Art on Index Cards for 61 Days - Ulog # 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Woah! This ended up eating my day! Or my day ate it. At any point, this is about my day and the last week. Photography edits and Link research is my downfall because ... oh look ... there ... oh wait uh so ... let's get into it.

Sooo I was scrolling through my YouTube feed, looking to see who's been banned lately and I found that Mixed Media Jenn had a video up Index Card A Day, Day Two (link goes to her video).

I jumped! Wow the memories. And Wow the art supplies still packed away for THREE YEARS!

I did a quick refresh on the rules to make sure nothing has changed. Yep. It's still wildly wide open as for as the rules go. But there are a few rules. The first being that the art has to be done on an index card no larger than 4x6. There are scads of prompts though so do go visit the Daisy Yellow web site.

The 8th Annual ICAD Challenge runs from June 1-July 31, 2018. To quote Tammy (the lady behind # dyicad2018):

This is not an art competition.
It's a creative challenge.
Can you create something on
an index card every day
for 61 days? I bet you can.

Here's the real shocker! This challenge isn't happening on Steemit -- except right here. (as far as I can find) You can fix that, you can also start participating in the DYICAD2018 and come back and let me know you have joined in the challenge and! leave a link here ! to your card. If you want to participate in the official groups, also, Tammy has some on Facebook, Instagram, et al. Personally, I'm not sure I can recall my logins to those places. I do intend to drop Tammy an email though just to let her know at least one little birdy is a rebel bird over in the STEEM world.

So! I don't really need my art supplies. I need to do what I've been tempted to do for the last 3 summers. A ZenTangle or tangle or paisley or doodle a day. I mean Yehovah* knows I have way more than enough Pinterest boards filled with step-out instructions for Tangles, Paisley, Line drawing / doodle, and OpArt

While I was instantly inspired and it was very early in the morning, I chose 3x5's even though I did actually find a few of each size. I've gotten a fresh (cheap) pack since then. Which is rather obvious in the color difference between the cards.

Designs that are symmetrical, give me all kinds of grief. I adapted this pattern and just let it be all kinds of inconsistent. I'm going to admit, I've decided I'm perfectly fine with that. In today's focus on whimsy, it's really rather hard to be wrong.

Do you know what the odd little scratchings on the card are? Does it sort of look like an odd language? Yell if you know. Ask if you don't know.

More Doodling didn't happen until late on the Sabbath. I'll probably continue to spend Sabbath doodling. There's so much other pressing, hard, manual labor based work to do the rest of the week -- in addition to Steemit.

So while I was photographing my cards today, my husband's tools snuck into the photo. They were still on the table from the computer fixes.

And the photo turned out kind of dark and moody so I took it into PicsArt to, you know, just adjust the contrasts and curvatures but a # funkyedits happened. (a tag started by @tatoodjay)

Then it started insisting on being part of Monochrome Monday - a challenge run by @old-guy-photos. His Monochrome Monday for today is also a Mystery guessing game. I didn't get it until the very last photo. See if you can do better. Also, If you make an entry for Monochrome Monday, leave a link on his post.

Okay. I'm calling it done! Stick a fork ... never mind ... hand me an icing spatula !!! My husband is enjoying his comp day off by cooking ... I'm enjoying that too! Although, I'm feeling this distinct buzzing ... sugar?

*If you're wondering who this Yehovah is, please read: Yehovah: A detail that shook my religion and changed my conversation with God.

If you are a random visitor, if you don't leave a comment, I won't know you're real. It doesn't matter if you can't upvote. Don't fall for that BS. Please, Leave a comment. I don't follow anyone who doesn't leave a comment.

If you are a member of @SteemitMamas, @SteemUSA OR if you are participating in @Ulogs OR FunkyEdits OR MonochromeMonday OR DYICAD2018 ...

  1. Feel free to leave a comment telling me how inspirational my writing is (or isn't) ;-)

  2. AND THEN you can also tell me what you've written about lately. LEAVE a LINK. Live large, break the "rules" (here).

  3. And who knows, then I might like what you write and follow you around, too.

  • Plus!!! Do you know that I reward good comments?

