Ulog: Recycling Bedsheet Into A Foam Bed Wrap

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello there Steemians!

You know how hard it is to achieve a good night sleep on my part. First of all, let's not take for granted the pesky mosquitoes that somehow find their ways to attack us at night.

Then there is this bed that I shared with my sister and could hardly contain the wavy springy movement of it once you just move a bit. Whenever I am experiencing a migraine, the bed's motion could easily worsen it.

I thought of something that could lighten up my burden. My sewing kit's readily available to rescue me.

2018-06-08 18_02_55-Greenshot.png

DIY Bed Cover

I found an extra undressed foam bed in my parents' bedroom. Since they are not around, no one's ever using it. I don't think we would have some visitors in the coming days ahead, who would like to use this, too. Even my cousins who come during weekends did not want to utilize it.

This is the spare foam that I am talking about.

2018-06-08 18_05_55-Greenshot.png

I actually started to use it last night and I found it very uncomfortable having to cover it, with just a piece of cloth while I am on it. I am not so behaved when I sleep. I know that I really don't keep still and couldn't hold on to one position.

When I woke up, not only that the cover was all over me, I also felt itchiness on my arms and legs. This was just a presumption, but I think it was because I never realized how dusty the foam was before I ever used it.

I decided to dress it up this morning.

I found an old, quite torn bedsheet in the closet. In no time, I bet my mom would convert this into a rag, or something like a chamois. It does need a few stitching up, otherwise I would have thrown it away, if I could not handle it.

2018-06-08 18_07_04-Greenshot.png

It was a piece of cake although it took me an hour or so to finish everything up. From the stitching of the torn parts to making sure the bedsheet fits the entire foam, to stitching up again to connect the sides and edges, in order to enclose the foam precisely.

The output looks like new. I am pretty satisfied with my work.

2018-06-08 18_08_35-Greenshot.png

With one more cover to put on top of it, before I go to slumber tonight, I do hope I could achieve that sound sleep I badly need. Wish me luck! :)

PhotoGrid_1508745993775.jpg

Please UPVOTE, FOLLOW and RESTEEM!

steemitgif.gif

Sort:  

That's awesome. Recycling is always good for Mama Earth. You are resourceful and creative. We appreciate your beauty here in #ulogs. Have a wonderful day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16