#ulog 11: The First Week of Summer Vacation With My Boys is Bubbling With Awesome

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I'm super blessed to be able to stay at home...

And even though sometimes there are challenges (like breaking up 20 fights a day), most of the time Kiedis, Stryder and I just utterly chill and enjoy every drop of sunshine, water, and freezy that there is. Bring it on!

IMG_7998.JPG

Don't forget the bubbles...

IMG_7992.JPG

It's Freezy Season

These are the huge ones, they don't get these every day, but they do get a little freezy every day. A great way to cool down, and then when they are hyper from the sugar, they can just wear themselves out running around outside or playing in the ocean.

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 10.57.31 PM.png

@alivefoxdeadfox is a very serious freezy eater.

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 10.57.09 PM.png

@kiedisbowes chilling out.

IMG_7989.JPG

They just look so sweet in that photo...

@hendrix22 & I Devised A New Way to Cook Buns in the Summer...

IMG_7991.JPG

No more having the oven on heating the house up, the barbeque worked like a charm. Yes there is a little burned edge on a couple and those are mine damnit 😂 I love slightly burned bread products. My only question is why the hell didn't we think of this sooner?

IMG_8008.JPG

I Keep Forgetting to Tell You Guys...

My little trooper of an orchid bloomed! The stem isn't very long, but she did it b'ys!

IMG_8111.JPG

Perfection

IMG_8112.JPG

Okay, While I'm Showing You Flowers I May As Well Take You Outside 😍...

IMG_8088.JPG

The very first cosmo. My favourite flowers, sometimes they can reach up to 10 feet tall. This one is a super tiny early bloomer, I love it!

IMG_8091.JPG

A wild pansy growing in my cosmo/sunflower/pea/poppy jungle, I'll take it! What a lovely volunteer 💚

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 11.43.53 PM.png

The cosmo/sunflower/pea/poppy jungle.

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 11.44.22 PM.png

A Lot of Flowers Blooming at the Church Too

IMG_8081.JPG

IMG_8082.JPG

IMG_8064.JPG

The Bestest Part of Summer

IMG_8092.JPG

The ocean in our backyard.

IMG_8096.JPG

Endless fun for boys.

IMG_8097.JPG

IMG_8105.JPG

Swimming & basking on the warm rocks.

IMG_8107.JPG

And Edgar Joins Us For Picnics & Relaxing in the Shade

IMG_8109.JPG

In between hunting expeditions of course...🐀

IMG_8110.JPG

I'll Leave You With A Video

The boys playing the game of who can go in deeper and is brave enough to swim. This is the routine every time we get down there. They're always so afraid to get wet at first and once they finally get in you can't get em out.


(Video 3:17)

Sort:  

Love your jungle of flowers! My neighbour calls mine Jurassic Park! LOL Glad to see the boys having so much fun. How is the water? Col? Here the Pacific right now is about 28 degrees. The weather has been really hot. We are at 115 today with the humidex. Should have asked Mama Castor how she cooks these days. My kitchen is much too hot to cook in (for this many people) so I do everything on the BBQ or over an open fire or a pit with coals. At least the heat is outside! Try baking the bread up a few more inches from the flame. Then the bottom won't burn. I too like the toasted bits but not everyone does! Happy to see Edgar out and about enjoying life again...

I could only imagine your Jurassic Park Ceci...I bet it's just GRAND!

Yeah the water here is pretty cool, but not when you're a kid, or an adult who has drank some beers hahaha :) Mmm...your bbq's and cook outs sound delightful...!! Food don't get much better than that...!

I may have to move the BBQ over to the rancho area for cover. When it rains here it just pours and usually for anywhere from 2 to 4 hours. Tend to put a damper on the coals...

Sounds like a plan, don't need any more headaches around there!

I am so very happy about your orchid blooming! It made my day to read about it. I was just talking to my wife about maybe being ready to buy another orchid for my home office.

Let me just say that if it were not for freezies and pixy sticks, I may not be the man I am today. Surely I would not have survived the blistering summers of my southern youth without the healing powers of freezies and flavored powdered sugar!

