#ULOG S2018E027: A Looong Rainy Saturday, Read How My Day Went

in #ulog6 years ago

5:30 AM - Wake Up Time

I don't usually wake up this early but because of the Project Awesome Smile, James and I had to be early. While I woke up earlier, James woke up an hour later after I had prepared the table.

The weather was not really good, the skies were dark and it felt like it was about to rain which it did later on while on our way to the venue.


7:00 AM - En Route for Project Smile, We Almost Got into an Accident

The location for the event was at Luis Amigo Ladies Dormitory just right across San Carlos University. While we were nearby, James decided to take a U-Turn without doing any left turn signal. This made the motorcycle following up slid its wheels and dropping his motorcycle, thank goodness there was no major damage on his motorcycle as well as the driver and the guy was calm as well who assured us that there's not much damage so we can just go. B

y that time, the rain was already pouring and I was really worried that the driver might want to settle this at the police station but we were blessed to encounter such calm person.

We finally arrived at the location and the security guard allowed us to park our motorcycle to inside the dormitory, we met @morken and @thian there.


9:30 AM - Start of Awesome Smile Project

image

More than twenty street kids went inside the dormitory's designated area for the Awesome Smile Project, some were with their mothers too especially the very young ones.

I could sense that they are already familiar with the location as they'd come here every day. They went ahead taking a bath, they dressed and when done, they sat in their chairs.

The program started with a prayer, then there were coloring and art activities, basketball games, fun games too and by 11 AM, we shared the table for lunch.

image

image

image

image

The kids were all smiles when the gift-giving portion came, they fall in line, waiting for their turns and were grateful for the new dresses and undergarments received from this project. They also received grocery supplies which will help them in the following days.

image

image

I personally learned a lot from these kids and I will share a more comprehensive blog about the event soon together with pictures and videos.


12:30 PM - Off to SM City Cebu

After interacting with the kids and co Cebu-based steemians, James and I were off to SM City Cebu for one purpose - get a GCash MasterCard for James.

Good thing the rain has stopped so the skies were a little clearer now, no signs of rain so we didn't bother wearing any rain-protection gears.

image

Upon arriving, we stopped by Toniq to freshen ourselves with fresh juices. I ordered their vegan shawarma too which is my favorite! While James ordered their Pain Remedy juice.


1:30 PM - GCash Staff on a Long Break

It was 1:30 PM when we first went to the Globe store, but the staff assigned for their GCash MasterCard transactions was still on a break and no one was substituting him. We were advised to come back after an hour.

So we spent the next hour's windows shopping after our feet got tired, we watched the recital program of some talent center in the food court


2:30 PM - GCash Staff Still on a Break

Got back to the Globe store and found out the staff was still on a break! Oh goodness! I told the other staff who were not helpful at all that we had waited for an hour and told to come back at this time. I even asked if there's any other staff who could assist us and no one answered. They seem to be really legalistic as to who is assigned and such.

Anyways, we don't want to really spend much energy about it so we went to the food court instead and ate again, this time we ate "binignit" costing Php 35 each serving.


3:30 PM - GCash Staff Showed Up Finally

image

Finally, we found the staff who went to almost three hours of break. There was one customer ahead of us so we waited again until they're done. James filled the forms and finally got his GCash MasterCard.

We are going to give this to mother in law so she can just withdraw money directly from the card instead of James sending her money through a remittance center which is definitely a hassle.

image

After the 15-minute processing, we were done and went out of the store, at last!


4:00 PM - Early Dinner at Cabalen

image

Our Saturdays are usually spent either traveling or eating out somewhere. For that day, we decided to have an early dinner at a Filipino eat all you can restaurant. Cabalen takes pride in their all Filipino eat all you can, all you want food options.

We spent the next one and half hours eating and taking photos of the restaurant. Good thing we were earlier that there were only a few guests then the number increased later on.

image

image

image

My favorite is their grilled squid, the seashells, and their sisig Bangus. I also grabbed some salad and the sweet melon juice.

I noticed they don't serve chicken. I wonder why?


5:30 PM - Shopped Pens from Scribe

image

I had been wanting to visit this shop for some time ago but only got a chance yesterday after eating at Cabalen.

Scribe features art pens and other materials. I had my eyes on the Tombow brush pen sets but since it was very expensive, I ended up with a Faber Castell Ecco Pigment Drafting and Sketching pens.

image

image

I got two sets all ranging from 0.1 to 0.8 pen tip sizes. I had a Micon before but they are already used up now so some had run out of ink.


6:00 PM - Embroidered @Steemspots

Just when I thought we were already going home, James and I passed by this store called Artistich. Obviously, they offer stitching and embroidery services.

image

James asked for his black cap to be printed with Steemspots, originally we thought of the Steem Logo but it was expensive so we ended up with just the word @steemspots which cost him Php 131.

image

The sad news is that we have to wait for two hours for it to be claimed. He said he is willing to wait and so we waited. To kill time, we went window shopping again and found George Optical.


7:00 PM - Comprehensive Eye Exam and Purchased My First Glasses

image

For the past months, I had been having this headache after hours of looking at the computer screen. I believe my vision is already having issues and had been planning to go to an eye center for it to checked as well but never had time.

There was no one inside so I went in and asked if they could have my eyes checked. Found out that my eyes have a vision grade of 50-50. This explains why I am having headaches and my far sight is a bit blurry.

I never thought it would cost me a lot to get my first pair of glasses but nonetheless, I decided to get one because I don't want to suffer and the doctor said I have to get one as there's still a chance for my vision to repair itself if I would act on the remedies as early as now.

So, I am currently trying to adjust to wearing glasses all the time but my vision is clearer now especially when seeing farther objects and words.

Got the glasses at 8:30 PM.


8:00 PM - Steemspots became Steempots

image

James was really excited about his cap but when we were about to claim it, its missing an S, it became Steempots instead of Steemspots.

They asked us to wait for another 30 minutes. I can't believe they printed it wrong and they didn't say sorry at all! They just said to wait for another time, we can't do anything about it so we had to wait.

But when we came back after 30 minutes, the cap was not ready. So we went to George Optical and claimed my glasses first. When we came back to Artistich, the cap was all done.

image

Thank goodness we can go home now!

All is well!

At 9:00 PM, we were home and we were very tired that we slept right away.


xoxo,
Junebride

Sort:  

Nice to meet you gahapon ate!

nice to meet you too dong...

Such a productive day at the mall after the Smile Project! Ang hassle lang talaga nung mga employees na ganun like yung sa Globe store, nakakainit ng ulo haha. Pero wala na ding mangyayare kung magalit. Masasayang pa oras. Atleast you got your mother in law a gcash card!

kaya nga john..at least madami kami nakain.haha

kaya nga john..at least madami kami nakain.haha

Kaya nga. Haha! More bonding times haha

Wow naa diay moy sanibpwersa nga acount maam., galinga uy.

haha uu sir katong para travel kay samok kau akong acct klasi2 ang gipang post

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 26 SBD worth and should receive 121 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07