#ULOG 23: Our Family’s Hero Has Joined Our Creator

in #ulog6 years ago

As the title says, our family’s hero joined our Creator last 1st of July 2018 at an age of 95 years old. He is a World War II veteran, wherein he served as a member of the Naga Post for Region VII in that said horrendous war. When war broke out at the end of 1941 here in the Philippines, our great grandmother (died last year at an age of 95) was pregnant and that child is now my grandmother, and our great grandfather was enlisted in the military in order to joined the efforts in defending our Motherland against the invading Imperial Japanese Army and he fought side-by-side with the Americans at that time. That gallantry he had shown and contributed to our country is something we, as a family are so proud of, it is not an easy task to put your life on the line, its like on the Filipino saying “Kapag sundalo, ang isang paa ay nakabaon na sa lupa”. Thankfully, our greatgrandfather survived that devastating war and he was so happy to be recognized as veterans of the war and after that war he retired to the service and has since shared his experience as a guerilla fighter.

image

Photo taken last Saturday and was using my iPhone 6 smartphone.

Our great grandmother is Dionisio Carcueva, and he is famously known as Tata. He is a very strong person and since he was a soldier he has that militaristic attitude (well, as per my grandmother, I have that militaristic trait/attitude; perhaps in some cases though I’d agree). Back then when my grandmother was healthy, I’d go with her to visit our great grandparents in Barili, actually Tata was having a good health the only problem he had is his eyes which got blind after an eye surgery and also his hearing ability. Additionally, if the two of them (Mama Mining (our great grandmother) and Tata) felt like visiting the city, they would travel on their own and visit us and bring some treats like budbud and as far as I can (if my memory serves me right), the two of them are travelling at an age of 85 years old or more, since it was on the 90th year old age of our Mama Mining that the two of them stop travelling. The very reason for that was Mama Mining got stroke, whereas Tata couldn’t leave alone due to his eyesight and hearing. If our Mama Mining didn’t die last year, perhaps Tata would still be alive today. Though he is a militaristic man, he is a caring husband, we witness how sweet he was despite not being able to see and having problems with his ear, he would always ask anyone of where is our great grandmother, which he still does until the last day of our great grandmother.

image

As for me, who is among the dozens of great grandsons which we commonly call us “apo sa tuhod”, my favorite moment with my Tata is during my elementary days, I was a freak when it comes to History at that time. Every summer at that time, Tata would be here in the city, and I always ask him about his experience during World War II. And to be honest, his respond is so thoughtful and difficult to stop for which my grandmother would laugh since his talk would be endless. As a kid that time, I had to get close to him and tell him my queries directly to his ears. Thankfully, he didn’t scold me. But during summer at that time, after 5 days or even a week, he would tell everyone in our household that he wants to go home in Barili, which is a bit saddening since it is really that short but as per our grandmother we grant his request since he really loves Barili and our home there since it was his blood, sweat and hardwork that made that house stood.

During the burial ceremony, I was expecting that there would be a gun salute I mean a military burial for my great grandfather, but there wasn’t and it got be disappointed since I felt like that my great grandfather wasn’t honoured. Well, as for me, I saluted at him moments before we close his kabaong and that was when we are about to brought him to the cemetery after the mass was done. As always the day would be that sunny and when the burial ceremony is done, rainfall follows, that is the same thing that happened on last year’s burial ceremony of our great grandmother. Well, I guess the two of them are happy together in heaven, meant to be together indeed considering the two of them died on their 95th year of existence.

Sort:  

My condolences, Engr!

Salamat sir @christianyocte. Btw, congrats sa curie vote.

Thank you, engr!

May his soul rest in peace. Soldiers are the force of any nation although they doesn't get the benefits of common men in most of the countries.

Nice to know about your great grandfather.

Thank you for using eSteem and you have been chosen by eSteem curators for Encouragement Program .

Please join our growing community using this link and check our Mobile and Surfer (desktop) apps using this link.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by josephace135 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76