Ulog 19: Art for the Heart (Crochet Beginner)

in #ulog6 years ago

For the past few days I had been breaking down, and last night I had been so restless. I wanted this depression and anxiety to end because it is one of the things that had been eating me alive. To put it in a song, still alive but I am breathing.

I wanted to paint or even make sketches but my focused attention and concentration seemed to have failed me. I cried and cried until nothing has been left.

It was already five in the morning when I went outside and looked for something to eat. I tried to fill the void in my heart with food but I know it was not enough. I saw my crochet hook and threads. And I have said to myself, why not try finishing some Gail?

I went back my room and decided to make some for our house. I wanted to make cute drink coasters with the selected color of threads that I have with me.

I love crochet way back elementary years. I would just buy a yarn and then try to make cellphone cases or holders. I would then give it to my aunts, cousins, and phones although I know it does not look that great.

According to wikipedia, it is a process of interlocking loops of yarn to create a fabric.

Here are two clips that I took while making one of the coasters that I made. I was quite while making this video because I really have a hard time trying to explain it. Haha! You can check out youtube tutorials and also craft websites. They offer vast ideas and techniques!

I chose the grey and light pink threads since they complement with each other. It gives a sense of cuteness and brightness when once used at home. These colors can easily be cleaned up too once a coffee has been dropped on it. For short, stains do not last long on these. Well, I suppose.

20180613_220925.jpg
And here is one of the end products that I made. Within a span of twenty to thirty minutes, I was able to make one. I was also able to feel a little better. My mind was actually not occupied while making it, but somehow I was calmed down and relaxed.

20180608_131725.jpg

20180609_154631.jpg

I also made a blue placemat using a blue thread. I did not mind finishing it for days since I was enjoying watching Sherlock Holmes while doing it.

I know I am still a beginner but I do hope I would learn a lot of techniques and design. I would be downloading and then viewing some techniques over youtube. This might be hard for me since I am not that good in following instructions.

Lovingly yours,
Johanna Gail


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

Tight virtual hug gail, let's talk on Messenger.

Pattttttty I miss you.

We're glad this was able to calm you down and we hope you continue to feel better. Thank you for sharing those two videos. It really is quite soothing to watch. Your post is featured in @bayanihan's 33rd Philippines' Curation Updates and received a 100% upvote. Kudos!

Thank you so much @bayanihan. 😚 More power to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70