ULOG: Day 25- "CLOSE TO"

in #ulog6 years ago

While I watched a movie and sat down on the sofa, I left immediately my mother alone unwinded in the bamboo chair. My sister-in-law was bamboozled to see her alone watching the film. I can't relax in midst of the heated atmosphere. Then, I went back room to cool down. My sweat suddenly has gone then I slept for a while with my niece who covered himself a sheet.

I remembered those teenage days when we were moved to the near river to unwind if summer. Instead of feeling irritated by the heated weather, we became happy so we have the reason to enjoy the stream. "You can swim," my friend said.

I learned how to swim through my friend who taught me every day from the early morning to sunset during summer and holidays. Many people prefer to wash their clothes in there and dry their clothes to the stones. They usually had a picnic with their family during the day and camping. If I remember, when I was 10, my family used to camp too throughout the day. My mother and father used to bring our dirty clothes inside the pail before the sun goes out. My father used to catch crabs, shrimps, and fish beneath the rocks. My father grilled fish and shrimps on the stones that we used to eat our lunch altogether when mother was done placing the washed clothes on the rocks.

Going back to the times when my friend taught me swimming, it was already afternoon after school when we went to the river again along with her eldest sister who also brought their used dirty clothes inside the pail to be washed. While her eldest sister dried their clothes to the stones, my friend and I swam to the upper area. We noticed the little rain and the dark clouds that certainly fall the heavy rains. Then, it rained suddenly, but we never scared. Little by little, the water was super powerful that I cannot bear. I was drowned in the lower part where my friend's sister sat down kept the clothes she laid on the rocks. Next to that area is the lowest part where there are huge and tall rocks. It was the deepest part of the creek. The water is black green, and below it is the strong flows with medium sized of rocks that leads us to another place if we are drifted.

"Help, help," I screamed. I was afraid I'll be drifted to the deepest part where the water is black green in color. Before the strong flow moved me to the area where my friend's sister was, she ran immediately to meet me below. She took my hands forcefully along my little sister's hands. Then I was saved. I was scared to death. Through that, I learned that we shouldn't swim in the river when it is raining because it is dangerous. Since that day, I never went to the river again when there is a bad weather.

Disclaimer: The content and illustrations are original.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

i have a lot of memories in the nearby river where we grew up.. my mother would always scold us for swimming there but we would still do

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, don't mind me I showed up because you used the term bamboozled. It was definitely worth the read! Strong story, I am happy you were rescued. Where I am from, the seatide makes the sea move far away from the shore. That makes the bed of the sea show up and little rivers where people sometimes go to swim. But when the water leaves it also draws strongly from the rivers and the current can sweep you out to the sea. Your story reminded me of that, because I often warn our guests of it before they go to the beach.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shane from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87