ULOG #42: Soppy, Saturated, Stormy Sunday

in #ulog6 years ago

bake sale.jpg

How was your Sunday? #beautifulsunday was initiated by @ace108. Let me tell you how "beautiful" my Sunday is. First, let me show you some photos.

It was a Silent Hill vibe when I headed out. The photo came out clearer than it reality. It was foggier a while ago. I thought it would be few to no people. I was wrong. It was like any other day.

Living in the tropics can be a blessing and a curse. Since the beginning of the year, we have more rain and bad and worse weather than good and sunny ones. We get a respite from the lash of rain, grumble of thunder and that strike of lightning a few days at a time. The longest probably was three weeks.

This week has been one of those worse ones. We have not seen the sun for a few days now. Again. Being cooped up inside the house for a week with typhoon and monsoon rains is depressing.

How would you make a day like this beautiful?

I made it a point to go out no matter what. It is one of those rainy days that you have to fight with the wind else it will upturn your umbrella to which the wind succeeded in doing so for me. Thankfully, no rain by the time that happened and I was already nearing home. The umbrella survived! Hooray!

This is the river here in our place. We call it Balili River. It is a dead one because of years and years of negligence and undisciplined practices and habits, we killed it. There were tiny fishes here then and as kids we would go catch some but mostly only catching tadpoles. No wrath of a mother could prevent us from going to the river lol!

The water turns brown when it rains. There was one time that due to a strong typhoon, it rose so high such that it surpassed the barrier, flooding the streets and houses near it. The house of my aunt was just beside the river. The ground floor was flooded then so she, her family and guests sought shelter in our house which was located at a higher level and away from the river. They stayed for two days I think. I was around 8 or 9 then. I cannot remember much but I clearly remember they came to stay. Fortunately, no typhoon had been that strong enough since then to cause the river to rise that high.

It is business as usual today even thought it was raining hard. This is one of the fruits and eggs stores that we have here. As you can see, it is mostly bananas. Living in the mountains, transport of goods can be dangerous because the winding roads going here are dangerous. They are slippery and fog can make visibility to almost zero. What little supply that the local farmers have will be expensive because the demand is high. I saw some other fruits but almost or most of it are about to rot.

This store is where we usually buy fruits and eggs but mostly the eggs. It is cheaper here. We usually buy one tray. I wanted to buy some fruits as well but there was nothing that I wanted for now. I wanted to buy santol (cottonfruit) but they do not have it and none of the others stores have it as well.

What I really wanted to buy were the ingredients for making tofu siomai (dumpling). None of the stores here sell Molo (Wonton) wrapper which is needed for the siomai. There is one supermarket here that sells it and they have it available almost always that I go there to buy.

P_20180812_162528.jpg

Here are the ingredients we use to making tofu siomai. As always, I am bad at documenting things. The tofu was already mashed and some carrots have already been sliced.

What you need:

  • Tofu
  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Molo (Wonton) Wrapper
  • Skyflakes Crackers (original)
  • Salt and pepper

We also put capsicum. However, there was no capsicum sold in any of the stores. I don't like buying in the supermarket because the price there is expensive, almost double the price. Besides, I can do without the capsicum. Preferably, I use white onions but, again, there were no white onions available.

You can substitute tofu with meat of your own choosing or TVP (textured vegetable protein) veggie burger. We prefer tofu or TVP because it is quicker to cook. If you want to make this purely vegan, you can opt to not add egg if you will use tofu. If you are going to use TVP, maybe a little oil can be used instead.

What we do is mash the tofu by hand or use a fork. Slice and dice and shop the carrots, onions and garlic. Crush the garlic first so it will be easier to slice. Mix it to the mashed tofu. Add eggs and flour in and mix. Crush the crackers and it also to the mix. Season to desired taste.

P_20180812_171354.jpg
P_20180812_171411.jpg

Take one wrapper at a time. If you have had no experience with molo wrapper before, be careful in separating them from one another. Pull it apart but not to quick else they break apart. Place enough of the tofu mix that the wrapper can cover. You can wrap it anyway you want.

P_20180812_172548.jpg

P_20180812_172524.jpg
P_20180812_173238.jpg

After wrapping, place them in the steamer. Put oil on the base of each container to prevent the siomai sticking to the container. Be careful not to place them too close tightly together for they will stick. If you are using an electric steamer, set the timer to 60 minutes. 1 hour is just a quick one. Go watch an episode of your favorite series or play games or sleep for an hour.

P_20180812_185209.jpg
P_20180812_185219.jpg
P_20180812_185454.jpg

This is best with soy sauce, lemon juice and chili garlic paste. My friend's husband made a chili garlic paste. I like how chili and spicy it is the first time I tasted it. I have been planning to make tofu siomai when my friend gave me her husband's chili paste. What he makes is different from those sold commercially because his is packed with chili and a little garlic and oil. Those sold in stores have more oil in it than chili.

P_20180812_190053.jpg
P_20180812_190104.jpg

I also fried some of these steamed ones. Fried dumplings have different taste. Also, it makes the dumplings crunchy. I cannot remember how much of these have I eaten. However, I do remember eating more of the fried ones.

Occasionally, we also cook chicken or beef siomai but most of the time tofu because mom is a ovo-vegetarian. She is not purely vegetarian because she still eats eggs. She avoids meat and milk.

What kind of dumpling do you like? Do you prefer steamed or fried?

