Mom Diary - I can't remember how many entries now.... Ulog # 4

in #ulog6 years ago

Dear Mom Diary,

It has been a couple of rough days. Emma is on a rampage for 3 days, just screaming at anything that moves. I've tried putting her in her room, timeouts, punishments and obviously those are not the things I need to be doing but I am at a loss. She just screams even more.
I know it would work to hug her and tell her everything is ok but she's now violent and kicks and just doesn't want any physical contact when she is like that. Boy oh boy, what am I going to do when she grows up some? She's only 5 you know.
She even spit in Aaden's face! I do not know who taught her that one. It was pretty gross.
Sassy girl, I tell ya.


Emma going crazy having fun

For the most part Aaden has been wonderful. A bit on the stubborn side but that's ok. That means he can stand his ground. He has been helpful too with cleaning. Has even done some dishes <3 He has been having sensitive moments and reacts on them big time. Hugs and cuddles help him work through them.

Frankie is just.... like a funny wild child. She has stopped doing things like stealing bites of cakes that I make and smearing it on the fridge. (Good times) Or drawing on the walls, the chair etc. Remember those times? A few people had a good laugh when I wrote those posts.
She has moved on to being adorable, sweet and funny. She knows how to make someone laugh IF she decides to talk to that person.
Potty training has been going good although when we leave somewhere she tends to have some accidents. She is doing a great job though. We have our own little rhyme in french "Bobette pipi toilet", translates to undies pee in the toilet. Rhymes in french though lol. She stuck to it as I remind her that she is wearing undies and then she finishes the rhyme.

Talking about potty training, my puppy, Piper, it's not going so well. The only time she will do her business outside is first thing in the morning, the rest of the time she holds it in to do it in the house. Boy I am getting annoyed at picking that up. I think I have to start all over. Use massive amounts of treats and exaggerate on praising her when she does it outside. Just like a toddler.
She is also still very nippy. I am trying to train her to stop but that is something else. Hyper Piper is her nickname. She is nicely trained for feeding. She will sit and wait till we tell her to eat. She is very smart. Now to put her to the test with more training. Gotta get that house training to happen. The frustration is there.

Talking about frustrations, one thing I want to talk about is what some people are saying and I would feel guilty to say the same. With the kids arguing and screaming and being fully active, some parents are saying, "I can't wait for school to start again." I get it, I really do. With summer being so busy I am just dead tired. I don't want to do anything anymore. Maybe go camping again so the kids could play outdoors and I could just sit there. You know, there is a lot less cleaning to do in a camper than in a house ;)
I got thinking, do I really want a break so bad to be excited for the kids to go back to school? Handing them away to teachers which are basically strangers to me. Sending them to the wolves, the kids that pick on others, the pressure of not being 'normal', wearing the fashion clothing. It is important to some people that their kids fit right in so that they don't get picked on and pointed at. But since when our kids can't be kids? Let them be weird and funny. Let them enjoy what they like and share it with the world, no better way to have fun when you are sharing it with someone.
No I don't want to be impatient for my kids to go to school. I am happy through all the thick and thins with them, even when I can't take it anymore and I want someone to take them so I can take a break for a day. They are my world and I fight for them.
I may take the expression a little too heavy as I know most moms won't really think it that way. Just some deep thoughts I am sharing. Life goes by too quickly. No time to say things like that. If little ears hear that they would feel just awful for being around. I wouldn't want to break their hearts.

Ok Diary. That is it for today. Nothing major. Nothing exciting for now.


Sort:  

I can't help with the kid parts, but puppy training, if he is nipping, especially hands, put some butter on your hand or arm where he most often like to nip, he will lick, if you can have a little dish with some soft butter ready would be best, as soon as he nips scold him, rup butter where he just nipped call him back and let him lick, then praise him.
Potty training, Always take him out the same door, and lead him to the same place. Each and every time. When he is trained then you can take him out the other doors, but for now pick one door, and one potty place.

Brilliant!!!! Thank you so much for the tips! I would have never thought of a form of food so that she would lick instead of bite. HAHA you made me very happy!
And with the potty training. I have been using both doors and I see now how that can be confusing. I bring her to the same place each time, knowing that it helps. I know when she does do her business outside I praise her like if shes my toddler going potty. I get excited and just exaggerate on praising her lol. I probably look like a nut but I don't care, as long as it gets her to be encouraged to do it outside.

On a positive side note: She gave the paw on her own today yay! LOL I know it's silly but its progress and shows that she is trainable haha just messing :p

I learned the butter trick when I had a blue heeler mix a long long time ago.

Wow, and on top of all that, you made time to make a lovely steemit post complete with adorable pictures! Good for you!

I feel you about the 'back to school' thing. It just makes me sad to hear parents talking about how they just cant wait to send them back to school.
So sad...
But we homeschool, so I dont have to send my kids away, lucky me! :D
Sending you hugs and some sanity, Im sure you are running short by now. ♥

The tantrums have gotten a bit worse since I wrote this post. My son swore at us twice and my 2nd child said she hates me and called me stupid because I am constantly on her to clean her room.
I am really low on patience and have given them less room to test me on that. I am past the yelling part and now am at the growling part. I hate to say it, I really do. I hate to yell at my kids, I wish I didn't and I tell them that. I apologize for yelling and I ask them to work on it so that there is more respect between us so it doesn't get to that.

The good parts lately are that my son and I went raspberry picking. We picked the berries for the men that are redoing our roof as they don't have raspberry bushes where they live. My son loves to help (other people :p ) My daughter finally cleaned her room after saying I would put it all in the garbage and Frankie has been a bit moody but also very snuggly and loves to take care of my cuts and scrapes. Always have to see the good side of things. Wishing we didn't have to go through all the nasty parts first though.
Thank you for sending hugs and sanity. Tomorrow is another and better day ^_^

Awww... I feel your pain Mama!
Hopefully things are looking up. Kids seem to go through phases, and when they act out like this, there is usually an underlying cause... back to school stress, perhaps?
Sometimes it helps to talk with them heart to heart and try and get to the root of things.
And sometimes there is just no reasoning with them, haha!
Have a lovely day! ♥

School hasn't started here yet. Another 8 days to go. There is always an underlying cause and its just having to find it. Some reason my son doesn't like to talk to me and it takes time and patience for him to do it. My girl, Emma, often enough, is like you said, no reasoning lol.

Sounds like a very active expressive bunch....glad you can enjoy them at these ages and trying behavioral times....they don't look too happy in that picture!

Emma does not like getting her picture take most times and before that picture there were a few others that were taken. Aaden was ok to take the few first but then was done with them so ya... wasn't too happy by the time it was time for our family of 5 picture. That was the best one actually lol.

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Holidays van be rough. I think it's because their brains aren't getting enough exercise and that's why they tend to just have way too much dam energy haha.

Actually that makes a lot of sense. I tried to get my son to read over the summer and he's just not into it. His mind is too busy with everything else. I should try harder.

That's a handful big task to go through during the summer holidays. But I can relate to it. I send my boys for activities during school holiday break as they've got too much energy that staying home just isn't an option for me.

At least 50% of their energy is channeled elsewhere first... Ha ha

How lovely that is for them! Oh I wish I had something like that here. There are no camps or boy scouts (That I am aware of) around here. Everything is just so far. That must be so fun for them. I am happy for your boys, many memories and adventures!

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37