#ULOG 040: Hometown Budget Foodtrip

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hometown Foodtrip

After months of being away from my hometown, Mindanao, I finally had the chance to return to the place where I belong. Aside from beautiful landscapes, fresh air, and blue seas. My favorite thing about my hometown is its delicious and affordable food which is really hard to find in bigger cities.

After a long tiring day, my bestfriend, Terry, also the co-owner of this blog took me on a food-quest. We went to Malaybalay City's plaza where different kinds of street food were sold. I was really excited cause it's been months since I've eaten street foods again and it was Terry's treat which made it more delicious.

IMG_5327.JPG

The first food we bought and ate was one of our top street food favorites the classic *"KWEK-KWEK". We really don't know why it's called kwek-kwek but we know for a fact that it really taste good. We bought this for only 15php.

IMG_5328.JPG

Next up, is the BALOT and PENOY. I don't really eat balot but Terry does. The difference between balot and penoy is that balot already has a baby chick/duckling in it which I can't bear to swallow or eat. Otherwise, penoy is just an ordinary duckling egg or as we call it itlog sa bebe with two options one with sabaw and a dry one. I love penoy's with sabaw. However, the penoy I bought was a little dry but undeniably delicious.

IMG_5329.JPG


IMG_5334.JPG

The thing I dislike the most is peeling off the shell. I always struggle in this matter but for the love of penoy , I will do everything I can to peel it perfectly. ( Laughing to myself)

IMG_5335.JPG

This is what it looks like when peeled, almost. It's kind of dry and I wanted to have that "sabaw" type of penoy. I prefer it to be watery since I love sipping it's sabaw or soup ( is this right? HAHA) especially when it's hot. Well, penoy is penoy.

IMG_5343.JPG


IMG_5350.JPG

So, eating penoy and balot would be more delicious when paired to vinegar (suka), salt, and chili. I always prefer spicy food and I love eating penoy with spicy vinegar and salt mixed with chilies.

When you finally peeled the top part of the egg, you just put on some vinegar and salt on it and drink and eat the egg with it. Just refer to the photo for better understanding of my confusing description. (Laughing to myself again)

IMG_5351.JPG


IMG_5352.JPG

Last but not the least, is the delicious fried and steamed siomai. We paired this siomai with some refreshments such as, Buko juice and Calamansi Juice. Siomai is such a delicious and mouth-watering treat especially when topped with vinegar, soy sauce, calamansi, and chilies. Yes, I enjoy spicy food!

And that small orange circles are also kwek-kwek. You might wonder why its small. Actually there are two types of kwek-kwek, quail eggs and chicken egg. Unfortunately, we only bought siomai and refreshments at this stall.

IMG_5353.JPG

** Prices for the food we purchased and enjoyed:**

*Kwek-kwek: 15php
*Penoy: 12php
*Calamansi Juice: 5php
*Siomai: 7pcs for 20php

The total amount Terry spent was only 52php. It was affordable yet delicious and I didn't have to spend a single peso since it was a treat from my dearest friend, Terry.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kayegrasya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16