Ulog 003 : Dumaguete Island and its' treasures

in #ulog6 years ago

For years, my previous flatmate in London had been inviting me to join her and her daughter when having their holiday in her hometown in Dauin, 20 minutes ride outside Dumaguete. Coming originally from Ilocos up North of the Philippines, Dumaguete is not a favorite holiday destinations of Filipinos compared to Iloilo for Boracay, Palawan for El Nido, Coron and now Cebu is getting prominent for their pristine beaches, coupled that with their canyoneering, swimming with sharks in Oslob and more.

Perhaps, Dumaguete have its' own treasures to compete against these known islands in Central Visayas?

Landmarks

PicsArt_06-15-06.33.15.jpg

Dumaguete's most famous landmark.

Built in 1760s to warn people of coming pirates' attacks, this city structure have played the most significant in Dumaguete's history and saved a lot of lives in those times.

PicsArt_06-15-06.34.32.jpg

Silliman University at the background.

One of the city's pride is Sulliman University where it is known all over the country for those topnotchers who have had passed those regulatory examinations year after year.

20180613_174338.jpg

The port of Dumaguete.


One good thing about Dumaguete is the access to the neighbouring islands through its' port. Anyone who have this inclinations can have this base in Dumaguete or else stay on resorts just outside the city. In Negros, diving and snorkeling sites, caving, mountain hiking and the likes can be accessed outside the capital.

Dumaguete hostels

Don't get me wrong...there's a lot of accomodations in the city, one can only peruse booking.com, choices are there for anyone, depending on anyone's taste in what to look for.

Since those trials of staying in some hostels in Lisbon last year, it was amazing to see one in Dumaguete. As excited as I am to share here, the signal isn't as great when uploading pictures and videos. So please wait for further posts as I will definitely recommend the place where I stayed.

This will be next and our Siquijor one day travel plus stay in Bayawan City.

All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

References:

https://dumaguete.com
http://www.phtourguide.com/dumaguete-belfry/
immarojas-3.png


Sort:  

I think I love the The port of Dumaguete it's beautiful I mean clear water and another route entry into the place, they've got nice historic building as well, it's obvious you had an amazing time 😂😂😂

Still starting but yeah thanks mate!

Looking forward to seeing more of your trip @immarojas. Are you there now?

Aw. Have a great time @immarojas!

My retreat has finished today and I'll be going home tomorrow.

Oh where did you go and how was it Gillian??

I've been in Devon the last 10 days and had a wonderful time @immarojas.

I've posted lots of posts of where I am if you want to see. 😊

Haha that I will!! That's good to hear Gillian.

Hope you enjoy them @immarojas. It was fun to write about new things that were actually happening then an there. 😁

I saw one..that one through the door☺

Hello hello ☺️Nice to see you out and about in lesser known tourist spots. I love this was built as a warning for oncoming pirates! Great photos. Happy travels my friend ❤️

Thanks @sallybeth. what's up with you my friend?

all good thanks sweetie. Love to you and yours in the Philippines xx

And you, be well!! xoxo

enjoy your vacation po!!!

Thanks kuya!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79