ULOG 26 | Worthwhile Rewards Demand Worthwhile Efforts

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181011_141211.jpg

I'm not the guy in the face cap

There's a popular song here in Nigeria by Victor AD titled WETIN WE GAIN. The chorus goes

if we no make the money, wetin we gain?
If we no buy the Benz, wetin we gain?

In essence, the song is about getting something worthwhile for someone's effort. My neighbor currently has that song on repeat and its lines are sipping into my ear.

Worthwhile Efforts

Recently, I've been thinking about my activities. At some point, you simply have to think about what you've been doing and the results that come out of them.

This is something everyone has to do at some point in their lives. I'm not growing any younger so I have to continually inspect my life, making sure I'm investing in the things that matter.

For me, this isn't an easy decision. I want to be a writer. I want my hobby to provide livelihood and a legacy for me. But sometimes, it seems that can't happen.

Recently, I've been measuring my growth in terms of steemit. I'm taking about the amount of upvotes I get and number of contests I win. I think I'm putting in good effort. But sometimes I wonder if the rewards are worth the effort.

Worthwhile Rewards

I think it's human nature to always want more. If you ask me what I think is a worthwhile reward for my efforts, I would be at loss to say. Why? Because whatever answer I give you right now would be outdated in the nearest future. Each time I attain a level, I always want to go higher. But I think that's just the way life is.

However, it's easy for one to scroll through the blogs of fellow writers, see their huge payouts and jealousy begins to work.

Anyway, I've learnt to tell to measure myself against myself. Instead of looking at what others are getting, I'm learning to look at my previous results and compare them with my current results.

At the end, I've come to realise that whatever worthwhile reward I think I deserve has to come from me. Of course, I cannot give myself everything. But I can do something, which is to make myself better.

In summary, I only have to continue putting in worthwhile efforts, beating my previous results and hoping for the best

Blessings

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I'm not the guy in the face cap

If I were him I'd be pissed, that you started your blog making sure everyone knew you aren't him 😆

(I know I knowww, you're just pointing out which one is you and that was the easiest way)

However, it's easy for one to scroll through blogs of fellow writers

Instead of looking at what others are getting, I'm learning to look at my previous results and compare them with my current results

I think that's the best way. One thing about looking at other people is (well, unless you dig into it and investigate), you don't know if their upvotes come from bots, a guild/alliance they're a part of, tags that can trigger an account to vote, whales who know them personally, agreements they have to exchange vote for vote, how much effort they spend promoting behind the scenes etc

Plus the whole selection bias of like.. people who aren't getting votes are less likely to show up on your radar.

I'd maybe look at other people for tips and tactics that they're doing but not for a measurement of who is producing better content.

While "upvoting good content" is the vision a lot of people have for Steem, it doesn't seem to really be how it plays out. These days, I'd imagine very little of the reward pool is based on people swimming by and deciding they like the content. Seems mostly like tricks and shenanigans and whatever connections you have.

You're someone who I've run into on here and truly enjoyed reading and once or twice been in a little bit of aw and felt really impressed. Which isn't to try to butter you up, it's just to say, if Steem actually worked in a way that rewarded based on good content, I think you'd be really high on the list. Just doesn't seem to really work like that hehe

Loading...

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06