Ulog No. 43: "Mushroom and Vegetables in Creamy Sauce - Perfect with Steak"

in #ulog6 years ago

steak01.jpg

In one of my previous posts a few months back, I wrote about my love for steak. Well, to be more specific, I wrote a review on the rump steak I ordered at Mike's Bar & Grill in Engadine, New South Wales. Because I LOVE steak!!! It's one of my favourite things on earth. I would always order steak whenever I'd go out of town, but of course, when I'm home, in our little country town, I'd prefer to buy the meat from the supermarket or the butcher's shop and cook it myself. Or, better yet, my husband, John, will have to cook it to our liking - medium rare!!!

And he must make no mistake with our steak!!!

That is one of the many things we share a common interest and passion together - our love affair with steaks - Porterhouse, T-Bone, Rump, Sirloin, Rib-Eye, Fillet, to name a few. We cook our own steak when we're in town and within the comfort of our own home, not to mention it is more economical for us. (We actually have almost perfected our steaks to our preferred liking.) As most of the readers would agree, steak can be a little bit expensive when you order it in a restaurant or bistro.

Yesterday, we decided to have steak for dinner. So John and I went to Coles Supermarket to buy the meat that we wanted - Angus Rump Steak - as well as to buy other groceries. I didn't really want to go with him because I wanted to clean the house, but he convinced me to come by saying he'd help me clean the house, and I thought that was really sweet of him. Yay! We will clean the house together!!! It has been a while that we did grocery shopping together, so I thought, all right then.

Then all of a sudden, I started to feel unwell when we were at Coles. I was nauseous and felt a little warm. I thought I was coming down with something, like a bug or flu. Good thing I always had Paracetamol in my bag, so I took two tablets to help me make feel better. But it didn't. We got home and ate lunch around 2 PM. We finished eating at around 3 PM and I said I was just going to lie down in bed. I'd wake up at 6 PM to start cooking.

I did fall asleep, which was great. I guess, the tablets kicked in and the sleep made me feel a lot better afterward. I prepared the table and started cooking the side vegetable dish and mashed potato to go with our steak. John would have to cook the steak after I finish with my cooking.

Anyway, below is the recipe for this side dish that I always cook every time we have steak, or roast pork, or roast chicken. It's a perfect side dish for everything, especially when mixed with mashed potato.

Note: Whilst preparing all the ingredients for this recipe and cooking this side dish, I had potatoes boiling in a pot on medium heat, so once the vegetable dish is finished, potatoes would be ready to be mashed with butter, a bit of salt, and milk. (I like multitasking in the kitchen.)

MUSHROOM AND VEGETABLES IN CREAMY SAUCE

Ingredients:
sliced mushrooms
diced carrots
frozen peas
cork kernels
1 tsp of minced garlic
thickened cream or fresh cream
2 tbsp cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water
butter or margarine

Method:

1. Heat pan on medium heat.
2. Add butter.
3. Add minced garlic once butter is melted.
4. Add sliced mushrooms and stir until all mushrooms are covered with butter.

5. Add carrots and stir for 2-3 minutes.

6. Add frozen peas, stir and simmer for 2-3 minutes.

7. Add corn kernels and stir for 2 minutes.
8. Add salt and peper to taste.

9. Add fresh cream and cornstarch mixture. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes or until sauce is thickened.

10. Once the desired consistency of the sauce is achieved, turn off the stove. Set aside.

For Mashed Potatoes:
Strain the potatoes and place back into the pot. Add butter. Mash with either fork or a potato masher. Then add full-cream milk and mix with potato. Continue mashing. Add salt to taste, too.

Serve with STEAK AND MASHED POTATO and ENJOY your meal!!!

steak08.jpg

Please leave a comment below for feedback or suggestion. Thank you for reading and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his #Ulogs initiative. Vote @steemgigs as your witness.
#Ulog means "You Log" or "You Blog".

Previous #ulog PostsOther Posts
International Book Exchange: Scam or Real?There's no Mistake with my Steak
Deep BreathingThe Loch Eel and the Loch Ness Monster
Once It's Out, It's Out!What the Fork?!!!
My Definition of a Perfect RelationshipDoes Steemit have a Culture of Integrity?

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls by @pkalra, @bunnychum & @honeychum
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif
@dynamicgreentk & @dynamicrypto

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

I love steak, too. Since I grill it I generally grill side dishes. We usually have grilled asparagus or summer squash. I also grill my potatoes.

I hardly grill my vegetables. I make that creamy sauce recipe or I steam them. Like steamed carrots, asparagus, broccoli, snow peas or green beans.

I occassionally steam veggies to go with roast I cook in the oven. I cook on my grill year round. I'm a hardy New Englander, snow and cold weather are just a mere inconvenience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87