#ULOG | A Million Reasons To Be Grateful

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180118_142632.jpg

The last seven days is enough to make me weak, but the month’s just begun so I have plenty to look forward. It is this disposition that breeds gratitude in me. For inasmuch as I have a thousand reasons to cry, I have a million reasons to smile. I am going to talk about some of the happenings that have put a smile on my face.

Monday - Second Chance At Getting A Degree

On my Steemit profile, I described myself as a (Prospective University Dropout). This is because my four years duration to get a Bachelor’s Degree in English in the university is up and I’m yet to fulfil the requirements for graduation. I have a couple of outstanding courses. I have been having outstanding courses since my second year in the university. Personally, I am tired of school and want to drop out.

But I haven’t. Instead, I applied for a session extension. Why? Because friends and family, on and off Steemit, impressed on me the need to end what I started. I am grateful for their support and encouragement. So on Monday, last week, I went to the Head of Department Office and requested for an extension. Fortunately, my CGPA wasn’t too low so my request was granted. I’m grateful for the second chance. What’s left to do is to pay my school fees.

Tuesday - @Curie Came Knocking

I have been submitting entries for @mctillers TwentyFourHourStory for a while. A new prompt is given every week and awesome prizes await the best entries. If you are a writer, I’ll advise you to join the community. The prompts have been awesome and the entries will blow your mind away. If you are a whale or a supporter of the writing community, your support will be greatly appreciated.

Anyway, I sent in my entry for last week on Tuesday morning. The prompt was a bit tough - I experienced three bouts of writers block and spent almost 6 hours writing the story. At the end, @curie told me it was worth it with an upvote worth over $100. Considering my posts have an average of $3 - $5, that was wonderful (for lack of words). I could barely contain myself.

Thursday - @surpassinggoogle Unleashes #ULOG

Many years ago, I used to keep a diary. In fact, it is one of the exercises that made me a better writer. It helped me realised that I could use words to sare my world, thoughts and emotions with others. I kept a diary for a few years and then stopped. I resumed on Steemit last month, did about 24 entries and then stop. But now, I’m back and better.

Thanks to @surpassinggoogle’s marvellous idea, I can share my life with the rest of the world. This is more than just a diary. It is an avenue to let people know you are human, that you are alive, that you are worth listening too. With #ULOG, everyone is a star. Your experiences are worth listening to. To make it even better, @surpassinggoogle usually curates posts that uses the #ULOG tag. I’ve got one word for this: Splendid!

Friday - Bailed Before Going To Jail By Steemit

So between Wednesday and Friday, electricity power supply sunk to its lowest. It got so bad that many communities were affected. In this 21st century, it is a shame that my country is yet to solve the problem of epileptic power supply. Well, we cannot always sit down and moan; we have to look for means to savage the situation.

Friday watched me as I roamed the neighbourhood looking for power. Luckily, I found one and was able to create a post. I wanted to create another so I went to a friend’s place whose power was restored later that evening. By the time I was set to leave, it was almost 11:00 PM. Long story short, I was accosted by the police on suspicion that I was an internet fraudster/thief. I showed them my blog on Steemit and told them I was a writer. I explained that I was only looking for power supply. Thankfully, they believed me. you can say Steemit bailed me. You can read about it here:

Saturday - The Outstanding Lady Called @julietisrael

I have been fortunate to meet very wonderful people. I really don’t want to mention their names but I can’t help but mention two of them. The first one is @akintunde, the guy to whom I’ll forever indebted to. He told me to buy EOS and understand later. If only I trusted him then as I do now; well, it’s all in the past. And then my home boy and real nigger @jo5h. He’s like a twin brother in many ways. Bro, Our hustle go pay.

Recently, I had the privilege of meeting @julietisrael, not in person though. That evening, we spoke over the phone. She is warm, understanding and fun to be with. It’s been a while since I’ve seen so many goodness packed into one person. One last thing, she’s very hardworking and resilient. She’s definitely not a lazy Nigeria youth.

Sunday - Recovered My Files From The Clutches Of Death

This was my #ULOG entry for yesterday: . In that post, I narrated how I lost all of my work, spanning over a five years period. It was a very painful event. I’m grateful to everyone who showed their care and support.

Well, my friends went into work. Through a software, I was able to recover some of my files. I couldn’t recover my novel though but it’s alight. I choose to be grateful.

And there you have it. I have a lot more to be grateful for but I don’t want to bore you with a rather long essay.

I think I’ve said plenty for one post.

Thanks for reading.

Blessings.

[Image source: Image is mine]

Sort:  

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit.


Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

keep it up, God is ur strength.

Awwn....
Jeez

Gray, you just blew my mind away with this post....

Thank you so much...
You really do not know what this means to me....
.....Okay, for the records, it means a whole lot...

Thanks much....

I'm totally and genuinely happy for you dear...
Awwn....
You got your files back...at least some of it...

Thank God...

SO so happy right now...
Cheers....

I'm off to where you'll easily find me...
Lol, winks*

Thanks love

You deserve it and more

Wednesday is on its way

Blessings

man i am so happy for you!

the extention!

the recovered files

and all

keep ballin!

Thanks boss

Lots of blessings from me

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

A smart person once said:

When the shit hits the fan, you can still be grateful for not being be the fan.

Ok, I just made that up...

Hahaha

That's a good one. You still have to clean the fan though, and that isn't pleasant

Good to have you around Lisa

Blessings

Thats good to hear. What keeps us going in life is our possibilities in happiness. Just focus unto being an happy man and work towards the per requisites in becoming one. Enjoy.. Cheers concerning your second chance in school. Am happy for you.

Thanks for your kind words and insightful comment

Blessings

Wow! I'm happy for you that's alot to be thankful for.

Thanks a lot

Blessings

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You are always the best.

Always on point.

Well articulated.

Your blog post is really awesome.

You are one of the few steemians I love to read their blog post.

Keep it up
Blessings.

Wow

I'm honoured to hear that

Thanks a lot for the love and support

I'm grateful

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66