#ULOG 8 | Gratitude Is A Way Of Life

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180328_161002.jpg

We live in an ever changing world; nothing is set in stone. Today, we celebrate, tomorrow, we hear a sad news on the news. However, regardless of the changing world, people basically remain the same. The grateful ones always find something to be thankful for. The grouchy ones will always find a reason to frown.

Gratitude Is A Choice

When people face difficulties, they have a choice. They can choose to focus on the negatives or the positives.

To focus on the negatives is to focus on the things that breed pain, anger and disappointments.

On the flip side, to focus on the positives is to focus on the things that breeds value, appreciation and gratitude.

I Choose Gratitude

If you've been following my blog, you'll know that this week has been a particularly rough week for me. There's been a lot of things happening and it's easy to slide into depression. However, I believe that gratitude is a choice I can make.

The first step is to realise I have a choice. I have a choice with regard to how I fell, how I perceive my environment, how I react to the happenings all around me.

This is a rather empowering thought. That I have a choice forces me to look at my life as something I can control. In other words, I'm responsible for the way I feel. I cannot control the cards I'm dealt in life, but I can choose to make the best out of it. This is a rather exciting thought; one I always try to exploit.

Sometimes It Doesn't Work

The thought that I have a choice doesn't comfort me every time though. There are times I don't feel like I have a choice. I feel overwhelmed by the situation and believe there's nothing to do about it.

At other times, I feel I have a choice but choose to do nothing about it. I don't want to slowly drown in my sorrows. At times like that, I cut off myself from others, lock myself up in my room and keep to myself.

Lastly, there are times I feel like I have a choice and decided to make one. But then, it doesn't seem to work. I tell myself that I'm cheering up, that I'm looking for the positives in the situation. Sometimes, I hear a voice mocking me, tell me it's not going to work. So insistent to that voice and my mood gets even worse.

I Stick With Gratitude

At the end of it all, I stick with gratitude. Whether the going is rough or smooth; whether I feel like I have a choice or not; whether my mood soars with the eagles or lies low; I choose gratitude.

I choose to be grateful for life, for my blessings, for my challenges.

Each time I look around me, I see a lot to be grateful for. It might not always seem like it but I feel extremely privileged. I have friends who care a lot about me. I have a family that always has my back. I've received gifts and offers I didn't deserve. At the end, I can only feel grateful

Thanks for reading

Blessings

Sort:  

Each time I look around me, I see a lot to be grateful for. It might not always seem like it but I feel extremely privileged. I have friends who care a lot about me. I have a family that always has my back. I've received gifts and offers I didn't deserve. At the end, I can only feel grateful

You have a wonderful mindset and a lot of wisdom. You attract these things and deserve them.

This is a rather empowering thought. That I have a choice forces me to look at my life as something I can control. In other words, I'm responsible for the way I feel. I cannot control the cards I'm dealt in life, but I can choose to make the best out of it. This is a rather exciting thought; one I always try to exploit.

I love it.

What you do in the most difficult spots can be what has the most positive impact on your life (good breaks coming at some point, if you can weather the storm).

What you do in the most difficult spots can be what has the most positive impact on your life (good breaks coming at some point, if you can weather the storm).

Good morning (it's 08:13 over here)

You're very much correct. I find out more about myself, how much I can bear and just what is extremely valuable when the road gets really rough.

I guess it's something that's needed for character formation and self-awareness.

Thanks for the compliment

Blessings

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon158


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

There is always something to be grateful of....
No matter how rough or tough the day has been, sticking with gratitude is the way forward.
We all do have a choice but sometimes, we choose not to make one.
Cheer up dear....

Yeah

We can always choose to be grateful and j choose to be grateful for meeting you

Thanks for stopping by

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87