#Ulog Day 65 - Parenting aint Easy

in #ulog6 years ago

I didn’t realize that disciplining a child can hurt me so much. Last night I cried myself to sleep. My son wanted his iPad so badly that he even sleeps late at night and he is just 26 months! We noticed that for 3 nights. What we did last night was when the clock struck 11:00 PM, we hid his iPad but he began crying.

First try of rocking him in my arms for him to fall asleep failed because he was pointing where we usually keep his iPad. I put him back to bed because rocking an almost 20 kg toddler for more than 10 minutes feels like I am carrying a sack of rice. After hiding his iPad where he couldn’t see it and my 4th try of rocking him to sleep, finally he gave in. That was the time I burst crying. The guilt, the feeling that I failed as a mother, were sinking in.

I continued to rock him even he is already sleeping telling him he is a good boy, that what I am doing is for his own good. Seeing my son cry because I didn't want to give him what he wanted feels like someone was crushing my heart. After putting him to bed, my husband hugged me. He understood everything and told me I did the right choice and said we will do again this evening. We will restrict him from using his iPad at 9:30 AM until he will understand that we, his parents give the​ rules and must be followed. I hope I can do it again later.

image

He was still sleeping while we send him this morning to his Aunt. He is sleeping which I am not surprised because he slept very late last night. I love this little one so much.

image

Sort:  

Parenting is the toughest, and most rewarding job in the World! Teaching them what is good, and what is not; is a fright filled job, I wish you luck!

You have begun well, you can Not go wrong, disciplining in Love!

Thank you @smithlabs. Tough when you see your child crying. You are torn between to continue disciplining him or to just wrap your​ arms to them.

Yes, parents are always torn, you want them to have everything they could ever want. But you also know if he gets everything he wants, when he grows up he will not be able to handle life, where he will not have everything he wants!

So you have to limit him now, so he can sail safely into life without you following to make sure he does well.

it is hard but we must do it for their own good and for us too

Hayz, hirap maging nanay Ma'am. Hehe!

I feel you sis.

Thanks sis.

No doubt it hurts, but you are correct on your part.
i know a mother cannot see her child crying.
But you are doing this for his own good.
and he will realize it soon.
Don;t blame yourself..
Sometimes you have to scold a child to make him a better human
THanks for sharing your story @jovema

Aw! Thank you @clicked. They say motherhood doesn't come with a manual and its all true. Just relying on what can b good for our children.

yes i know it hurts, but you are correct on your end ..
SO stop blaming yourself...

a

You are really so beautiful post .
I like it this post.
Thank you very much...

Thank for you and most welcome to sir.
Give me a upvote done sir..

Keep going @jovema. You are doing a good job 😊

You're welcome Ma'am @jovema

Always keep it in your mind that you want to help your son grow into a healthy young adult. If we meditate on things like that daily our actions will result in our dreams coming true.

Have a good night.. all of you 😊

P.S. You might want to watch this video:

I can relate sis. It is hard to discipline our child, but we can do it. It is just for their own good and someday they will thanks us.

reading your post I know how much you are in a dilemma, a mother's love is firmly planted. indeed as a parent when watching and hearing the child crying hearts like a slice. what you do is right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85