#Ulog 008 Plastic Pollution Awareness : Bamboo Straws for Tipsy Beans, Philippines or to the World?

in #ulog6 years ago

Few days ago, I have written a post about this topic here on my flight to Manila from Negros Oriental in Central Visayas last month. I guess that meeting the CREATIVES of Bayawan City, in my almost 2 weeks stay at Tatay Dagsa most specifically, has left an impression on me. Their love for our ENVIRONMENT is not just words, they are living it in accordance to what they believe they should do, WHAT EVERYONE SHOULD BE DOING, in protecting MOTHER EARTH.

Listening to Tatay Dagsa passionately talk of wanting to protect Bayawan City from corporations who are now starting to buy huge areas of lands within and around their city, one can only wish to have a lot of money and buy every non-residential lands in BAYAWAN and leave them as they are, UNTOUCHED BY CIVILIZATION. In the Dagsa household, simple living is prominent, where the only things touched by modernization are a few light bulbs, electric fans, coffee maker and the electric tools they use in making bamboo crafts and innovations.

One of their crafts is making BAMBOO STRAWS.

Needing of a wifi, the nearest coffee shop is Tipsy Beans. Fortunately, my mug of iced tea came with a plastic straw. Speaking to the manager, he mistakenly took me for somebody he contacted in Facebook regarding bamboo products for their cafe, this includes bamboo straws.

Was the universe smiling on planet Earth?

"There is no coincidence", how many times have I heard of this adage?

So anyway, our discussion went on like discussing the probability of their cafe having to make orders or consignments with Tatay Dagsa's. As @flabbergast-art is staying at the Dagsa's right now, the manager of the place will be in contact with Tipsy Beans regarding proposals and the like. This includes transporting those bamboo straws to Manila.

I still have to see establishments using bamboo straws, here in the Philippines or abroad. Metal straw I have seen @teodora using it so that is a good start.

What can happen if the world starts using Bamboo Straws?

Will it produce an impact to Plastic Pollution? Is it so hard to do the transition? How amenable are the establishments, consumers in their usage? Any idea of the livelihood it can give to some Filipinos in the Philippines? It is rich of bamboo trees.

At Dagsa's, school kids polish the newly cut thin bamboo trees prior to collection and get paid for. That's extra bucks for them for their needs. At the moment, as they are only free on weekends, the demand is greater than the supply.

TIPSY BEANS aren't as large as Starbuck's, Cafe Nero's, Costa's or other known cafes in the world or in the Philippines...but what they are aiming to do is a huge start. I say this unknowing of any establishment who have done so. Wooden stirrers I have seen in a few, it is not so with BAMBOO STIRRERS.

I forgot to check if their wall is concrete for this to be effective. Perhaps I can when I'll go back to show to their manager the bamboo straws I got from Bayawan. I won't test it myself though.

Any volunteer?

This can be a possible contribution to the beginning of the world's transition to natural and indigenous healing. PEACE, LOVE, FREE.

My previous post:
plastic-pollution-awareness-eco-or-plastic

All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.
#tipsybeans #bamboostraws #plasticpollution #ecology

immarojas-3.png
banner_steemsugars.jpg
immarojas_new-4.png

Sort:  

You've still not sold me on bamboo straws @immarojas. I like the idea of using bamboo and provided a livelihood for the people involved, of course. But I don't think drinking out of them would be very comfortable. Don't they make your mouth sore eventually?

Stirrers I can get behind. Fabric, as I've said before, I love.

Having said that, I will of course, give a bamboo straw a go should I come across one. 😁

Haha you're hard to please..i don't think it will be uncomfortable as you won't be usin it constantly. It can join your chopsticks when travelling or goin out of town.

Give me a couple of weeks or perhaps a month?

you're hard to please

So some might say so @immarojas. 😂

Give me a couple of weeks or perhaps a month?

What for? 😕 😂

To check if it'll get uncomfortable😂🤣😅 jk!
Will definitely bring one in my travel pack!

Thank you for being her "true fan"

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

it's very easy being her "true fan" @surpassinggoogle.

I love @immarojas posts and she was the first live Steemian I ever met! 😁

Thank you for the generous upvote it's much appreciated. 😍

I don't comment much on your posts, but I really enjoy reading and seeing what is going on in other areas of the world. Thank you for your informative posts and the work you do.

Unfortunately these corporations are just buying everything based on profit motives alone. Not only are those plastics bad for the environment all around us, but they are damaging to all forms of life, including us humans!

Oh that's nice to know..simple and innocent innit😂😅 Join me one time, bang our heads for stress reduction and perhaps the world will be less shitty as it is.

stress relief

That's cheating..it's wood!!🤣😂😅

Visit #ulog, you will comment some more. Stay awesome. Or ulogs.org

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Well we sould spread this awareness to avoid plastic polution. I think the transition from plastic straws to bamboo straws is not so difficult...

So so true...it will be so easy. Of course, a feedback to those plastic straw makers can also make a difference in their practice I would have thought.
The demand for them is increasing, even if gradual, it will make a huge difference to plastic pollution.

Think this idea is good , it will help us to have a clean environment.. using bamboo straw is best replacement for plastic straw .. i wanna try it stoo mam!!

It's cool, isn't it? Will you wait on what's gonna happen with this? Perhaps i can sell online? But am not from Negros, that's where it's coming at the moment. I can check the cafe whenever they have it?

This bamboo straw will lessen the uses of plastic na nakakadagdag lang sa basura natin..

Meron ka nyan kuya? 40pesos daw sa Dagsa's...on collection, not needing postage.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Alot will unfold on ulogs.org in the nearest future!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi Terry, just doin my bit. Gosh those vids are awesome! DM?

Hi @immarojas! You are upvoted by @mrxplorer and followed by its trail.

======= ======= ======= ======= ======

Do you want more upvotes?

You can avail of our UPVOTE SERVICE.

We are glad to provide you with our services. Thank you.

Follow @mrxplorer for more future upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87