ULOG 18: Crosses and Better Days in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Handicapped access obstacle kuala lumpur malaysia MRT fitinfun.jpg

I take photos of crosses when I see them. I was raised Christian and raised my son @bxlphabet Christian and I see crosses everywhere. They always give me comfort and I get photos when I can.

But this cross does not give comfort in person! As you see, these are raised bumps that are present at the place you must exit the Transit Station if you are handicapped or have luggage or a stroller. All of the other exits for "normal" people are clear. Only this one has a bumpy obstacle.

I found this in Malaysia, but it not just here. I have other photos of the same thing in many other countries and I really wish I knew why these bumps are here. Are they for security? Maybe to help water runoff? I do not know, but I have to look out for these bumps when I travel. Sometimes you can go around them but often you have no choice but to negotiate them as best you can.

Here is a video I took in Laos. You can see even in the thumbnail that the Vientiane Airport path is just one big obstacle for luggage with those bricks. I am lucky to be as healthy as I am on this journey and so grateful to be able to negotiate the bumps that get thrown in my path!

My Current Situation

I am still living in a hostel near the Pasar Seni Station in Downtown Kuala Lumpur. I like the hostel. It is clean, has great wifi, I can work in many desks 24/7, and the guests and staff are all so nice and interesting.

One man here sells Malaysian bird's nests to the Chinese Market. He told me they pay dearly over there for the health enhancement. He is just here for a few days to get more stock and will go back to China to sell them there soon. Where else would I have run into such an interesting story?

The downside of living here is the cost. Although it is cheap for a hostel, it is more that I planned to pay, and expensive compared to someplace out further. It is also in a tourist area so food and anything else I buy are more expensive here. One of the guests told me you can get much cheaper food almost anywhere else in the city. The meals I get would be half the price I guess and that would really help me. Other than rent and visa costs, I do not buy much else but food.

I also have conflicting news on my visa situation. I came here in part because Malaysia is said to be more friendly to repeating Tourist Visas than Thailand. I was able to stay in Thailand for close to two years before they started giving me trouble at the border. Many posts on many groups I follow have said Malaysia is much friendlier to repeating Toursit Visa holders like me.

But whoops! Maybe not. It seems like they might not be so friendly in recent times. If this is true (and I need to research more) my choices would be to move to another country (don't want to to that). The other choice is to buckle down and get some type of legal employment, but that would mess with my whole weight loss gig. Maybe there is a way to do freelance work or weight loss work. I do not yet now the answers. So I need to figure this out in the next 80 days of so and take appropriate action.

My Son @bxlphabet

I have been in contact with Caleb’s landlord all throughout this mess. She likes him, wants to help him, and does not want him out in the street. I emailed her earlier in the week telling here of my dire financial situation and telling her I still cannot pay anything on the past due rent.

She sent a one line reply to me today saying, “Do not worry. I know you will pay me when you can.” Does she know something I do not? I'm a bit stunned by her patience and faith in me, But knowing my son has a roof over his head is such a relief to me. I cannot imagine how long she is willing to wait for the rent to come, but I am beyond grateful right now.

Caleb @bxlphabet is still posting and trying but not talking to me very much. I know he is worried and all I can do is keep trying.

Tomorrow is Another Day

It is Sunday tomorrow and I have been invited to church with @iamjadeline and @happycrazycon, their friends, and families. I will be travelling a few stops on the LRT, have lunch after church, and visit a possible place that would be cheaper to live out in that area. I am so excited to do this trip and happy to be invited. I think I will do much better in another place than this hostel and a break in my work routine is just what I need anyway.

Ulogging on Steemit

I am using the Ulogs editor for this post. Ulogs are a great way to post about what is going on with you to let your friends on steemit know. In the words of "Our Boy Terry" @surpassinggoogle, "You are the celebrity and we are your fans," so what are you waiting for?

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

Please start here to kick obesity to the curb:

Set Your Goal for Weight Loss
Anyone can beat obesity if I did. Please ask me and I will help you do it too.

Help Us Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are our wallet and PayPal addresses where we will be so grateful for any help. Any input or ideas will also be so welcome.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

Byteball

6IMJINL2UG3XPT2WJDUGNGBDC4HUCOXL

PayPal Thailand:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @mlhphotography leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 123 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I went to Kota Kinabalu for my first trip to Malaysia a few weeks ago and loved it.
I also like your habit of taking photos of crosses or things that appear so.

Exclusive offer GET 5 STEEM Airdrop
Join our Site and get 5 steem airdrop on your steem account. The Campaign has start for attract new user to use our service and mass adoption.
Get 5 STEEM NOW CLICK HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05