life was spiraling and I was feeling so burnt out already.

So, I resigned but I still have 7 more weeks as the ECT of our Centre. Starting in Term 4, I will work as a Diploma Educator. In a way, I sort of like demoted myself, but I'm very happy with my decision.

NF.jpg

I'm grateful that my Director accepted my resignation as a teacher and still wanted to employ me as their Educator. So, I'm not jobless, thank God. I can also enlist myself to work as a Relief Teacher if I want to or whenever I am available. I don't need to worry about the tuition fee that I need to pay for my Uni studies. And I won't worry about failing a Uni subject and wasting my money because I did not submit my assignments.

After I decided that I was going to quit Uni, I felt more at peace with myself and relieved, too. Now, I can just concentrate on finishing my Diploma, and then when I'm mentally, emotionally and financially prepared, then I can go back to Uni and finish what I had already started.

I know that my calling is always to be a teacher. And I will still get that full qualification. It's just that it won't be in the next couple of years. It may take 5 or 10 years, but I know I will get there eventually.

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog initiative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.

The "U" in #Ulogs means "You."

The following are some of my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

Ulog No.
Title
34
Decisions
33
My Homemade Recipe for Baked Spuds with the Lot
32
"Some of my Food Analogies" and a chance to win 3 SBI Shares

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
itestify1.jpg

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit, @steembulls, @flaminghelpers, and @itestify), #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

The Lord is ayour STRENGTH!!

He is indeed! Amen.

I'm so glad you have made a decision that has lifted the burden. Sometimes we try to take too much on at once and there is no harm in spreading things out over a longer period and keeping things enjoyable for that period, rather than burning ourselves out with a shorter period of stress.

Congratulations on have made a decision. If you felt relieved and at peace with yourself, then it’s is surely a good sign. I wish you all the best now with your diploma and a lot of happiness and health!

It can be really hard to make decisions when we're already burnt out and over-stressed, but it sounds like you looked at all options and pathways and came to a good decision for yourself. The fact that you felt relieved after making the decision points to this being the right one for you, at this point in time.
Now, with more time to breathe, who knows what might present itself? :-)

blessings, take care of your/self first. hugs, eagle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79