ULOG #12: New Glasses! Buying cheap glasses in Quiapo, Manila

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I thought I'd be fine without my glasses, that I'd eventually be used to it after accidentally losing it. Remember when I left it in the jeepney last May 16, 2018?

I was wrong. I've been squinting whenever I try to read something from afar, which I would otherwise have no trouble reading with my glasses on. I've been subjecting myself to eyestrain.

And so, I decided to get a new pair of glasses.

Old glasses


I bought my previous glasses last October 2017 (which means that it didn't even last for a year before losing it again) at S.A. Mendoza Optical near the University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB) campus in Laguna. It cost me P1,200 - P500 for the frame, and P700 for the multicoated lenses (I'm not sure about the price breakdown).

This was actually the third one since I started wearing glasses. I had to replace the second one because I accidentally dropped it and stepped on it; of course, the frame was badly damaged. I probably haven't been taking good care of my glasses.


(Dinner with fellow UPLB BRead members! <3)
Hi @landster
@yowpats
@triciaperea
@mangjustin

Buying a new one at Eye Republic Optical Clinic


I just thought of getting a new one at the same optical clinic, but my aunt told me that there are a lot of optical clinics in Quiapo, Manila which offer cheaper glasses. She and my cousin accompanied me to the Eye Republic Optical Clinic located at Casa Pacita Building, 649 P. Paterno St., Quiapo, Manila.

Eyeglass frames on sale are offered for as low as P500. While this is just the same price as my previous one; the frames at the other optical clinic are limited as compared to Eye Republic. The frame I chose wouldn't be as affordable in other clinics.

I picked an oversized frame, which was unusual for my taste since my previous glasses have all been similar in design, i.e. semi-rimless metal frame with regular-sized lenses.

I decided to pick a new one because some of my friends told me to try oversized glasses for a change because it fits my small face, they said. I agreed with their choice because the large lenses would give me a larger field of vision compared with the regular-sized lenses.

The clerk then told me to wait for my name to be called for the check-up.


(My aunt took a photo of me and my cousin while we were waiting.)

After about half an hour, I was called into the room where eye examination was done. Afterward, I was asked to pick between ordinary (P300) and multicoated lenses (P600). I picked ordinary lenses to save P300. I survived almost a month without glasses, so I guess wearing glasses without the anti-UV, -radiation, and -glare lenses wouldn't be so problematic.

We had lunch while waiting for the glasses. After an hour, I was able to claim my new glasses. In the other optical clinic, it would take two to three days to prepare the new prescription glasses.


(As usual, the glasses comes with a hard plastic case.)





(The address and contact details of the clinic are written inside.)


I like how the frame fits perfectly; the nose pads comfortably sit on the bridge of my nose, which securely holds my glasses in place. For only P800, I no longer have to squint to read texts from the screen or board.

Thanks be to God!

Sort:  

I want to have that kind of glasses too ^^

They have different variations of oversized glasses at an affordable price too! ^^

First of all, hey I saw my face. Hahahaha and second, your new glasses suit you. =)

Hahahaha i miss our BRead dinners! ^^ Thank you =w=

"I'm not fond of taking selfies, but I did just for the sake of this blog post". I feel ya ma— I mean woman...

Hahahahhahahah XD Glad that someone can relate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82