#ULOG - June 4, 2018 - MELTDOWNS IN TODDLERS

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

    There will be times that you and your husband will have a disagreement when it comes to parenthood.
man woman.png
    We have our first 2 days ago. Our son was having his a meltdown and parents/guardians know it is not a pretty sight. He just woke up from a siesta crying and inconsolable. We tried everything and nothing helped. He was very aggressive too. What I did is to let him have his time, leaving him on the floor and never tried to pacify him. I told his father not to interrupt what I am doing. I want my son to realize that I am giving him time to think and calm and no one will help him until he relaxes. And there he was - his superhero dad who couldn't bear to see his only beloved sweet boy helplessly crying on a carpeted floor. My "anger" towards my son shifted to his father. I told him he couldn't be like that forever and needed some discipline. No one died from crying or fake crying for an hour. On my part, I want my son to realize that if he doesn't want to be consoled, I will stay away from him where he can see me but couldn't be reached until he will calm himself. It worked for my nieces before. After all of us were calmed, I asked sorry at my husband. He did too. He also explained that if those kinds of discipline worked for our nieces, it doesn't mean it will work for our son. I also asked sorry to my son and his behavior​ is not acceptable. He just replied with a love (hug).

tantrums.png
    Sometimes, because of the stress of work, the condition of my mother-in-law, the budgeting​, all I need is ​a quiet place to stay with. I admit​ I lose my patience plenty of times especially when my son is having a meltdown. I feel guilty that sometimes I am thinking of hitting him (and didn't) because he couldn't be controlled​. I am just lucky that my husband is always on the rescue and he would try to pacify him.

anger-1462088_960_720.png
    They say​ terrible twos​ is the most annoying and exhausting stage of development of toddlers. My son just turned 2 last month. So this means we have a looooong way to go but with extra patience, love, and understanding I know we will conquer this period. Most parents did, so are we.

All images are taken from pixabay.
*Note: If you have any suggestions or tips to add in dealing a toddler in tantrums, please leave a comment below.

jovema.png

Sort:  

It's causally sometimes when we are worried we easily lost our patience but some time later we felt so guilty.
But it's family that always stand with us 😊

I so feel you sistahhh... Same scenario at home everyday. Imagine, I have 3!
@kennyroy and I just get into parenting styles disagreements often, more for our eldest than the 2 younger ones.

As they age, we also have to adjust our disciplinary styles. They are so smart and they actually remember whatever we tell them but the challenge is how to instill these virtues to them... :0

Naku, talino nga nila. They will know you are mad by just looking at our faces tapos uutuin ka na. Haha!!

Kaya bilib ako sa mga parent dealing with more than 2 children mommy. Suko na. Ano nalang kaya sa 3? LOL

I can so relate with this. The cries and tantrum. And the anger I feel, the loud cries gives me instant headache.
I can't wait for him to be four years and start talking properly.

Not sure I want to have another baby,it's not really easy being a mum. The stress...aargh

And I do have pain relievers ready in case my headache progresses. LOL

All I can say is good luck lol I am glad I had only one

hehe sis my youngest is 2.5...pag mga gnyang scenario I would let her choose between "Palo o bacio(kiss)". Anng gusto mo Palo o bacio?.. Palo ang una nyang pinipili tas papaluin ko kunwari..Tas papipiliin ko uli.. sunod kiss n pipiliin nya..my kundisyon...pro pg ikikiss ni momy stop crying n kng hindi palo ulit... Pag nkiss ko n titigil n tas yayakap n😃 nsanay n s ganyan 😁😂

That is understandable but it is important that you work things out. There will always be a good cop and bad cop. Family situations will always take its toll on us. Patience is what we need when all patience is gone.

the love hug takes it all :)

I feel you sis...❤❤❤ pero ako taga pacify heehe

Ang maga bata talaga sobra s kukulit..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30