#ULOG 491 - Daily Thoughts - 09 Oct 18 - Homesteading Today...

in #ulog6 years ago

Good Morning, Steemians! :D

It’s wet and grey out there this morning, but at least there’s no snow yet. :D

Our handsome boys keeping an eye on things, Shadow (1) watching our herd and Tiny (2) watching me as I go to the barn to do the chores. :D

Well my morning didn’t go as planned. I was supposed to do my normal chores, then head into town to run a few errands and deliver the coffee to my handsome husband, son and the crew, then head home to relax, do a bit of laundry and some dishes. The chore part went as planned until I saw one of our cows pulling string out of the new bale. I guess our farmer friend’s baler string went crazy in this bale because its all throughout the middle of it, ugh. I removed enough to wrap at least another bale, maybe two, and there is still more inside it. I’m praying that the cows didn’t eat any before I got them away from it. Leroy was the easy to shoo away from it, but I had to lure Princess (1), Candy (2), Joker (3), Belle (4), and Buddy away from it with oats. :D

Joel (1) and Billy (2) snorted and “talked” the whole time they were eating their breakfast, it was very cute. :D They weren’t as cute when I told them that there weren’t any squashes today, they’ll still be looking for them for a few more days until they catch on that they aren’t any more coming, and I’ll have to hear that high pitch squeal they make, to let me know they are displeased, each meal time until they get used to not having them as a treat, oh joy. :D

Belle (1) enjoying a cold beverage and Candy (2) and Leroy (3) heading over to join Belle for a cold beverage (as soon as big old scary me moved out of the way so they could come through the gate), of course it was Candy blocking both Leroy and myself if the truth be told, but she said it was me blocking them, at least that’s how I interpreted her “moo”, LOL. :D

Joker enjoying some “me time”. :D

I did make it to town to run my errands and get the coffee, later than I was supposed to, but I made it, I’m home now and heading out to see if I can get the rest of the string out of the bale. My back has decided that I’ve been fighting that bale and the string long enough and has demanded that I go lay down for a bit. I’ll have to go back out again later. Here is all the baling twine I’ve pulled out of the bale so far, and there is still more in it, so the herd is going to have to enjoy grazing until we can be sure all the twine is out.

Our grand-puppy Tiny thinking very hard about the pros and cons of going after our free-ranging hens, I had to get within his sight line and remind him how much trouble he’d be in if he went after them. :D He eventually decided that they weren’t worth getting both grandpa and grandma mad at him, which means no cookies or other treats, and came inside, but he stood there a lot longer than he should have. I can understand why he’d be tempted, there were more chickens out of their fence then in it today and they all came by to taunt the puppies and grand-puppies, cheeky chickens. :D

Belle (1) and Joker (2) stood there and mooed their displeasure at not being granted access to that bale of hay yet. :D
WARNING: If you suffer from arachnophobia, skip past the next picture after this one. :D

Our dapper doggy dad Dakota (1) wanted inside but his lovely daughter Lady (2) was blocking his path, he kept looking at me, looking at the door, then looking at her, until I finally opened the door and he could jump over her, LOL. :D

Found this guy sitting in one of the dogs’ outside water dishes.

Our handsome grand-puppies Tiny (1) and Shadow (4) hanging out on the front steps with their beautiful sister Mya (2) and mom Karma (3) this afternoon. :D

Sunset 1. (The sunshine tried valiantly to come through the clouds today, and it almost made it. :D)

Sunset 2. (Unfortunately, this was as close to seeing sunshine as we got. :D)

Sunset 3. (I’m still counting it as a sunset photo, even with the dark clouds, I think its pretty and deserves to be shared. :D What do you think? :D)

Sunset 4.

Sunset 5.

Sunset 6.
Well that was our day here. How is/was yours? I hope you have/had an awesome day! :D

Anyone else interested in a badge like this? Contact @daddykirbs for a custom badge of your own. :D Thank you to @zainenn for the GHSC footer as well. :D

Sort:  

Looks like such a busy day! I hope your cows don't eat the string too!


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

Thanks for taking the time to visit, read my post, and make a comment. :D
Yes it was, I spent over three hours trying to get all that dang baling twine out, but never succeeded getting it all. Thankfully my handsome husband was able to move the feeder and remove the twine I couldn't get. :D Too bad we had to take apart almost the entire bale to do so. :D
Thanks, I took twine away from Belle, Buddy, and Leroy, so we're hoping that they didn't swallow any as well. :D
I'm not sure how long we've got to worry and watch them for, but I'll worry for a while, its just the mom in me, mom's worry all the time. :D
God bless you. :D Have an awesome day! :D

hello my dear friend frosty , i sooo miss you. will be sending you a PM later , wanna share you something , stay grateful my friend , wish all the best always for you and the whole fam 😘❤️❤️❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome back lovely lady! :D Thanks for visiting. :D
Hello my wonderful friend, @zephalexia! :D Awe, thank you, miss you too. :D I'll try to get into Discord when I'm done with my replies. :D My family, the animals, and I are all good, thanks for asking. :D
How are you and the mini's doing? :D I hope you are all healthy and doing well. :D
Sending hugs, love, and positive vibes to you all. :D
God bless you and your fantastic family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05