(100% FUNraising Post #14) ~~ #ulog 22: Beans & Beautiful Flowers

in #ulog6 years ago

STEEM, SBD and STEEM Power will go to @friendsofgondor! Thank you for everything you do, you've changed so many lives for the better 💖

I'm Harvesting Beans Daily Now!

Photo on 2018-07-30 at 5.08 PM #2.jpg

Our garden has more than enough to eat them with dinner every day. We've been in a bit of a drought lately, and I keep waiting for a nice big rainstorm to go and start planting my second batch of green and yellow beans. Why wait for the rain? Because I'm a lazy gardener! Why do work that Mother Nature will gladly do in her own time?

Photo on 2018-07-30 at 5.08 PM.jpg

Let's See What's Blooming!

IMG_9178.JPG

I wait all year for this sweet plant. Hollyhock. The bee's best friend.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 11.37.41 AM.png

It spreads seeds like crazy too, but none were able to grow into a flowering plant, all I could get from the seeds last year were foliage. The reason this hollyhock even grew was because we used to have a greenhouse where it is, and over the years it's grown such strong and deep roots that it comes back every year even in our cool climate.

IMG_9182.JPG

Most of the poppies have finished blooming now, but that was just the appetizer...

IMG_9189.JPG

All of the greenish grey round balls you see are the seed pods for the poppies, when they turn dark brown they are ready. I save and share as many seeds as I can, and I'm really getting an abundance now. If you live in Canada, contact me if you'd like any seeds for flowers or veg.

IMG_9191.JPG

The purple, pink and white flowers are my all time favourite, the cosmo. I love them because they remind me of happy times in childhood, my mother grew them only one year, but they grew so tall, way up to our living room window and I loved looking out that window seeing them floating around in the wind.

IMG_9192.JPG

I planted a tonne of sunflower seeds this year, but only a few have grown. It's like my garden decides on its own what it wants to do. Last year it was a field of cosmos and sunflowers. This year it really wanted to grow a lot of poppies. I have been letting seeds scatter as they may, so nature has decided what flowers it wants this year. I'm happy either way, it's beautiful!

IMG_9188.JPG

That is my main Brown Eyed Susan plant. I started with it 4 years ago, and since it has spread so many seeds, I have little Susans popping up all over the place! Many haven't even bloomed yet, more photos will be coming. They are a flower that lasts a long time once it blooms, I have them into October.

IMG_9186.JPG

Queen Anne's Lace. I have this growing everywhere this year. I've never seen so much of it in my life, our backyard is brimming with it. I thought to look up the symbolism of this flower, what message it has for me and my search came up with this: In the language of flowers, Queen Anne’s Lace represents sanctuary.

IMG_9194.JPG

Unfortunately the lilies are almost done now, I regret not photographing them while they were in their glory.

IMG_9195.JPG

Lastly, my little lettuce, beans and squash patch, that still needs more weeding. In the center of the photo you can see a teeny tiny little cosmo. Go little guy go!

That concludes #FUNraiser 14, I hope you enjoyed today's #Ulog Beautiful STEEM FAM! Here are my previous FUNraisers:

FUNraiser #1 Raised $81.04 for @familyprotection

FUNraiser #2 Raised $13.78 for @schoolforsdg4

FUNraiser #3 Raised $47.88 for @comedyopenmic

FUNraiser #4 Raised $36.60 for @cecicastor

FUNraiser #5 Raised $28.05 for @fishyculture

FUNraiser #6 Raised $40.44 for @adollaraday

FUNraiser #7 Raised $21.09 for @phoenixwren

FUNraiser #8 Raised $13.82 for #OpHumanAngels contributors

FUNraiser #9 Raised $18.61 $0.00 for @familyprotection (Flagged on Day 7)

FUNraiser #10 Raised $27.38 $0.00 for @phoenixwren (Flagged on Day 7)

FUNraiser #11 Raised $27.66 $0.00 for @adollaraday (Flagged on Day 7)

FUNraiser #12 Raised $61.10 $0.00 for @openmic (Flagged on Day 7)

FUNraiser #13 Raised ?? for @schoolforsdg4 (Flagged Immediately, still 1 day to vote on it! It's at approximately minus $5.00 right now)

Note: I will still be donating to the causes that have had their #FUNraisers flagged. In one more day I will have the funds.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 11.56.48 AM.png

Sort:  

You will have many bean dishes for lunch/dinner! We had an abundance of squash last year. I stopped eating squash for a year after that, hehe.

