Ulog #7: Solitude Time and Caught a Movie Alone

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I have been wanting to write a post on this day I went on a date with myself but my week was just packed last week. Nevertheless, I didn't want the photos taken meant for this post to go to waste so here goes a post, though it is later by a week!

Last Tuesday, I received a message that my morning class was cancelled because my students needed an extra day to pack for their vacation starting the next day. Usually, I do not like messages like this, especially when classes are cancelled suddenly, because it actually affects my income. I have tried to lay out my terms and conditions with the parents many times but sometimes it still happened.


All ready to go!

Instead of getting really upset about it, I tried to turn it around. I was thinking to watch this Chinese movie for a while and I thought maybe I could catch an early movie then, only to find out that it is only available in selected cinemas which can be quite some distance away from my place. I asked my husband, if he is not interested in it (he cannot read or understand Chinese), could I go alone and if he could take care of our son. He was kind very to say yes to me though I was the one who felt rather guilty because I have been out quite a bit for the whole month of July, meeting friends and all. Between the two of us, my husband would prefer staying home more while I love to be out. Our work schedules allow us to stay home during the day, but working at some other time. Of course, it is also a lifestyle we have chosen for us now, though we are not making big bucks and just be contented with what we can have.



Some good deals for early birds!


Anyway, he asked me to go and I went as early as I could so I could come home as early as I could too. I checked there was a movie showtime at 11am and yes, that would be perfect! I went out as early as 9am to have extra time in case I get lost in driving or finding the place, though my sense of direction is actually not too bad, but still, I wanted to play safe. I reached by 10am and bought the ticket happily to find out that it has an early bird rate which I completely had forgotten. Little and simple surprises like this made me happy!

Having an hour before the show, I walked around and was thinking: how nice if I could just use this free time to get a haircut instead of going out another time for it. As I walked, I found saloons opened at that hour and of course I was delighted. I went in to get a quick cut. Did I mention that I love getting a haircut?


After the haircut, it was about time so I head back to the cinema and went in for my movie. It was a movie about mythical creatures which were unreal but due to illusions. A group of illusionists have been trying to make people believe what they see when actually it was unreal, to sow fears. What made them did this was their clan who helped the emperor to gain his kingdom were not recognized and many of their ancestors sacrificed in vain. The heir of this clan tried to seek revenge. Anyway, the review for this movie was average and not too good but I enjoyed it by myself.


Detective Dee: The Four Heavenly Kings

Later, I went to grab lunch at this place I have been wanting to go, The Fish Bowl. It serves poke bowl with raw and healthy mix. I went for the customized bowl which costs me RM20.90 because I wanted an extra side dish and also the avocados. It was really filling besides it being very yummy. I took shoyu salmon, edamame, baby greens, avocados, pickled ginger, seaweed salad, almonds, mangoes, topped with flax seeds, chia seeds, sesame seeds, furikake, and fish roe and I chose a garlic sauce and mild sriracha sauce to go with it. I will remember not to add the pickled ginger the next round though I actually like pickled ginger but it was too strong. The almonds were a great choice for the extra crunch! It was a very satisfying lunch. This was a very busy place with the crowds coming in non-stop, so I shared a table with some strangers. It was a self-service eatery, just like those in Subways. While eating, I managed to write a freewrite for that day.


My first poke bowl!


The Fish Bowl


Got these tarts back for my husband and mom-in-law.

By the time I finished lunch, it was 230pm. I was thinking I should definitely head home as my mom-in-law asked me to help get a bag of rice. I was about to reach home when I saw there was a community raid in Pokemon Go and this time it was a raid for the Alolan Raichu. My son and I had just watched an episode on it and we thought it is really cute as it uses its tail like a surfboard. Hence, I thought it would be nice to catch one home to show him. I detoured to the meeting place which I know from my group chat among my Pokemon Go friends. That was a bonus though I reached home quite late that day.


How a Alolan Raichu looks like


The Pokemon Go buddies! That little boy there is @iamjadeline's firstborn who is my master in this game. I often need his help to complete quests, battles or raids.

I actually felt quite bad being away from my boy too long that day. When I reached back, I quickly bathed and put him to nap. I wanted to spend time with him and we stared at each other's faces before we slept. He held my face and touched my nose, saying: "That's Mummy's nose and this is Levi's nose." He proceeded to the mouth, ears, hair and went on and on.

Perhaps it has become a practice that I have this same conversation with him before we nap or sleep. I would ask him, "Do you know Mummy loves you?" He would answer, "Yes". Then, I will ask him if he loves me, and he would also say yes. After that, I will ask if he knows Daddy loves him, he says yes to that too, and asked him if he loves his Daddy too. The next in line would be grandma, grandpa and Jesus. I was not too sure if "yes" is his default answer but I am now pretty sure he actually knows that. I truly enjoy quality time like this with him, just assuring him and letting him know we do love him. If I fail in parenting him in other areas, I would at least want him to know he is loved and he is special to us.

That summed up a great day for me with myself and also with my dearest family. I used to not know how to enjoy alone time but I guess this saying has proven its point:

I live in that solitude which is painful in youth, but delicious in the years of maturity. ~Albert Einstein Source

I like being alone as much as being around people I love. Both have made me who I am and I believe I need both to be healthy. As much I love going out, I too love spending time with my family. I am also thankful there are days I could go out like this on my own while my husband or mom-in-law can be with my boy.



RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png



Steemit Bloggers


Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/08/06/ulog-7-solitude-time-and-caught-a-movie-alone/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's always good to have some time to yourself. With everything that goes around our lives 24/7/365, it's only right to have a few hours to chill & relax. I do that once a while when I need to so that I can behave like any other women.. and not like a mother or wife.

It's not wrong to make yourself happy.. eventually the happiness will flow out to those that you love

P/s.. I've got to watch Detective Dee .. waiting for it to come onto Netflix.. ha ha

Hahah can you read and understand mandarin Chinese? Yeah I need I love to make myself happy too whenever I can. It's self love and self care Hahahha!

That is what I did with @matthewdoughty too! Asking him all those questions - if he loves us or if he knows that we love him and so on. Hihi.

High five Connie! Yeah I think it's a good practice we talk with them that way :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 141 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Always happy to see you @trufflepig!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Sounds like a really chill day and an adventure to catch that Raichu. You guys really ki siao with that pokemon go game ah.... Even got group chat summore. @.@

Hahah finding leisure for me la, while the rest are pretty serious with it lol. @heartscally is in the group too :P I usually only go for the fun when all are going or there's a mon I really like such as Raichu on the tail!!!

@heartscally catch Thai pokemon ah? Hahhha. :D Really pokemon masters ah u all

Eh, of course la... @zord189! :D Thanks @happycrazycon for the mention here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05