Barley - better than rice?

in #ulog5 years ago





It was quite a weird weekend - no diners for Sunday Supper. A mixed blessing, but not just because it gave us a night off, but also because the box of ripening tomatoes - destined for the fresh tomato soup - was pinched off our veranda. Because my kitchen is rather small, I have an outside prep area and the tomatoes were stashed (or so I thought) where they’d be missed. Not. The gap was discovered on Sunday morning and had we had bookings, instant panic would have ensued.

Anyhow, no bookings always means a much more simple supper and, if I’ve the inclination, some experimenting in the kitchen. This Sunday ratatouille was on the menu and I went ahead with that but in the absence of fresh tomatoes used a tin of chopped tomatoes. A whole one. That was a mistake - we ended up with Mediterranean vegetables in tomato. Not ratatouille.

That was somewhat rescued by my deciding that we’d eat it with barley instead of rice. I cooked in some newly-made chicken stock and with mozzarella, the supper was more than acceptable, even if the ratatouille could not be redeemed!

#ulog #powerhousecreatives #SteemBloPoMo #teamsouthafrica #share2steem #cooking #Sundaysupper #popup #restaurant #homecooking #homemade #vegetarianfriendly #mcgregorvillage #MagicMcgregor #localproduce #thecountrybutcher #countryliving #countrystyle #TheSandbagHouse #foodstagram #photography #food #foodstories

There it is - today's contribution

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma

If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn

Let me help you for blog posts any writing in English
Rates depend on the depth of edit required


DM me on Discord

More about why I am offering this service here

Join Us On Discord

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

Thanks so much for participating in the first week of #SteemBloPoMo. It's been wicked awesome to see other people jumping aboard, and it's helping to keep me motivated as well. And to show my appreciation, here's a - !tip

Thank you! It's fun! Glad you're enjoying it to.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for participating in the "cheers" fun post by @jaynie

The @theluvbug has given you a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Wouldn't have missed it! And thank YOU! 😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Not keen on barley, but do really like rice. When I lived in Thailand for a few years I had rice every day so that now it's a staple for me...

I hate "ordinary" white rice and since the more fragrant rices (jasmine and basmati) have become available, I am less averse. That said, some western dishes don't work with thos flavours. Barley, not cooked to a glop was a very pleasant surprise. I hated barley in soup which my mother made every winter. Glop in dishwater...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I've had my fair share of glop

It looks delicious! And I always like Barley for a change. I like the texture.

Yes, I did like the texture - a pleasant surprise after the glutinous glop in my mother's soup. Now I want to experiment with other things...

Thanks for the follow and for stopping by

Hi, @fionasfavourites!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

It looks really good. I LOVE barley in soups. I have had a few dishes were it was substituted for rice. I love it. The hubby not so much LOL. 'It's to chewy and why is it so thick' He's so picky on what he eats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75