Ulog #7: Saving my best 2019 moments. Sinulog Festival. Fireworks. Moalboal adventure. Sharing hearts with kindergarten kids.

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)


Here comes the year of the Earth Pig! In the Chinese Zodiac, the Pig was the 12th or last animal in the cycle. Folktale said, the pig arrived last at the party called by the Jade Emperor because he overslept. Another story was a wolf ruined its home and the pig was delayed to rebuild it.  I some times feel like this, missing out most of the fun moments in life even though I work very hard, I always encounter many setbacks. I'm a born water Pig.  I know things will not be easy this year, but best pigs  often bring the best bacon in the world after dealing with the sharp knife and burning flames. 


This is my first post for 2019. 2018 feels like just a blink of an eye. The past year was indeed a hell of a roller coaster ride for me, such a good mix of both laughter and tears. Whatever happened in the past, I want to fill my 2019 with so much positivity, kindness and love, not only because I need it but because I never ran out of it. "Life is wonderful in every way, I just sometimes need a good break to remind myself about it. " After all life has been so generous to me, I've received so many blessings. I may not always get what I want but somehow life has given me what I needed for the mean time. The key is just live in the moment and make the best of what I have and what I can. I have so many dreams in my life that are still so far for me to reach. It takes a lot of time, patience and effort, hopefully someday I hope to get to the finish line with flying colors!

Let's have a look of my moments and how things started for me this New Year 2019.

My Sinulog Festival Moment

Here I made this short video. I hope you all enjoy it as much as  I do. Fireworks are always magical.

We have so many festivals in the Philippines but through the years, the biggest and colorful feast happens here in Cebu -—the Sinulog festival, is quite a special event with millions of people both locals and foreign tourists all over the world gather to witness the big event. Traditionally, it's a week of celebration with colorful mardi gras street dance, fireworks display competition, and other activities in honor of the child Jesus. I don't have photos of the street dance this year, but here's a few shots of my Sinulog moment in the past years.

In history, this celebration remind us of the time when the Spanish introduced Christianity to my country. I used to take many pictures but not this year, I've been busy with the fireworks lol.  


Basdaku Moalboal Moments

It was supposed to be just an ordinary Sunday, I had planned to visit the newly opened Cat Cafe and see what they have but something unexpected happened, I ended up to somewhere better! My lovely friend invited me to join in their family outing and it was really fun. Life is indeed full of surprises. Isn't it amazing when life surprises you of something wonderful when you never expected it after all. 

Basdaku Moalboal is about 2 hours away from Cebu city. One of the best places I've been here really. I've been to this place for a couple of times but the experience is wonderfully unique each time. Just like this brief magical moment watching these love birds. This is my first time to see doves by the seashore and got lucky to take a perfect photo of them, this is quite special for me, such moments that make my heart fly.

These two sweet doves are seems so friendly, that you could almost touch them. =)

The place is also a favorite of many foreign travellers. Foreign tourists here are treated as normal. They enjoy the same things as the locals. I get to mingle with some of them. =)

There's so much to explore more in this wonderful place. I'm planning to go back there again when I get another chance, hopefully sometime this summer. I want to see the famous "Pescador Island"— it's well known as one of the best snorkelling  and diving site. 


Unforgettable Moment at the Kindergarten

I'm happy being surrounded by like minded people who makes me grow and see the value of gratitude and sharing.  Me and a few of my friends and co-workers have been doing this outreach program for 5 years now. Every year we pick a school, home for the aged or any specific place we could share our hearts with. This year, it's a good decision that we choose this kindergarten school. I was also able to use what I've learned in teaching. The kids seem to enjoy the activities we had. So it's a big success. 

"Let the children's laughter, reminds us how we used to be. "


So these are my moments and looking forward to more memorable moments coming up! I've been chasing my dreams and racing with destiny but I strongly believe some day I will win this life and get to the place where my heart deserves to be.

Happy New Year 2019. May this year be a great one for us all!

With much love always from Cebu,

@island-girl

Thank you! Maraming Salamat po! Daghan Salamat! Xie xie! Merci!


Sort:  

Such wonderful photos!
Thank you for sharing the great video of "Sinulog Festival". It is at the first time that I know about this festival and "Mardi Gras"(The day before Lent. God, I also don't know about "Lent", I just check it now).

I doubt how I once married an American who never told/taught me any tradition/story about Christian. Oh, the only story he referred to me is Thanksgiving Day. However, he knew a lot of Chinese traditional festivals as well as their origins.

Thank you for your sharing the story of Chinese Zodiac so much, too.
In China, Jade Emperor玉皇大帝/老天爷 is like God!

Congratulations @island-girl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94