"Nothing like a busy bee" #ulog entry no.8

in #ulog6 years ago

We nearly always associate bees with pollen inside flowers - however, some time ago, I noticed a great deal of bees swarming around some thatching grass in the garden.

On closer examination, I saw that they were actually getting something out of the tiny brown seed like things at the end of each grass stem.

Now, whether or not these could be called flowers, I do not know, as I have always thought that they were seeds.
The bees however, were all over them and seemed to be really enjoying them.
The strange thing was that the bees did this for just one day and the next day, there was no sign of any bees.

This has really intrigued me - perhaps someone can explain to me what the bees were getting from the seeds/flowers?

Sort:  

I have no idea, but I have seen bees do funny things like too

The mystery of bees. Lol

Liz, I'd imagine that the grass's pollen is brown and that's what the bees were after :D

You are probably right.

Perhaps they are sucking the dew off the grass, @lizziesworld. Just a wild guess, and it can be true. 😃 Because bees also need to drink water from time to time, and maybe their source of water is from the dew in the grass.

That is something I had not thought of and could well be correct as it was in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28