I Am A Numpty

in #ulog6 years ago


Byteball Airdrop Cock Up


Sometimes I despair of myself. How am I able to make such a cock of technical things? I am not a technophobe. I have built 100s of websites and owned a number of online businesses but sometimes I just can't get it right. 😢

When the Byteball airdrop was announced I followed the steps to set up a wallet on my phone but, for some reason, was unable to do so. I got some technical support but they couldn't work out what was wrong either.

In the meantime I realised my reputation was at 59 and if I waited until it was at 60 I would get double the reward, i.e. $80 rather than $40. So I decided to wait and try and download a wallet to my computer when my rep reached 60.

And today was the day. I finally reached 60 (thanks to @exyle for pushing me over the line).

So I downloaded the wallet on my pc and, after a bit of Googling reminded myself what I needed to do in order to get the reward.

However, I cocked it up and clicked the wrong link meaning I lost 50% of the extra reward I'd been waiting for, i.e. I only got $60 worth rather than $80. And, what was particularly irksome was I had currency sitting in my wallet on my phone, that I couldn't access, which people had sent me last time around.

What a bloody numpty. I'm so annoyed with myself right now. Grrrrrrrr!

So here's a pretty picture of a poppy field to cheer myself up.


poppy field.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Nope. It didn't work. I'm still feeling like a numpty. 😢

~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest.

Sort:  

I'm wrong sometimes, too.But in such cases, I reassure myself by saying to myself-consider it was a lottery that you did not win and did not receive this prize. @gillianpearce, It is sad to know: (. But don't despair! Your poppies look amazing :)

Thank you @madlenfox. You're right it's not worth getting upset over.

Glad you liked the poppies. Hope you're having a fun weekend.

Don't despair it took me 8 days to get my bytes sorted out. Whatever you got it was for free! That's the best deal in town lol
Nice poppies btw :)

Whatever you got it was for free!

Yep. That was the conclusion I came to in the end @molometer. That and, don't do this sort of stuff late at night when you've had a couple of glasses of wine and are ready for bed. 😂

Good conclusion lol

I'm sorry to hear about the trouble, but hopefully you're getting yourself back to a positive place after getting this out. Nothing more frustrating than when you think you should be more competent at doing something and then something happens and suddenly you're not. Just don't get too hard on yourself, okay. :)

I'm already over it @glenalbrethsen. It was daft trying to do something like that last thing at night and after a couple of glasses of wine. Lesson learned! 😁

Well, I'm glad to hear you're okay. I don't even like to make comments too late at night because the brain's not working any more. Let alone something like a post or some other task. Can't remember the last time I attempted something, but it seems like it didn't turn out to well. Doesn't mean I won't try it again, though. :)

Have you been over to the league post yet? We have a new winner. :)

I dropped in briefly to the League post late last night @glenalbrethsen but I haven't had time to go back again today. I mustn't forget though. That would just be too rude! 😁

Oh, I wouldn't say rude, though I know what you mean. Someone would notice your absence, though, like I did, and wonder if you were okay or where you were and what you were doing and all kinds of stuff and start imagining things in their head and coming up with all kinds of frightful scenarios that wouldn't be at all warranted, so yeah, probably a good thing you don't forget to pop in and say hi. :)

OK. Then @glenalbrethsen. You've convinced me although I might have left it a bit late for today. I'm beginning to feel a bit tired now.

Maybe I'll pick up after dinner and I'll be able to think of something worth saying other than "thank you". 😂

Well, you are a million miles ahead of me as I don't even know what Byteball Airdrop is!

That's because you've been slacking @dare2bu. If you were around a few weeks ago you would have known as everybody was going on about it.

It's an opportunity to get some free crypto. I'll explain it to you when we talk. Talk to no-one else about it! 😂

hahaha I thought this was going to be a cock and balls kind of post @gillianpearce, but instead, you're kicking yourself in your own keester :)

I'm sorry this happened, sh*t does happen, but congratulations on your 60 reputation!

Thank you @lynncoyle1. It's good to be reminded of the reputation rather than the cock up! 😁

haha no problem @gillianpearce! I feel like a 12 year old boy giggling here, but I've never heard of the expression "cock up" before lol

I tried to look up the etymology but it's one of those where there are a lot of theories but no one really knows where it comes from.

It's so common here @lynncoyle1 that I didn't notice it could have other connotations. 😂

Hrm... Well, at least you got some of the extra reward.

I doubt I would have managed to pull that off, considering how lost I feel with all of this. Photography software, CADD, no problem. Crypto exchanges and wallets? Eek!

Crypto exchanges and wallets? Eek!

Agreed @fotosdenada. But slowly and surely I'm getting a little bit better at it. I still have a long way to go as told in the post.

Sadly I'm as bad with Photography software and CADD so I can't even fall back on that. 😁

Sorry to hear that Gillian... but I get it; I used to know technology, but it seems to move so fast these days that I just can't keep up. Sad that you lost your bounty...

Yeah. The most annoying bit @denmarkguy was working so hard to get my reputation to 60 and then messing it up. It was all a bit of an anticlimax made worse by my numptiness.

But there you go. I'm sure if won't be my last cock up. 😊

Beautiful shot of poppy field.... Use esteem surfer to post very insteresting, klik here

Glad you liked the poppy field @jasmadiyunus. Thank uou for visiting.

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25