#Ulog Episode 3: Should I Let my Job Go?

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


In the past days, a lot of things happened. Some were good... some weren't acceptable but I have to accept and move on. We experience good times and bad times. Though bad times aren't that really nice to tackle about, I would like to share with everyone how I feel whenever I am dispirited.

If you have been reading my blogs every now and again, then you should know that I am a home-based online English Tutor. Ever since I was a grader, I wished to become a teacher just like a lot of kids wishes, "I'd like to become my favorite teacher.". Because I am always an expectant and persistent person even with a lot of trials and apprehensive decisions I made.

YES! I become as what I have expected.

Now, I have been working in ABC360 company for more than 2 years now as an online English tutor. For the past year and months, everything was smooth. I didn't have any complaints and worries. With all the good management, great superiors and good compensation and incentives, though sometimes during Chinese festivals, my wage is very much affected but that didn't bother me to think twice about my company. I think my company is the best compared to others out there.

Recently, the company management changed so as the policy. They've made a lot of changes with the policy that I disagree the most "fixed schedule". The reason I quit my former job is that I want to comfortably plan out my schedule when I would like to teach. But the company's new policy "bind class" can't give me the freedom to just easily close my schedule if there's an emergency that might occur. Of course, it isn't bad at all. They give a compensation for the teacher's accumulation rate of the bind class which is an additional income for the teacher. But my issue is, I lost my freedom to comfortably close my open slots in case of sudden emergency.

14900374_1284549418264052_3862259360139786665_n.jpg

Power outage happens almost every day in the countryside but I still need to teach. I need to be a responsible teacher. Haha



Because of this new policy, my rate last month in our performance chart was one of the lowest. Although, I have a lot of booked classes that still can't compensate my rating since I've got 0 in the 25% bind class. That's because I didn't accept the bind class offer and because I prefer to just work 5 hours a day. Thus, the performance rating end of this month can determine whether the company will still linger or terminate me. Yes. A performance rating can damage a teacher's position in the company. Although, I gave good performances during the classes and I have regular students if I don't meet the company's rating then I better say "goodbye". After all, everything is just business. It's not really about how responsible and loyal you are to the company. It's mainly about how many classes you can handle and how long can you work in a day.

19092599_1521591991226459_5514654513100022725_o.jpg

I have to act like cute sometimes. LOL



The comfort of teaching within your home might exist but not entirely. A Filipino teacher can gain good pay if they work longer hours every day. ESL Home-based companies still prefer teachers who can cater longer hours.

I also notice how low the bookings are in the past weeks in my company. I feel that there might be something wrong but I am not sure what it is. I have a feeling that it might be the company's teaching software that has been gaining a lot of complaints from teachers and students. Oh well, I am really in doubt now whether I should still continue with the company or just move on and find a new one.


What can you advice?


That's all for today's #ulog story.



Remember to always be optimistic whatever you are going through right now. Everything has its ending. There is no problem that's forever.

DQmcL26kK8mGJMgKE6we25qo5Fr7SYjkts1gQpkQ5g3rAvt_1680x8400.png
Support @Surpassinggoogle by creating your own #ulog and #steemgigs now. If you haven't heard of it, read ulogs blog about it.

Note:

All pictures used are taken and edited by @loudetteiam.

DQmcL26kK8mGJMgKE6we25qo5Fr7SYjkts1gQpkQ5g3rAvt_1680x8400.png

If you haven't read my #ulog stories, you can check them here.



#Ulog Episode 1: A Random Saturday
#Ulog Episode 2: Jollibee Made me Happy and I also Learned Something New Today

Simple+Divider.png


Spread LOVE!



Loving you all, Steemians.

Loudette 😘

Sort:  

@loudetteiam, thank you for using #gratitudecuration. Your posts was resteemed, curated and comments were upvoted with 100% voting power. Keep showing gratitude. Follow link to this week's curation https://steemit.com/ulogs/@uyobong/ulogs-i-started-curating-gratitudecuration-posts-and-ulogs-still-on-my-give-back-project Inform our friends to join.

Wow! This is really a great project Sir.

Great Post! I also value Freedom and it's the main reason I have been working at home for 3 years now. I wish you the best of luck on your decision-making.

Freedom with jobs in our country Sir is still a scarcity and sometimes condemn by a lot of conservative people. Great thing you choose the best thing for you, Sir. Best luck to you, too.

My first advice as an HR personnel is to talk to your HR or management and air out these thoughts.

First they might not be aware of the problem or they might know but their hands are tied especially if the big bosses.

2nd review the changes in policy and talk to them about it. Just reading it shows how much anti freelance it is as it sets rigid restrains and if you are not confirming then it hinders your performance assessment even if you do well.

Lastly if ever you decide to leave always have a back up plan in place. You should have a job that you will accept or have at least 6 months worth of savings.

These are really great advice.

I have talked to my superior about my sentiment in the matter. She knew it though I feel like she didn't understand really well my point probably because of the language barrier. But I'll decide at the end of this month or next month.

Luckily, I am in a small town which I think I don't really need to have at least 6 months worth of savings but of course, this plan is totally great if applying in another home-based company won't work out. Thank you so much for the great advice, @maverickinvictus. :)

No problem you know I am always here to help :)

that the best advice ever

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by loudetteiam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87