Ulog #1: Back to Hinagdanan Cave, at my very own heaven-sent hometown Bohol!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg

Hinagdanan cave is a small grotto with beautiful rock formations. Stalactites and stalagmites surround a purest underground lake.

Ola steemians! Welcome to "MY ULOG"... Special thanks to @surpassinggoogle for his brilliant initiative of keeping steemit alive and kicking... long live to you!

I just want to share my summer quick stop at Hinagdanan Cave, Bohol. Hmmmp! Just a quick stop because I am not gifted with an adventuresome spirit, and never in my life did I ever wish to swim in the cave’s pool nor explore its crevices. After all, I have heard a lot of humored stories about the cave's beauty and its hidden mystery... Olala!

I remember years back, being a pure Bol-anon, the area where the cave was located was devoid of houses, open and bare, except for intermittent trees. So come this summer break 2018, with my kids in tow, along with my husband @juichi and my relatives from Mindanao, we visited the place out of curiosity also of how it looks nowadays.

h2.png
The entrance of the cave is still narrow and steep and only one person at a time can enter. Yet the stairs have improved. The once wooden rickety handle of the stairs have been replaced with rounded steel bars and the stairs are wider. It is easier to go down on them but one has to be careful with the steps. They are slippery due to the humidity of the cave. Upon entry, three to four tour guides will explain the "what about" of the cave and its precautions so there's nothing to wonder that much, you can ask from the experts right there.

Entering the cave since I brought with me my two-year-old Fabio, I have to really be extra careful. I need to wink twice in order to accustom my eyes to the dark. But it's not that really dark inside anymore for an artificial lighting are in place to improve accessibility and illumination to the cave and the two holes aboveground gives a streak of light towards the upper left side of the cave.

The moment I touched down I did take pictures right away though initially, I feel blinded by the dark thus coming directly from outside. The only thing that surprises me is the captured picture from the wall of the cave. Nobody told me about those images, or maybe I just forgot since it was already more than two decades when I last step in this cave. Olala! I wasn't able to notice it right away, only when I arrived home. Did some scanning and was able to spot on this... wow!

>
I really wanted to know what are those images all about. So I did some additional research to satisfy my nosiness on it. It's a woman with two heads with kind of a snake body... My original picture is blurred so I try to look for a clearer one,( credit to the owner) but I guess we do have the same vision on this.

According to my online readings, Hinagdanan cave holds a bit of history from the Second World War so just a "maybe" those images are the creation of those who took shelter from it(who else will). Let it be told that the cave was once used as a hideout by the locals to escape from the Japanese Imperial army, but unfortunately, they were still found. Alright!... If only I was able to eyespot that quick (it was dark anyway), I should have asked the guides right away! Hohaaay...

Anyways, happy to see spectacular changes in the place and I feel lucky to be back for more than two decades.... hooray!


"We live and learn, at any rate we live"


trademark.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by fabio2614 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

kanindot dha mam ayyy

pero sikop mga bata taman taman mam ky lisud madakin-as....agoy😅

dangog d i ang bato? pligro pod

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fabio2614 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

wow! we really had a lot if beautiful places in the country like this. Thank you for touring us the place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25