Ulog Diary #15: Nothing Beats The But-ong Made By My Nanay

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

1528000313474.jpg

But-ong

But-ong is an Ilonggo delicacy made up of glutinous rice, coconut milk, water and salt, wrapped in banana leaf.

When I was a kid, I was used to waking up in the morning and eating but-ong along with my coffee. Nanay would normally prepare this at night so that we can have them in the morning for breakfast. As her youngest (and her favorite obviously.lol), Nanay would always ask me to have the first taste of her cooked but-ong.

Now that I'm residing here in Manila and Nanay lives in our home in Negros, I can only eat this but-ong along with her other specialties whenever I go home for a vacation.

A couple days ago, my brother-in-law arrived here in Manila and with him was a pack of but-ong made by Nanay. Oh what a joy!

I just realized that in my entire life, I have only been able to eat but-ong made by Nanay. And I have nothing against it. Despite not being able to taste other but-ongs, I know that Nanays home-made ones are the best there is. Not only only are they made into perfection but they are also made with love. This will not only remind me of a wonderful childhood and a beautiful home but of a great love by a mother who would stay up late at night making these for the ones she love.

What about you? Ever have that special food that reminds you of your mother's great love too?


If this post interests you, you can check out the ulog post of @surpassinggoogle in here.

Have you casted your witness votes already? Please support @surpassinggoogle by visiting here and typing in "steemgigs" into the first search box. If you also want him to make the witness voting decisions on your behalf, that can be done by visiting here again and typing "surpassinggoogle" on the second box for proxy.

A huge shoutout to @phantum04 for my wonderful ulog gif below. You can get yours too by checking out this post.

Thank you for dropping by. ❤

All the best! {always}
~filnette 🍀

DQmTDHgUUMTHMjjFvY7y6M7FhAdsjdJTsmUmuz4Ps81pAWG.gif

Sort:  

A taste from home! That's always the best :) The real question though ... did you share? LOL :P

LOL! Of course I did. The guys at home have beaten me to eating it first. It was a shame my brother in law was only able to bring a few. It was not easy being on a 24-hour trip from home.

Ang sarap nito ma'am
Mama ko marunong din gumawa nito ma'am tawag po saamin nito sa bikol Binutong.

Ai ang galing naman! Exactly like this one? Hihi. Akala ko samin lang may ganito. Hindi ko pa na try gumawa neto. Tagatikim lang ako. Hahaha. Pero suman na try ko gumawa kaya lang effort magbalot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39