#Ulog : HOW I SPENT MY WEEKEND || #GratitudeDay (33/62) : Grateful for Safety!!

in #ulog6 years ago

Good day to you all. It's not been really easy for me down here but God has always been there. I hope you all are doing great and fine.


Today, I just want to share with you all how my weekend went as well as showing my gratitude to God for everything. When I say 'Everything' , I mean "Everything". It wasn't easy but God made it easy and I am still hoping for the best. I believe that my expectations shall not be cut off.

DQmZkqPrgnyB38qqjxD86d4c7JjSfXhX1SBxQ7PqREVvKYp_640x480.jpg
Source


Leggo!!


Further to my application for internship at Chevron Nigeria Limited (CNL), I got an invitation mail from them to come for a screening test. I was being given three places to choose from for the test. One was Abuja, the second Lagos and the third was Warri. Having weighed and compared the three places, I opted for Warri, Delta State. It is one of the Niger Delta states. I've never been there so it was also a kind of adventure for me.


The test was scheduled to hold on the 9th of June, 2018 at Benchills School by 1pm prompt. So, I left to Uyo for Port Harcourt, so I could travel to Warri from there. I didn't think I was going to meet up with time if I travelled same day from Uyo to Warri, since it was a longer distance compared to travelling from Port Harcourt.


I got to Port Harcourt a bit late since I travelled late too. I love night travels although many people have told me it isn't good but I am finding it hard to dump the so-called bad habit. Though sometimes, I don't plan on travelling late but I always find myself travel late🙄🙄.


But all the same, I want to thank God for granting me safe journey down to Port Harcourt. Our driver got a bit reckless while driving though; we told him to take it easy but he didn't heed to our advice. So, he got into a little problem. Having reached Port Harcourt, we were caught up in traffic. The driver who was impatient I'd say, tried overtaking the other cars and while trying to do that, he did hit those pavements on the road. He damaged the two right wheels of the car and also got one of the tyres to burst. They wheels were badly bent. The car almost capsided but God didn't let it happen. I believed the driver learnt his lesson although he learnt it the hard way.

This resulted in him not being able to drive us to our destinations, he had to transfer us to another of the company's vehicle while trying to fix the car. I also saw several casualties on the way but God kept me safe. This was just the first part of the travel.

I am most grateful to God!


The next day was the test day. I revised my books and then went to bed. I got up quite early cause I also needed to get to Warri as early as possible in other for me to be to locate the test venue early enough since it was my first time being there.


I woke up as early as 5am which was so unlikely of me, and before 6am, I was already at the park. The bus got full of passengers and we were set to leave for Warri. As the driver turned on the ignition, we observed that one of the back tyres was shaking and it gave the car a discomforting sound. We told the driver but he paid deaf ears.


As he drove, the sound kept changing as the shaking of the cars continued. We were almost launching into the express as one of the passengers couldn't hold it any more and told the driver to park and check what was wrong before launching onto the express way. It was timeless though cause no one could tell what would have happened if he didn't stop to check.


After so much pressure on the young man, he parked and went to check. It was then he discovered that the bearings had cut. All the passengers got mad him and blamed him for not checking right from the park when he was being told. I checked my time and it was getting close to 1:30 already which was my test time. I was so worried.

20180609_093407.jpg


We had to pause the journey as the car couldn't carry us any more. The driver called for an empty vehicle to be brought. After waiting for about one hour, the vehicle reached and we continued the journey.


The trip was cool😎 and smooth; I thank God for that. I arrived the test venue on time and sat for the exams. I thank God who didn't let us get involved in any accident during the course of the travel. As per the exams, I am still praying and hoping for the best. I am certain I'll get taken.


It was indeed an hectic as well as an adventurous weekend for me.


Thanks for your time.


LILTOM.gif

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84