Ulog #026 : Calle Crisologo, VIGAN revisited.

in #ulog6 years ago

Founded by the Spaniards in 1572, trading was already established between the Chinese traders and the indigenous tribes from Cordillera mountains. From then on, it was only a town then, becoming a city way back in 1999, called the Heritage City of Vigan, to be exact. Although the Spanish influence is very much visible around the city, where the only changes can just be the modernisation of buildings by covering the old-brick structures or new buildings and residences in between them.

Calle Crisologo

Structures in this city is unique in a way that influences were built with Chinese, Spanish and Filipino combined. Typically, structures were built from local resources as the norm, similarly with most places back in the days. As the seat of power was transferred to Vigan from Cagayan during the Spanish era, residences and a few establishments retained its' Spanish influences as we see VIGAN today, more so in Calle Crisologo.

20180817_185053.jpg

Winning the title as one of the New7wonder Cities in 2015, tourists from neighbouring towns, around the county and abroad have been flocking to these few blocks of paved street, old Spanish houses turned souvenir shops and mini-restaurants and cafes. Anyone walking along will be transported to those years gone by when this tiny town in Northern Philippines held the seat of power by Spain.

No wonder then that a few Filipino heroes, a previous president, poets and great artists hailed in this part of the country, but to name a few: Father Burgos of Gomburza, the Silang couple, Juan Luna, Elpidio Quirino, that great lady sitting in front of Max' was a distant cousin of JOSE RIZAL, and many others.

20180817_110524.jpg

Starting point.

20180817_111249.jpg

20180817_112012.jpg20180817_112224.jpg

20180817_112058.jpg

Fancy a Kalesa ride?

In the olden times, Kalesas were the rolls royce of the rich and famous in Vigan. Only recently that this transport is the only one allowed to pass through Calle Crisologo. They can be rented for more or less $10 per kalesa, anyone can bargain as some up their price to $20 to tourists. A kalesa ride will take about an hour or so visiting the tourist' spots in Vigan and the neighbouring town's bell tower in Bantay. For a minimal donation, on top of this bell tower will show you the panorama of the distant mountains to the East. It's also a good place to watch the sunset if it's still open as the stairs is very old.

Tip:

A side door of the church will lead you to a chapel ruins. I am a local yet was unaware of it till I accidentally saw a signage going to it. It is functional as there are pews inside and the enclosing walls are pure bricks of the past. Personally, this was the best part when visiting the bell tower. I have yet to visit the place this time, so to follow.

20180817_111423.jpg

Don't forget your souvenirs from Vigan!

20180817_110602.jpg

Anyone is welcome to buy this table, used before to squeeze the juice from sugarcanes being pulled by a carabao. Imagine that!

Friends and their parents in UK love those woven placemats, coasters i used to bring them. As they are light and cheap, they are great for souvenirs.

20180817_184441.jpg

@mariayves0912 enjoying her sugarcane juice.

Allonsy to Vigan!

All images are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

Reference:
Vigan

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

So cool. Love that bench, btw!!! 💓💓💓
Thank you for sharing.
(Made me feel like going there right now!!!)

I actually took that shot because of that bench..it's not for sale though and the value will be expensive as it's made of old wood.

Oh my. What a wonderful place Vigan is @immarojas. That is somewhere I would really, really love to visit.

And Calle Crisologo is gorgeous. I'd be in photographer's heaven! 😁

It is gorgeous Gillian..can't get enough of it though it's just a few blocks.

What an interesting history lesson, along with such nice photos.

They also used to grow and process sugar cane on St. Croix where I lived during my teen age years...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Haha you know what I suddenly remember? It's my post about sugarcane from that street was the first time we engaged here lols!
Nostalgia is powerful.

Wow, I did not remember that...

But then, I think I'm a bit older than you! ;)

Take care, sweetie! :D

P.S. Enjoy your sabbatical! :D

So easy to blame our age, innit? Haha cheers! Look after yourself well.

De verdad que esa calle: Crisologo en Philippines es sensacional @immarojas,,ya veo por qué es tan aclamada esa parte del Pais por tantos personajes de su historia

Colourful and full of history definitely. Gracias!

I'm going to invite some friends in @amariespeaks @beeyou @bifilarcoil @mudcat36 to come check out this beautiful post😇

I also want thank you so much for supporting my blog @immarojas. I really appreciate it 😉

Don't mention it. I thought you'll gonna check this town lols...too far i guess. Best wishes my friend.

Ok, I will keep it hush, hush...won't tell anyone, I promise😛

I would love to visit this town. It's always fascinating to see the old features and architecture, full of rich history and culture of past generations! Can't say I will ever get there though, sigh...

Haha i know! I will be here for a while so expect more of this in the future. Layin low and let you and @bifilarcoil do the works. 😁😂

WHOA thanks for pulling me into this thread Imma!
This looks soo laid back. Paradise! :-)

Pretty much mate. Hiking to the mountains is beginning to have traction..otherwise, tourists will have to settle to the nearby beaches..surfing a bit further. now which one do you fancy? If laidback is what you guys need😊

I will go sit under a tree with the locals, where not to many tourists are spotted.
Well maybe also the beach... :-) It will be hard to resist.

Or you can play chess with the locals, watchin the world go by. No stress at all.

Hi @immarojas. Mr. @palikari123 tagged me onto your post some time back, but I was busy with vacation prep and then going on my vacation. I didn't have a chance to check out this beautiful hidden gem until now. I love the cobblestone sidewalks and the medieval feel of the town. There is a certain charm to historic towns that have been preserved through time.

The sugar cane drink your friend had must have been a delight! I feel sorry for the carabaos that had to exert their energy to produce sugar canes back in the day. If I had been born in that era, I wonder if I would have let those poor creatures do all that hard work for a delicious treat. Sad to say that I might have; sugar cane drinks are just soo yummy! 😬

Hey..thanks to Mr. Palikari, you've checked this one. Vigan have its' charm that you can't find anywhere outside the province. Its' preservation is only slight as there are a lot of Spanish structures that have been neglected or modernised.

Here in this part, our carabaos are our farmers' helpers.. but now it has changed. The sugar cane juice was too sweet but it was mixed with some lemons for balance. Cheers☺

My parents told me stories about their homeland so I know livelihood depended on the poor mammals. At least they are no longer needed for producing sugar cane drinks. The beauty of technology in some ways.

It’s a beautiful town. Preservation is most likely not foremost in everyone’s mind there but I hope the town stands through time. I love quaint hidden gems that takes us to another time and place.

Hehe, I’m sure palikari got a kick out of mister. I usually just call him PK so I don’t have to type much. 😁

Progress do play a role in life's modification...but some have a price.

There was a time here when structures were removed of their cement plasters to show those bricks...although there are brick houses that were left to ruins.

Mr. PK sounds better @palikari23😊😊

Mr. Palikari..... Pffff, So lame

Posted using Partiko Android

😝

I'm really glad you took the time to come read and view this beautiful post @beeyou...that was very nice of you. You can have a vote for poking your tongue at me 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey mister😂😂 thanks for the referral haha

You're welcome Imma...Its what I like to do. Share others work and connect people. We all win that way😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah...we don't wait for the rest to follow..we lead. Very nice of you bro.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

oh wow! thanks for the feature!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=immarojas
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ulog-026-calle-crisologo-vigan-revisited


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94