Ulog 7: Wildfires, Heroes, and a Reminder that People are Amazing

in #ulog6 years ago

In British Columbia, where I live, last year was the worst wildfire season on record. Thankfully, this year's spring was waaaay wetter than last year, and fires haven't been too bad yet. All good news, but there are still fires burning...

There's a wildfire near town (a ways downhill from us) and crews are on it. It seems to be contained, but I should also have bags packed—I’m halfway packed from last year, actually, but I need to reorganize. It's wildfire season and you never know how much time you'll have if you need to evacuate.

Still, it’s green out my window right now. So beautiful here. May it stay green as the heat of summer hits.

lake
I love living in this valley.

line

Heroes and Humanity.


It breaks my heart to think about what happens to wildlife when wildfires hit. All I can do is send them love and hope everyone finds shelter and new homes... We had a mama bear and two cubs hanging around last summer, with more bear activity in general because they’d had to move out of fire paths.

With the current fire, for the past couple of days they had a crew protecting a tree that was half burned, with two eagle chicks at the top.

There was a dedicated truck and firefighting crew making sure those eagle babies were okay!

And it’s totally making me cry.

This is one of the reasons I don’t do Facebook anymore—I generally get triggered one way or another. But when there’s wildfires, my local FB page is the absolute best place to gather information to figure out where the fires are, what’s happening, and if I need to be worried or not.

Regardless, the fact that the firefighters saved these eagle chicks is something wonderful. And today I’m going to go by the local store to pitch into a donation bin which a resident takes to the shelter she volunteers at in town.

It’s things like these that renew my hope in humanity.

The Latest News: The eagle chicks are fine and mama eagle has come back.

Because of heroes.

I’ve heard stories of firefighters riding ornery horses to safety, feeding their meals to animals left behind, and saving said animals. Sometimes keeping them as their own pets.

When I get discouraged by the nastiness mankind can create, I remember that there are so many people doing good, who have incredible hearts and perform miracles every day.

There are a lot of people on this platform who fit that description.

To those of you who fight the good fight, who do your best every day—even on the hardest days… The little things and the big things all count. Thank you for being you, and for making the world a better place.

line

Where I’m at.


I’ve been falling behind on a lot of things, but right now I’m trying to organize my house and spend more quality time with my kids. We’ve been getting more creative with food, and I’ll do a post on that soon...

I’ll also try to catch up on comments as best I can. I am waaaaay behind. But I see them, and I'm grateful for each of you who take the time to encourage me!!! This mama is doing the best she can. ;)

Much love!


Thanks for reading.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @steemgigs, @noblewitness, @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @c0ff33a, @sapphic — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

I agree with @dswigle. Just come back and move forward when you are ready. I'm so glad that you are safe from the fires and that hard times bring out the best in people. It certainly brings out the best in you! HUGS!!

Great to catch up with you 🗻🐢💖 such good news about the egalets! I thought you lived in the states! Haha, i so need to visit BC Ahhhh! 🤠🗻👍

I hope they will be able to put that wildfire down very soon. They are so dangerous and can spread so quickly. A few years ago i lived near a place that csught fire and they couldnt control it for hours! Ruining so much nature and even houses. 1 person even died from it:(
Be safe!
Its amazing that those firefighters protected the 2 chicks like that. Good to hear they have such good hearts and care for nature and wildlife:)
Looking forward to that food post of yours @katrina-ariel🤗 ! Theres nothing like spending quality time with your kids so its great youre focusing on that now! 🤗
Good day! Hope the fires gone by now!

Thank you for the kind thoughts. The fire is mostly out and under control. And yes, so important to focus on family. Much love to you and yours!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.46$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Thank you lovely 😘 Glad to hear :)

why you always have the best hats? :)

A piece of advice that I can give you is that you need to let go of the replies that have not been done and move forward. People understand that life gets in the way and that it does not reflect how you feel about them. I think that I would have a mental breakdown trying to finish out everything when there really is no time. So I have decided to move forward and send my love after those that sent me when I needed it.

As for those unsung heroes and even the ones that know the songs, my love, my heart my soul, my all goes to them who take the time to make sure that all goes well with the world. Their hearts are big and most of them don't think of themselves with a danger that they may incur. My shout-out my love to them, You Know Who You Are.

Ask for you my friend, stay safe, stay safe, Inlet that mama cup keep those babies safe. Much love to you and keep on singing that song.

That is a solid piece of advice, and some wonderful comment love. Thank you!

There is a reason kids like to dress up like fireman... because they’re awesome! Saving lives and helping people. True heroes.

Be you and never say you are sorry for having a real life and family. This is a FUN Zone...... a place to come and relax and release the frustrations of real life. To meet new people that you otherwise wouldn't, to try new things to see how they go.

Leave this as the fun place it needs to be for all of us that spend a little too much time not being who we are on the inside......... Shine as you are and don't look back!!

Of course you are doing the best you can, you are just that kind of a person. I am glad those eagles are fine and they got their mamma back. Much love honey, stay your amazing self 💚

@katrina-ariel
You and your posts are amazing too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30