ULOG 29: Freewrite Day 346 Surprising Music in My Life

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

freewrite Music fitinfun.jpg

I do not listen to music much anymore. It distracts me from my work and I am working most of the time. But all of the sudden I do have music in my life again in a couple of unexpected ways and both are religious.

I live next to a big mosque here in Kuala Lumpur. Therefore I hear the “call to prayer” five times a day if I am here and awake. I love this! I use it as a “call to exercise” and get up and move if I am working. I find the sound very soothing. I have no idea what is being sung, but it is repetitive and sticks in my head.

And on the Christian front, I am attending a wonderful church service now that starts with about an hour of music each Sunday. As a traditional Episcopalian, this is very different from the traditional hymns I am used to. There is a band playing with guitars, keyboards, drums, and singers. The music is loud, uplifting, rock-and-roll-ish, and everyone in the congregation is singing along as it goes. Thankfully the words are projected on the wall in case you don’t know them.

In my nomadic life, I have attended many different churches over the years, but nothing has prepared me for this experience. Although I am in Malaysia, the only thing I can relate this to is how I imagine a African American church in the Southern US to be. After an hour of all this singing, the sermons come through in a whole different way than I am used to and the words of them take a very direct path to my soul.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

This post has received a 50.00% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @fitinfun. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

I love every expression of church that I have ever attended but your church sounds like my kind of church @fitinfun. I'm from Africa and we do joyous noise well...

I hope you can come here one day. I found a wonderful church home, or maybe they found me :)

That would be awesome @fitinfun! Your journey to Kuala Lumpur has inspired me in so many ways. Let's hope that it happens in the not too distant future.

So glad to read of you enjoying the church and the music @fitinfun! Glad you didn't find us over-"crazy", as some may have seen us that way :P

You got a 6.78% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Nice post ! You got 100.00% upvote from @flymehigh. Earn free sbd/steem daily by delegating(renting) your SP. We share high return, click here to delegate your sp to flymehigh if you don't know, how to earn passive income by delegating your SP click here for more info Join our discord You can promote your posts. Thanks.

You got a 35.33% upvote from @whalepromobot courtesy of @fitinfun!

You just received a 22.05% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @fitinfun!
WaveSmall.gif

You got a 29.70% upvote from @peace-bot courtesy of @fitinfun!

Help spread the peace. Want to promote your posts too? Send a minimum of .02 SBD or STEEM to @peace-bot with link in the memo for an upvote on your post. You can also delegate to the bot for daily passive earnings. If you would like to delegate to the Peace Bot you can do so by clicking on the following links:
50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP 5000SP

Learn more!

I am so happy for you that you found a place to refresh your soul!

You have been defended with a 28.72% upvote!
I was summoned by @fitinfun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17