Break The Silence!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

images (6).jpeg
Image Source

It was many years ago, soldiers from the North stood up to kill every Igbo blood in Africa. These people were well armed terrorist as they stormed into every cities, villages, communities to carry out their evil plans. Their reason were that 'The igbo's have brought the British lifestyle to Africa; they have colonised Africans tradition and brought disunity amongst them, and their people no longer believed in their cultural practices.

Every house of an Igbo man was burnt down to ashes with all members of that family inside, some who managed to survive death were living with one leg and hand, eyes, one ear, one breast... A part of their bodies were removed. It was disheartening.

Even Igbo soldiers were not saved,and those who managed to survive decided to team up and help their civilian brothers and sisters. These soldiers were wicked! They'll never stop killing... They raped the girls and women, cut of their private parts aftwards...

My mother was killed too; raped, breast cut off and she died. I was just six years old as I watched these horrible, wicked men kill my two brothers, my dad and my grandmother. As they walked away from our burnt house, one of them came back and tore my clothes, spread my legs wide and made his way into my private and raped me...

I woke up and found myself in the house of a stranger (Mr Oluwa) who narrated how he picked me from the incident... I was young but everything came fresh to me again! My parents, my brothers... The killings and rapes. Everything! I grew up in this strangers house who became my family and my home.

images (7).jpeg
Image Source

My life had a new beginning until his brother (Tolu) became my traitor. I was turning 16 years when another ugly tale unfolded. I was sitting at the edge of the house cracking palm nuts (karnel) when he came and asked me to get him drinking water. I ran inside to get the water but he came after me, from behind with a big stick he hit my waist and I fell down, with his elbow he weaken my tighs and again... Another rape! #Tears.

It soon became a norm and I couldn't struggle anymore, I just had to lay down anytime he wants me and he'll make his way into me. I couldn't talk to anyone, I couldn't stop him, I was pained and wanted to kill him but I did not know how. Six years of rape, molestation and silence and I could not voice out because he promised to kill me just the way those soldiers killed my family if I mention it to anyone.

images (8).jpeg
Image Source

I delevoped hatred for men generally except for Mr Oluwa, each time he seats with me, he noticed my heavy heart but I could not talk to him about it; I didn't want to die.
Until one day on the radio as the broadcaster said

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Those words pierced my heart and disturbed my soul through whole day, I cried in my room hoping and praying he doesn't come home that night before Mr Oluwa... When I saw Mr Oluwa's motorcycle I ran to him in tears and pains and told him everything that has been happening... He later handed his only brother to the police who was finally shot to death after judgment in court.

Don't hide wicked men and their acts, don't conceal such inhumanity to the girl child, if you are a victim or you notice someone who is...

Voice out!

Break out!

Break the silence!

Thank you for taking out time to read and upvote this post

I am @gwenflorida, i talk for a living.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75