Absolutely love the wildflowers. Mix flowers are gorgeous, more so than the elegant and exotic flowers, imo.

I hope this post makes it to payout. FOG is a great initiative, and so are all the other ones you supported. Crossing my fingers!

I hear you on the squash haha, I'm going to have an abundance of it soon, but it sure does keep well through the winter! I even had a summer squash last months and months before it started turning yellow.

<3 ~ <3 ~ <3 Love Waves Sent to Beautiful @beeyou!!!

Squash and beans, oh boy, hope your family loves them!

I'm the one in the back, cheering as you, FTG, and others engage in all this fun on the blockchain. :)

@fulltimeangel be like:

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 4.26.36 PM.png

I love meme/giphy conversations. It beats all this writing stuff, sometime. :)

100% UV & RS.

Beautiful flowers.. I like the sunflowers best tho

Thank you Dave!

I hope all those sunflower seeds I planted either fed some birds, or all bloom next year <3

We love the work you do lyndsay!!

Big love and respect I have for you too beautiful @canna-curate!

a lazy gardener - cute words;))
nd you're right, it;s better to wait than to work!

so juicy beans! omnomnom;)

we've planted so many seeds too, but only a few have grown! the same!
it seems to me they sell bad seeds! on purpose! to make people buy more and more, or seeds now are weak in general..;(

dear, don't say you're going to leave Steemit..
you're making power down...nono! i don't want you to go!;((
or maybe you just need some money for some purposes?

Aw, I'm sorry that the seeds you are getting are so terrible! Do you buy heirloom seeds?

I will be here as long as the blockchain exists @taliakerch <3 Powering down for 1 week, to be able to pay the STEEM Power portion of the post rewards to the charities/causes.

<3 STEEM On Beautiful SiSTAR!!

ahh, ffuuuh, I'm calm now;) you're here;)
blockchain is immortal I suppose;)
all discuss the latest news about btc now, I understand little about it, but the price has fallen so for now the news isn't good as far as I see;(

but we do love Steemit, so we believe in better;)

sorry, Sis, what do you mean "heirloom seeds"? the translator says: a valuable object that has belonged to a family for several generations.

we buy seeds in the market, and many gardeners have the same problem - they don't grow;( my dad has planted many of cucumbers, and only 30% have grown..;(

Heirloom seeds are old-time varieties, open-pollinated instead of hybrid, and saved and handed down through multiple generations of families.

Short article about them.

WOW
BEANS everyday... that's great!
I have harvested twice.. just for daily use so far as I only have four plants. Some are drying out on the vine now but there's still quite a few blossoms on the vines.. hoping for a second good harvest. I want to try and make some refrigerated dilly beans.

Yum yum!! Dilly beans <3 <3 Those sound amazing, we've made a few batches like that but with cayenne peppers in too, spicy beans!

Good luck on your second harvest GoldenDawne!

I need to start a garden of my own, my main problem atm is starting a garden in the middle of the summer when it's 40-50ºC out, i would probably get toasted and the plants i planted would get toasted too... Still, i really need to get some time to do make my own garden, some strawberry, tomatos, etc...

Oh my goodness...yeah...I have no clue what it would be like to grow in a zone like that...what are your winters like?

My winters are mostly between 0-10ºC... oh and the humidity in the air during the summer is between 0-20%, i actually got 50ºC last weekend with 10% humidity in the air! Couldn't get out of the house, not even the AC was able to counteract the damn heat!

Sounds like it's more than possible to start a garden there in September then?

Maybe maybe, I'm going to try in september to grow some stuff, maybe inside the house on some pots where the air is cooler...

Your garden is so pretty!! We stopped planting the poppy seeds as the birds ate all the seeds before the seed pods turned brown :D It is nice to feed them but it was a bit of waste of our time at the end.

Nature is so powerful! You can plant as many seeds as you want but if your garden decides that there will be no sunflowers then there will be no of them :)

Aww haha well I'm sure those were some Happy birdies!! :)

A funny story: My Gramma told me one time, everyone used to ask her how she dealt with 8 children, how they were all so happy: and she said, I fed them lots of poppy seeds! LOL!!

That is good tip! :D We were planting them for YEARS but then it really didn't make sense but as you said those where some happy birdies :D

Your flowers are so gorgeous! It is the brown time of year around here... lol!

Noooooooooooooooooooo not brown time! That sounds utterly dreadful @fishyculture :(

I love your fields of flowers! There is just so much beauty. Your town must love your yarden. 💚

I'm sure I absconded with it from somebody else somewhere. 😀

im so happy to see this post paid out!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77