The Small Steps that I am taking

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

jogging-2343558_1280.jpg
Life is considered as a marathon. You need to endure a lot of obstacles for you to reach the finish line.

image from pixabay.com

I originally posted this on my facebook account before I decided to share this to you all.

This story of mine is for all those who wished to succeed in their academics but are having a hard time. I just wish this could help you remain steadfast with your goal on having good grades in school.

This is also for those who seem to be at lost in the path that they have chosen. I also feel the same. I am also a person who is wandering.

When I was in college, I only thought that I could only comply the requires QPI to maintain my scholarship for my AB International Studies degree. It was just then that I realized that I could have tried harder to attain latin awards. That would sound interesting then since I served as the president for our co-curr, Ateneo Diplomatic Corps. Anyway, I was still happy receiving Honorable Mention. Some people said that I just passed and had good grades because I "only" took a bachelor of arts degree. If you are like me, do not be disheartened by it. All courses are actually hard. It would only become easier when you put your heart to it. If you still do not love your coursw, then learn to love your course, of course!

I applied to numerous scholarships and my parents did not even knew about it. I just thought then that I wanted to be a lawyer so I blew all those chances and went to law school. At that point of my life, I thought of law school as a grand adventure -- a wonderful journey. But even before the semester ended, I realized it was not for me (or at that moment). I wanted to serve the community. I also erased my dream on becoming a diplomat. The thought of FSOE at that time gave me chills, even until now.

I decided to serve different communities by being involved to different non-governmental organizations and INGOs. It was so blissful hearing others how grateful they were to us. I also knew then that I needed to step up in helping the community so I thought I needed to do something. I took and still take education as a life learning process. I thought of taking up educational units, perhaps that would do good since being an educator is also being a nation-builder, ONE CHILD AT A TIME.

I then heard of this scholarship from Australia wherein they would give you an allowance and pay your tuition. You just need to pass their criteria to enroll yourself with Professional Education. It was called Step Up on those times. Unfortunately, I fell short on their required QPI. I was not well performing on my minor subjects, just so-so.

I talked to my dad about it and he told me I could just enroll for Professional Education either at Xavier University or at USTP. I have thought of the latter since their tuition is half of the former mentioned. I inquired the university and have thought of the idea that the moment I would graduate in CoT (Certificate of Teaching), we would be assigned to sit on the farthest area from the stage. Sounds funny right? It was just a small thing but it was a deciding factor for me to change my mind.

I was not prepared then to take the entrance examination. Well, apparently, I had always been unprepared with all the entrance exams that I took even CSExamination last 2013. I thank God a lot for giving me a favor that I passed them all. I passed the entrance examination for Master in Public Administration.

I was scared of course. My experience in working in the government was not that much. We were under the classes of different regional directors, heads of offices, and a lot of wonderful professors. I am just thankful that my classmates were very supportive and helpful. Although they are focal persons in their respective offices, they never intimidated me. They even assigned me to facilitate on some of the seminars and activities that we had. I thought to myself that I am still blessed since God gave me wonderful people. These people helped me to become a better person and even until now they still see to it that I am still doing well on the path that I chose to take.

The things I learned in Graduate School helped me A LOT. Those were my eye-openers of being involved to different social issues that are existing. Being a Centrist also helped me to become empathetic towards political issues. Those experiences made me skeptical and at the same time trying to seek on which of the choices we should make as a citizen of this State.

As a youth, I suggest you get yourself involved with those things that I mentioned. Having a job is good, but working with different people who are focused on nation-building is better. You can also focus on things that you are passionate about such as helping the environment become a safe-haven for the generations to come. You can focus on helping different communities with you talent and skills. You can work with your local government or even with your own youth group.

Screenshot_20181106-215446_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20181106-215335_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20181106-215329_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20181106-215323_Chrome.jpg

Going back to the story, all effort paid of CQPA for Master in Public Administration is 1.1460. I just still need to work on a thesis to get this degree or else I would end up attaining CAP (Completed Academic Requirement). Guys, I know we can make our brains work.

Because I felt I was not ready to present my topic, I decided to take Certificate of Teaching on the same institution. At first I was really scared because I need to venture on something that is new to me despite the fact that both of my parents are educators for more than two decades. Both of them told me then that I should have taken education first because I could have been promoted by now. I just laughed at the thought and told myself that we all have different pacing in life.

Screenshot_20181106-215657_Chrome.jpg

It was not easy and it made me appreciate all the teacher around the world. You do not just need to pass all the subjects, graduate the course, and pass the board exam. I learned that one needs to master the craft through experience. One needs to be creative. One needs to be passionate about this path.

We know for a fact that the second semester would not be easy. We would be student-teachers in few weeks. We might run out of patience. We might end up crying out of frustration, but I would still continue to pray to God that He would grant us wisdom, an understanding heart, and the attitude to serve the Filipino people by becoming the best version of ourselves as an educator.

You might be experiencing the same thing, but I tell you that you will be okay. They might judge but it is not their life to begin with. Just make the most out of it! Also, always remember that the process of aiming your goal is hard, but it will all be worth it.


For me to succeed as well, I need to look for people who would serve my role models. Well, my parents would always be the first two people on my list. I look up on them and is also grateful that I was raised by educators. They might not earn more compared to those who are in the corporate world, but I sure am blessed that they had been with me every step of the way. I offer them these little achievements that I had and the little achievements that are soon to come.



STEEMIT.COM%2F@GAILBELGA (1).png

Sort:  

I love this line

always remember that the process of aiming your goal is hard, but it will all be

Keep up with your good works and efforts. It is nice that you have your parents as your role models.

I always hold on to the 2 rules of success and I will like to share them with you.

  1. Never give up even if you fail at some points.

  2. Always remember rule number 1.

Keep Steeming.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thank you emjoe 💓

You are welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89