No matter how life treats you or how bad the weather is, I hope you can find a way to make it beautiful. You can't go wrong with good food spent with family or with good people.

11.jpg

LEEART.gif


I am using this divider provided by @surpassinggoogle here in this post about @ulog.

What is @ulog? Read it HERE.


THIS IS A REMINDER TO BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR ACCOUNTS AND KEYS HERE IN STEEMIT. There are criminals, hackers and abusers all around.

Check out these articles:

This One Here Is For You @Sami100: "You Can Steal My Money But You Can't Take Away My Happiness!" || Be Careful Steemians And Protect Your Private Keys!!! by @surfermarly

PLEASE DON'T be the NEXT VICTIM of a PHISHING SCAM !! by @lynncoyle1
⚠⚠ WARNING FRIENDS ⚠⚠ by @johndoer123
Protect your ASS by @omitaylor
Scammers started disinformation from @arcange

QmbZa31HLSGhSAgxtKsFJXs4vYMgDegJ4wAZEMtwag87L3.gif

Thanks to @quochuy for these steps on how to protect yourself from phishing.

Protect your money against Phishing Scam!

Cryptos accounts are the target of international scammers because they want your hard earned money!

Those people are very clever and in a moment of inattention, you've given them your login and password!

I've created a Chrome extension that can help you detecting scam links!

Install Steemed Phish Chrome desktop browser extension now!

Password and Private Keys security

You all know that your Steem password is the access to all your STEEM, SBD, posting, transferring, everything... right?
So, please, follow these simple steps and keep yourself safe:

  1. Apart from the initial setup of your account, NEVER use your password ANYWHERE, if stolen, it will give full control to your Steem account.
  2. Backup your password and keep it somewhere safe. Use a password manager like Lastpass, print it on paper and put it in a safe (no kidding). If you forget your password, no one can help you out.
  3. To login for creating content and curating, use your Private Posting Key
  4. To make transfers and account operations, use your Private Active Key
  5. To encrypt and decrypt memos, use your Private Memo Key
Sort:  
Hello.😊

Congratulations @leeart, your post has been featured at Best of PH Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.😉


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Huhu kagutom. And that dead river... Sad nmn.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would send you some sunshine if I could my dear! We have more than enough in Switzerland for the past few months :)

A few years ago we also had issues with flooding. It was a disaster!

These bananas look delicious! I would get them all! :D I'm like a monkey BTW :D

This is my type of food! I love it! I will try it but I will have to replace the eggs :)

Lol! If only we can do that I would gladly send all the rains we have :D

Yeah, floods are happening all the time here. This weather is just crazy!

Lol! I love bananas, too!

I hope you can try it and make a post about it :D

We have now some summer storms too. The skies are blue and in a couple of minutes it all turns dark grey and starts raining heavily. It stops after half an hour and the sun is back 😊

I will 😉

Long time no see bro, How have you been faring. Hope you're doing good. It seems the rains are still as stubborn as ever.

Hey, @nigtroy! How are you? Such is the situation we have to be in most of the time, sometimes more, sometimes less. Am doing okay other than this rain is taking a toll emotionally :D

interesting . i tofu but never seen them used as stuffing this way.

If you live with someone who is vegetarian, then you are compelled to find ways to cook things differently lol!

This post has been manually curated, upvoted and resteemed by our curator. If you think your friend has a piece of good material and wish us take a look at it, feel free to send us any amount of wallet message, we will manually curate and take action according to post quality. Further detail, you may visit our profile. We are currently following #foodphotography, #foodblogresteem and #cn-food, feel free to inform your friend of our existence.

你好,你已被我们人工审查,点赞和转发。如果你还有其他水准之作,又或者是你朋友的作品是水准之作而又被错过了,你可以随意发个钱包信息给我们,数量不拘。我们收到后会审查,根据文章质量采取行动。如果需要进一步了解我们的服务,可以到我们账号去浏览。我们目前会根据 #foodphotography, #foodblogresteem #cn-food 来去找寻高质量的食物有关文章给与点赞和转发。

Thanks a lot @foodblogresteem! Now there is another reason to post more food blogs :D

We love food blogs. Especially quality ones. Keep up the good work.

howdy this fine Sunday sir leeart! this is a great post, I love the detailed instructions on this regional dish that you prepared and it looks marvelous to bytheway! great job, sun will surely come back out soon.

Have you tried dumplings? :)

I hope in a day or two we will have sun and hoping that it will stay for good :D When -ber months come and we still have rains, it will surely be colder days so we definitely need sun like right now lol!

haha! we have sun about 320 days a year here. I haven't tried dumplings before but I sure would.

beautiful post my friend :)
the rain looks crazy! I live in the desert so it barely rains here!!

Thanks @lovablesoul!
If only I could send you rain, I would. We have had so much of it we don't even see the sun. A week long that turns into months of rain is totally crazy!

Yea sounds like the complete opposite of here! We barely see rain so I'm happy about rain ;) I should send you some sunshine ;)

I love dumplings, but I don't think I have tried the fried ones yet, but I h=bet they are delicious.
We have winter here in El Salvador too and it rains almost every evening but during the day we get plenty of sun, so I actually like the winters better here then the summer since everything is so green and it is pretty cool to sleep since it rains at night and cools everything down.
Hopefully the sun is coming in the next days, since I know how you feel when there is no sun especially for few days and that is why I moved to Central America since in Canada we don't have enough sun.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-12T14:32:36
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 757.36/800.00
Total Photos: 90
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04