#ULOG 0020: Gulay for July

in #ulog6 years ago

Yesterday, my grandmother decided to have a medical check-up to her personal physician. We need to do that since her kabuhi is repeatedly occuring over the week and which results to an increase in her blood pressure. My younger brother accompanied my grandmother and as for me, I was left at home together with my dogs. When I chatted my brother if they are okay that time, he told me that my grandmother was advised by the physician to have an ultrasound, to check if the frequent kabuhi of my grandmother has something with her internal organs. So they did and when the results are out, it was found out that my grandmother’s gall bladder has some little liathiases which is an indication of gall stones. And with that result she was advised to avoid foods that are being cooked using edible oils especially those vegetable oils. And was told if she wants to have operation, she needs atleast 40,000 Philippine peso which is around 800 bucks.

When they went home, my grandmother told me about the results and gave me the copy of the ultrasound. Additionally, since they arrived at home around 1700 (GMT +8), and its time to prepare for our dinner. My grandmother and I decided to cook the vegetables are left uncook and stored in our refrigerator. So since my cousin wasn’t around, I do the cooking for which I haven’t done for quite sometime, perhaps over a year ago the last time I cook vegetable, utan to be specific. Well, it is so timely too since it’s July the nutrition month here in the Philippines, (I remembered a Steemian telling me this song lyric Makulay ang buhay sa sinabawang july, I was cracking a joke that time and unexpectedly I got owned XD well, perhaps, in my 23 years of existence I just know it recently that “gulay is july” and I guess I’m late on that trend or joke Hahahahaha).

Moving forward, my grandmother requested me not to include spinach or alugbati since she suspects it to be among the culprits of her kabuhi, and of course I obliged. So I just utilized the available vegetables that we had in stock, which are the following: malunggay/kamunggay, kalabasa (squash), gabi (taro or yam, not sure about its English equivalent), sibuyas dahonan (onion leaves), dabong (bamboo shoots) and tanglad (lemon grass). Well it was pretty easy cooking, been doing it previously especially when I was a student on my fifth year studying mechanical engineering, but the downside is i’m no good when it comes to flavoring so my grandmother added some salt to match here taste preference, since for me my cooking is good I mean okay, and for them, needs additional salt. XD

image

Well, the above photo is taken using my smartphone, iPhone 6, I took this when we are about to take our dinner. It tastes good, gulay for july for the win!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20