Ulog # 002

in #ulog6 years ago

When tragedy hits...

Source

Dear Steemians,
I went to bed very happy yesterday, satisfied with having started this project and expectant of the reactions among uloggers.
Early today, though, I got two terrible news. One regarding a dear colleague who is going through a terrible health situation. A university professor who cannot afford or find cancer treatment and has to end up in an emergency room at the local hospital not knowing what to expect. Especially now when, if you have followed the news, most of the hospitals across the nation have been protesting for almost two weeks because they lack the most basic medical supplies. That mews saddened me deeply.


Some minutes later i got a more shocking news. One of my brothers called me to tell me that one of our young nieces, who lives more than a thousand kilometers away, who was about to graduate from the military academy, had killed herself.


I don't think i have stilled processed that news. I know i am dealing with it cerebrally (if the term exists), not emotionally. I am trying to stay strong, but i know it's not going to be easy to meet my mother and my sister, and my other two nieces, my dear twins.

** Naky** was a gorgeous girl, vivacious, beautiful and smart. She was an martial arts athlete. She was studying engineering when her father, who is a national guard, suggested that the military career would be more profitable for her. We were not in contact very often for different reasons, but through her sisters and my sister i knew she was doing well.

It's going to be a long and complicated journey to get there and i will probably be away from this platform for some days. But I wanted to leave this words behind to honor and recognize my niece as a young woman with a lot of potential who could have contributed to her family and country in many ways. A tragedy like this should not happen; whatever caused this could have been averted, i'm sure. The official version of the story reveals a cause based on bias and discrimination. Our society needs a lot of work and the military is beyond forgiveness for the absurdity of their codes.

There is more dishonor in many of the things they do on a daily basis. Part of the disgrace of my country has been caused by military corruption. There is more dishonor in that than in anything they might have judged my niece for.

Rest in peace, dear Naky. We all failed you here. This world was not ready for you.

Sort:  

I send you my deepest condolences for your family's loss. I hope that you and your family are able to find comfort in each others love.

Thank you very much for your kind words. I did not mean for my ulogsto deal with stuff like this. I hope i will be able to write about more sheerful things soon.

Reading this hurts. I'm sorry for your loss , dear @hlezama.

Thank , dear @snowy-june. Pain, frustration and fear at having seen the devil straight to the eye. It's worst than any horror story that has been told.

Totally true. Someday the pain just goes away, but we never forget, and rarely forgive this kind of acts.

Cuánto lamento todo, @hlezama. Me imagino la madeja de sentimientos y tal vez son pocas las palabras que pueda darte y que ayuden a sobrellevar la carga. No solo es atravesar el momento personal, es vivirlo justo en el instante en el que país también se nos va, desaparece. El viaje será largo. Un abrazo que te acompañe.

Muchas gracias por tus palabras de apoyo, @nancibriti
hoy regfresamos a casa con una carga y pesar mayor del que tenìamos el jueves. Seràn tiempos muy difìciles emocionalmente.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77