Ulog # 5: Gloomy Skies and Brilliant Sunsets (A Metaphor For Life)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

"In the wide canvass of the skies, there are parts that bleed of beauty while some are shrouded in gloom.
And maybe, maybe that says parts of us can still be beautiful despite the darkness we carry.
Maybe it doesn’t always have to be singular, after all, there’s poetry in both beauty and madness."

Hello, Steemit universe! Are you ready to see some cool sunset pics? I hope you are.

See, yesterday wasn't such a good day. Some dark thoughts were raining down on me, and I had to take time off to face the storm. One thing I do during these times is to go to the beach. I'm quite lucky since the Island Garden City of Samal is just next to Davao, and barges travel forth and back round the clock.

At around 5 pm, I decided to go the Sasa Wharf to chill out at Camp Holiday. I always choose that one since that is the one nearest to the port. It was around 5:30 when I arrived at the wharf and fortunately was able to board immediately. I was still quite melancholic then and was looking to my right, the skies were gloomy and that just seemed to fit my mood.

Seeing this, I was expecting the rest of the sunset to go by that way, just blue and gloomy. Fortunately, when I looked to the seat in front of me (I was seated at the second row), there was a cute baby who was looking at me with interest. I have an adoration for babies, I really, really find them cute. So I played with the baby and decided to make faces at it. However, it must have gotten scared and began to cry. Not wanting to be caught by the parents as the reason why baby girl was crying, I looked up and saw that the sky had started to display interesting colors.

I smiled and remained watching the sky as it transformed into this:

I was no longer satisfied with my vantage point and decided to get up to get a better view. I was thus rewarded with the following magnificence.

In a metaphorical sense, the first image of gloomy skies was like the inherent darkness I seem to carry. My girlfriend though, she is the one that brought colors to the skies. The quote I placed above is the quote I posted this with on another social media site, and that holds true. The two views coexisted, the skies were no less gloomy, but the sunset was also no less brilliant. I was no less sad, but also no less loved.

There is magic in sunsets, to me, that has always held an echo of magic. A thing of pure beauty that does not ask for anything in return, a thing of beauty that has never needed our attention for it to exist. It's just there, bleeding beauty before darkness swallows the world again.

PS:
This is a bit serious in tone, still, I hope you enjoyed reading it. And, I'm looking forward to sharing more sunsets with you guys. And the pics are just taken on my phone so yeah, it could be better. I'm not really into photography, just someone who deeply loves the sunset and wants to share it with others too.

#Ulogging is really fun by the way, suits my rambling style. So, a huge thank youuuuuuuuuuuu to @surpassinggoogle for this initiative. Hopefully I can get better at this. And, I sincerely hope you enjoyed the sunset!

Till next time. bows in reverence and cartwheels towards the beach

Sort:  

this post is Upvoted and resteem

all member have upvoted this post using steemitdavao trail.

steem on, keep steeming.

Omo. You guys are amazing. Thank you! Will do. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31