A Tempting Day - A Honest Review of my Evening's Reflection

in #ulog6 years ago

I solemnly promise to be brutally honest in this article.

Yesterday I wrote a business piece on how I feel the Nigerian healthcare system can be revived from its current abysmal state. I was surprised that it got the attention of a very popular user - Our favourite mice @sniffandscury. You see, for me it was particularly surprising because there was no mention of my faith in the piece even though I consider myself a member of @steemchurch. As someone who has been frustrated with visibility, the upvote was a deeply appreciated surprise that stirred up not just emotions, but a quest for rationalizing the actions of our favourite mice.

I came the realization that it was perhaps due to my name - Archangel, and the fact that I try to actively participate in the steemchurch community by upvoting, commenting and applauding other users. So it definitely was not the worthiness of my post that attracted such a large upvote, but rather my involvement with community.

Temptations
I was almost tempted to begin writing 'Godly' articles on the @steemchurch platform with the hopes of getting upvoted, but I had to quickly talk myself out of it even though this post is still being written with some vague hopes of that if I am to be completely honest with myself. I decided to stick to my field of business and social justice activism because that is the best way I find expression in the World.

Less Christian
8b2bed681efa8870ddb6e4c187f4c233--praise-and-worship-worship-god.jpg

I am a proud believer of Christ, and I do try to always prove that to myself and the World but I do not proselytize. I believe that my expressions should find ways of communicating with the rest of the World with the way I live, no matter my career. I want to lead people to Christ by being the best businessman I can be and upholding God's word and commandments. But does the fact that I do not particularly specialize in theoretical discussions or applications of the bible make me any less christian than those who do? It is a question I have no answer for now.

To Him He gave Talents
The parable of the talents came to mind as I begun to ponder, and an epiphany struck. I believe that we are meant to perform different societal roles towards the realization of a common goal (bringing people to Christ). I probably will never make a decent pastor or minster; but as an economist, I will be the best I can possibly be and my work will glorify God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25