#ULOG 003 (6/8/18) : Language Barrier

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180608_221522-584x482.jpg

Weekend is just around the corner what will you be doing?

I have a 2-day rest again just like last weekends, thank God!

But today I'm a bit down. One patient complained because I didn't instruct her correctly. In short we had a misundertanding. She's a Bisaya(cebu) and I'm Waray-Waray (tacloban). Sometimes It's hard for me to explain myself or understand them easily especially if they talk faster.

I work here in Cebu City for almost one year and a half. Before then I already understand some Bisaya words and can speak a little bit. Then when I came here for work I tried my best to speak the dialect even though sometimes I utter wrong pronunciation or maybe words. Sometimes I just tried to speak in Tagalog because its hard for me to express what I want to say. Though I thought, why didn't I just speak Tagalog, I know a lot of Filipinos can understand. I want to learn their dialect that is why I chose to speak it.

Few more months I can talk a bit smoothly but sometimes I felt like stuttering. I am happy if some of my patients knew that I am not a Cebuana but I can already speak Bisaya just like everyone else.

And yet today were some of the days that I want to cry or resign from my work. I don't like to have problems especially when involving with a patient. Nowadays people or patients easily get mad to us nurses. It's a sad reality.

Also this week or month, 2 celebrities died. They took their own lives. They're two of the billions of people living in this world battling with their own demons. I hope we all aknowledge everyones feelings. Let no one be left behind.

Sharing this pic I saw on twitter:

IMG_20180608_212308-375x423.jpg

Tonight I am not feeling well. I can't sleep. My self esteem is low. But I will never back down. I will continue to survive every day. Let's help one another. Be patient to everyone. Spread love and good vibes to all.

To give @surpassinggoogle your witness voting decision, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Sort:  

Congratulations @isheng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17