Go for it, the orchid spirits calleth!

Let me just say that if it were not for freezies and pixy sticks, I may not be the man I am today...

You're too funny, you could do the #comedyopenmic! 💜 I always crack up at your descriptions.

Your front yard has bloomed up quite well. Sweet video! I wasnt sure if lil man marion was gonna jump in but he did 😂!

ok that is funny.

That is so cute hahaha ☺ Little Marion...indeed!

What a lovely Summer day. It's pretty much the same round here, only we don't have the laughter of children, which is sort of too bad. But, what can you do, right?

Love the flower pictures. The church pictures included some sweetpeas, I see. I love sweetpeas. I always try to plant a few each Spring, the scent is amazing when they bloom.

My day lilies aren't blooming yet, so we must be a bit behind you. We have had a nice cool Spring early Summer, so that might be it. Though this week has been SO hot for us and I don't like it.

Great swimming! He was ripping! :) Love it.

Mmm I wish I could have pancakes for lunch...eat extra for me!

Yeah I haven't seen any other lilies blooming, I think they brought those in from some fancy greenhouse hahaha! Are you guys roasting today? We're just dying here, massive heat wave right now!

Another slice of bowes heaven Lyndsay .. everything looks so alive now and that orchid looks amazing, so delicate and perfect. It must be brilliant for the boys to have the ocean so close, I imagine they'll grow to be strong swimmers! .. I bet that sea air smells amazing in the morning! Another beautiful post @lyndsaybowes thank you for sharing!!

Yesssss it does smell absolutely amazing, all of the wild roses are out now and when I go outside in the morning it almost knocks me over!! Thank you for visiting us my friend!

Great ulog! Happy 4th.

Enjoy it while we all can! It’ll start to get cold again in less than two months!

Yeah, at least in Nova Scotia we can still be in the ocean in October, Oct is like a summer month here. Even Nov and Dec aren't that bad, but FML jan-march is the shits.

Don’t have much sympathy for you. I’m in Edmonton!

I know eh lolol :) I lived there for 8 years 😂 and before that I lived in Calgary and PG. Enough of the shitty everlasting winters!

You lived in Prince George, too? I did from 1995-2002. I wish I could forget those years.

😂 😂 😂 I'm the whole country away from there and it's still not far enough...

Yeah, northern BC is a pretty depressing place. It was double digit unemployment when I left when I was in my early 20s.

@lyndsaybowes, Such a glorious bubbles there. Adorable blooming flowers everywhere. It's looks like fashion of the art. Orchids pretty beauty. Both kids got fun swimming & basking. Edgar looks funny in relax bed. Nice expression.

Thanks Madushanka, and tomorrow I will have an exclusive report on the #chickenbitchez for you 😉

Haha! Awesome video of the boys in the water!! Happy Day your orchid bloomed! Glad i caught this special happening! What gorgeous flowers (all of them but esp the orchids!) Great Ulog Lynds ❤❤

Aww, thanks for the flower lovin' solidarity beautiful SiSTAR ⭐ I hope you all are staying cool this summer!

Likewise Flower Sistar! Omg! It was so cold at horse camp yesterday i had to wear my jean jacket over my wind/ rain coat. And, my one mitt left in the truck from winter! LOL my pup is a great warmer too! Here we are getting out of a short rain shower! But, i did get sun burn on my blindingly white legs the previous day. They insisted on being in the sun for a change. It's looking like more rainy weather today but 30 tomorrow! Such a roller coaster here! It must be nice and hot at Hackett's Cove? (That's where you live right!??) Cookin' on the bbq is the best! I thought maybe you'd built a solar oven. Have you ever tried one? Mountain Jewel just did a post on one! So cool!

20180703_120028.jpg

I'll check out her post, sounds pretty awesome.

I bet today was pretty humid there, did it get to 30? We've been having a nice hot spell here, and rains in between as well, I haven't really had to water my garden! Just perfect xo

So much fun watching them romp. My are they ever getting big now . Bring all that water stuff and buns and eggs. xx Wow for the orchid.

Check, check and check!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30