Ulog #023 : "Lanzones"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

A colleague of my sister from Bolinao in Pangasinan, a city up north and 8 hours outside Metro Manila, always invited her to visit her place. And always when she arrives from there, our anticipation is like no other. Today, these are what we got, newly harvested in the morning.

Feast your eyes to some tropical fruits in the Philippines!

20180808_180824.jpg

20180808_162638.jpg20180808_183340.jpg20180808_180623.jpg

L to R: Rambutan, Lansones and Atis

Which one is your favorite among the three?

Rambutan is very much in season right now where the social media is full of people harvesting outside a window or at their rooftop.

Remember my previous post about the benefits of Atis or Custard apple? It tastes good definitely, and it's one of my fav BUT there is one fruit that i've been longing to have, I haven't seen any yet in the supermarket nor at the wet market. Literally, they are hard to find if not in season.

20180808_163321.jpg

These are called lansones or langsat, which accordingly, are originally from Malaysia. Am sure that they can be found anywhere in Southeast Asia. As far as I can remember, the Philippines have always been producing this fruit. My mom years ago planted one of this, but it takes 12 years before it will bear fruit. So far, we only have the fruitless tree.

As for the fruit, its' peel is colour yellow to light brown, with colorless flesh that is sweet. NEVER, EVER CHEW THE SEED, it is very bitter and not edible. I always chose the seedless ones or those with still tiny seeds so I can have more flesh to eat. The bigger ones have bigger seeds, leaving less flesh to eat.

The peel can have darker brown discoloration when exposed to the sun or when getting near to rot. When you see this, the fruit needs to be firm and not soft to be edible. Let me show you.

20180808_170122.jpg

The peel are almost totally brown but firm so I was confident that they're still ok. Besides, they were newly harvested. So, from the above photo...

20180808_170547.jpg
to this.

So long as they're firm ok? Or better not chose the discoloured ones to be sure.

This fruit have a strong punch as an anti-oxidant, and a lot of other benefits. I want to do further research on its' benefits to LDL, the bad cholesterol. Please stay tuned for more fruity punch.

All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Reference:
super health benefits of lanzones fruits

Some fruity posts:

immarojas-3.png
20180315_160425.jpg
immarojas_new-4.png

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Lanzones.... Sounds interesting...
I love fruits, but I have never had lanzones.

Those ones you need to try..just dont bite the seeds.

Lansomes look and sound very similar to litchis. A fruit we have here in South Africa. Soft firm shell, which is easy to peel abd not edible, with soft sweet juicy flesh!! Really devine. images (3).jpeg
V

Oh lychees!!! But no..theyre more of the rambutans.
20180808_173524.jpg

Aaah yes. Who would have thought that spiky outer layer hides such juicy goodness!!

Thank goodness that we dont have winter...and miss these goodies😁

Ok. I've definitely eaten rambutans but I've never tried lansones so we'll need to add those to our list. They look very similar to rambutans and lychees. So they taste similar?

If I blind folded you and gave you bit of all three to taste would you be able to tell the difference by taste alone? 😁

Rambutans and lychees will taste similarly...but lansones you can smell before it can touch your lips and you'll know😂😀😅
Lansones tastes way better Gillian..just dont chew its' seed. Have the baby ones like this. No seeds.
20180808_163001.jpg

OK. I'll remember that, should I ever find myself in the vicinity of a lansone. Great tips! 😊

Haha this you gotta try Gillian. Check them on Chinese stores, Malaysian or Indonesian.

healthy fruit

Will find out more when I have time on my hands☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76