ULOG 31: Kuala Lumpur Wet Market Wednesday Walk

in #ulog6 years ago

Today I am walking to my local wet market in the Wangsa Magu area of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. A "wet market" sells ingredients instead of prepared food, and I have a wonderful one to visit each Tuesday through Saturday.

Unlike where I was staying in Bangkok, I have a kitchen now where I live, and I really prefer to cook my own food. This market operates from 7 am until when they sell out which could be less than one hour for some of the stalls, so let's get going!

One of the loose rules for the Wednesday Walk posts sponsored by @tattoodjay is that you are to walk about five minutes and record what you see.

This is the "Keluar" (exit) to the garage of my condo and it already took me more than five minutes to get here from my front door. This earlier part of the journey will come in a future post and will be very exciting, so don't miss it!

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 1.jpg

I've come a bit of a distance now, and I am looking back at the security entrance to the condo. You can see the guard shack on the right, my condo tower in the rear, and the building to the left is the start of many stores in a strip mall I am not visiting today.

The people in the middle of the frame are using their security card to get back into the condo property as I will do when I return. We are very close to an LRT Station, so we have a lot of foot traffic in and out of the property. A great benefit of this place is that you have no need of a car to get around.

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 2.jpg

These next three photos are an utter mystery to me. This is a food stall that opens only at night. It is right at the end of my driveway. It is crowded at all times and cheap. At the moment it is closed and I'm taking these photos to show to my friends here while I beg for help.

I know what I want to order and I have tried, but I do not get it. I do not speak Malay and the vendors here do not speak English. Though they really try to help me, the two times I have tried, I ended up with food I did not want.

RM 5.00 is usd $1.25. I want to spend that much and get a hamburger with an egg wrapped around it. I watch people do this all the time. I have even pointed at the exact thing I want as it cooks for someone else and I still don't get it.

I have so far spent RM $4.00 and RM $3.75 and on neither occasion got a hamburger with an egg wrapped around it as I was trying for.

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 5.jpg

A John Burger? I do not know. At least I know I do not want chicken, prawns, or fish. But none of these is RM 5.00 anyway.

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 3.jpg

Is the cook's name John? I do not know. Stay tuned to see if I ever find out!

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 4.jpg

Here is my local ditch just past the John Burgers. I love this place. It reminds me of home as far as I ever had one. This looks like a lot of places from my childhood and running away years. We called them ravines where I was, and once you got into one, you were safe and no one could find you.

The pipe you see is big enough for me to stand up in and I want to try but surely never will. I see people go down into this ditch often and it's all I can do not to follow. They actually have stairs going into it at a couple of places I have seen. I will soon do a post focused only on my ditch and it will be a blockbuster.

Beyond the red, white, and blue parked cars is the end of the market I am going to, but I cannot get there from here.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 1.jpg

Now I am crossing a bridge over my ditch and actually on the way to the market. This does not look steep, but I climb back up this hill almost daily. Trust me, it is steep; and this is why I have thin legs now.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 2.jpg

So what is this by the tree?

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 6.jpg

We are feeding stray cats an assortment of food. They even get a newspaper plate to eat off of. If this feeding station was behind the security of my condo, there would be a fine. RM 300.00 is $73 usd.

Now we come to a dangerous place for me. Instead of a fence, tape is the guardrail. You can see some of the market where I am going about 20 feet below this grade.

The crack on the right is an ankle killer and I really should not be over here at all. My son @bxlphabet would have a fit if he saw me walking here. This is exactly the kind of place I used for fall over when I was obese and he was my only helper. Well son, I'm fit now; so never fear.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 5.jpg

And just past the big crack, here is an interesting place for my arthritic feet, knees, and hips. I need to take a photo coming up the other way to show you what I am up against. It is steeper and more uneven than it looks.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 4.jpg

I'm almost at the market when I get to the AWAS sign. This means "Be Careful" in Malay. I do not know if they are talking about the fence, or the cracks, or something else, but I am on it! I'm not planning to trip.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 6.jpg

Whew! Almost there. I am showing you this "monsoon ditch" because it is full. It is about 10 feet to the bottom when it is empty. We have really not even had much rain and it is filled up now.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 7.jpg

My thin legs and chicken! I love this photo so much. I am not as long as an alien in real life. The sun is very low still, so I look perfect! Add the seemingly short obese person next to me, the motorcycle, and the smoking cook, and I could not be more thrilled.

Wed walk to the market in kuala lumpur fitinfun 8.jpg

The stairs you see are not the way I go down. Just imagine something more dangerous because I did not get a photo yet.

Wed walk to the market kuala lumpur fitinfun 7.jpg

And now we have reached the level of the market. Above you can see the protective tape fence I did not crash through. The tall building in the back of this frame is my condo so you can see I have barely traveled anywhere. And I surely spent more than five minutes on this trip. But I am highly entertained and happy, so who could ask for anything more?

If you care to see this market and all its goodies, you will have to stay turned for Market Friday by @dswigle. This is only the Wednesday Walk part of the event, and I am sticking to my themes.

before and after stomach poster fitinfun.jpg


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your support.

What an interesting walk so much to see

Good luck with finding how to get that burger you want

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thank you so much, @tattoodjay! I am so happy to have a place to post this fascinating part of the world. I really love it here and I am so glad I came. And thank you very much for the tip and vote!

Glad you are happy there i loved my time iN Singapore, and wish in some ways I was back there or somewhere is Asia

Hi @fitinfun! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Dear @fitinfun,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

I would love to be involved and this is definitely a place to remember. Thank you!

Great @fitinfun! We are so excited to have you supporting us in this. It meant a lot :) Looking forward to read more of your stories, Steem on!

Do you need two tags? I can do one, but not two. I have many SE Asia travel posts and do this a few times a week usually

Nope, we only need one which is #archisteem. #placestoremember is now used for our progressive report, not mandatory for authors to use. That's awesome, we will go through your posts and see which we would like to include in our project. Super thanks for the support, @fitinfun! Steem on.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for participating in #travelfeed!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you Sharon,
It is always fascinating to see though someone else eyes!
Sounds like you may have to learn to speak Malay if you want to get the dish you want at that restaurant haha!

keep well :D

Upvoted and resteemed

Your post has been manually curated by elizacheng 💖

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

For the burger with egg-wrapped patty (assuming that's what you want), it is typically called "daging special" for beef patties or "ayam special" for chicken patties.

Those stalls with the "RAMLY BURGER" brand usually have them.

Thank you! this is exactly what I want! I will try to say this right, next time I pass by. I really appreciate you help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34