#ULOG 2: Facing the Competing Needs-- Your Daughter or Your Work?

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello Steemians! Finally got some 15 minute break from a toxic day! ;)

I am very busy (yeah, sort of hehe!) Loaded with paper works, coordination and preparations for our upcoming national event (research conference).

ulog2.png

Aside from this, we had to beat the 3:00PM deadline for our revised procurement plan using the latest template we need yet to study (so this blogging should be quick).

ulog22.png

Just wanted to share my toxic work this past few days. Well, working in this office has given me a lot of learnings but sometimes, I become so focused that I loose track of time.

Yesterday, since I have to do much and prepare several documents, I stayed over the office past the usual office hours. Noticing the time, I immediately packed up and headed home.

My office is a bit far from where I live, usually taking 2-3 rides which is about 30-40 minutes. So just imagine, the sun is almost nowhere to be found when I reached home.

I would usually greet my Baby Tam-Tam (Samantha) and spend the rest of the day playing and cuddling her but I was surprised that she was already sleeping. My mom told me that she was almost awake the whole day thus she got sleepy too early than her usual routine (she is an 8-month old baby so she needs to sleep a lot).

She looks really tired, having a sound sleep while wrapped in her favorite cotton blanket beside Donita, her rag doll.

Instead of having the sigh of relief that I can, too, take an early rest, I felt really bad. This is the first time I came home without her welcome giggle, and I already missed that. It seemed like it's not worth to work extra if I will be missing those precious moments with her.

It boggled my mind. We need to work and earn for a living to sustain our needs as well as to provide for our baby. But sometimes, our work asks for a little bit extra during special occasions and as need arises. But always bear in mind that you should practice how to balance work and your family because the latter is priceless.

Lesson learned: Time management-- whenever you feel free during your work, try to anticipate future scenarios and prepare for it. Being prepared in advance will save you much time and will even make you more efficient :)

Ciao for now, I have to be EFFICIENT (wink*)

IMG_20180511_060641.jpg
(I was lucky enough I still had some bonding time with her. Since she slept early, she was awake from 3AM to 5AM! Hahaha!)

Love,
Nickz

Sort:  

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Indeed it is hard to balance the two factors and I am always amazed by people especially mommies who are able to do both.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34