But Wait! There's more! Check out these great groups!


@ulogs: Member Posts, Discord

20180516_002249_0001.png

@SteemitMamas: Member Posts, Discord

footer SteemUSA & Isle of Write

@SteemUSA: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @BearOne Arly

@IsleofWrite: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @PegasusPhysics


8th Annual ICAD Challenge

If you don't leave a comment I won't know you're real

Above all, seriously, cut through the bot line and let me know you're real ! !

Sort:  

These are really creative and beautiful sketches. Thumbs up to the artists.

Thank you. I've had fun collecting these patterns for years. I think perhaps it's time to play with them for awhile :-D

Thank you for sharing with us about the ICAD challenge! I think it’s a very good idea and so cool that you are introducing it to Steemit.

Your sketches are beautiful! The images remind me of those adult coloring books...meaning I would love to color them right now lol! Very intriguing and unique. I’m not sure what the odd scratching mean but it’s very pretty! I even like the edits that you added at the end. Thanks for being you and making us laugh too, I love how you add comical moments in your posts :D

Loading...

I can see why you were curated by @steemitmamas for your cards. They came out really nice.

Your husband sounds like a happy jolly man, feeding you sweets and sugar.

He might be also focused at the moment. He's looking to see if he can find a number of ways to uhh make income changes before the current job kills him. So. Option 1 death by sitting too long while under stress or Option 2 death by sugar .... lol

Maybe he can be a baker...lol.

It might be an option. Kentucky actually allows for small batch home production of foods. Being the guinea pig is rough though let me tell ya! ;-)

! I do not draw much these days. I’ve always been a very slow at creating art. I can spend day(s) on a single piece of standard paper if not longer.

I can see you enjoy creating the finer detail in things as well. I really like how you just focused on the object and did not try to get to busy with a backdrop. I’m always trying add to many things and then it just becomes all muddle together and hard to see.

I wish you luck on this challenge!

Zentangle, the official version, can very easily lead to a page full of detailed squigglies. But when I ran across the work by A Little Lime, I became totally sold on the perks of white space!

Also, I just want to try conquering quite a few patterns. So I'm more into the practice of it than the production. I do hope to find my coloring pencils and water colors before long, though.

I'm seriously thinking of turning my back room into some sort of "minimalism" challenge or something. It's awful! And somewhere in there is all my art supplies ... under garden supplies ... under stuff that's not been unpacked from the last move ... under stuff that came out of the storage unit that moved to Kentucky with us six years ago. I hope for your sake that you do not relate! ;-)

Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy your company :-)

OMG Thank you for this post!!!

I have been wanting to draw..well I cannot draw but the index cards thingy sounds like something I could maybe handle and it would be fun to see how you would progress!!!

Congratulations on your first Ulog too!!! I SO love writing mine and all they stand for. I get excited when I see new people trying them too :D

Have you been to Steemgigs discord server to hear @surpassinggoogle talk on Saturdays? If you have not you should!!! He is a very interesting man to listen too and the meeting and after party are a blast!! :D

Shopping list now made for tomorrow :D stuff to draw with and index cards!! Thank You!!

Oh Snook! I'm not any good at drawing! None. Well once in 6th grade lol. Long story.

But even I can follow all those step-outs. And ... shh ... don't tell anyone but a lot of the patterns are rather fractal like ;-)

I would love to have company with the index card fun! I've seen people still straggling in with their completed packs of 61 in August and September. Although, I'd really rather not take that long. Well, knowing me, I'll just stop and not go to 61 when July 31 comes around.

I've read some of @surpassinggoogle's blog posts. I can tell he's fired up and it's fun to see. He reminds me of when I was young and I would throw 2000 words at something / someone hoping that the words would move mountains. Sometimes they did. LOL Usually I wore people out. I've been a @surpassinggoogle fan for a bit. I joined his server when he was attempting to get Steemgigs up and running and a certain someone ran in behind him and tried to undermine the organic nature of it all.

Which brings me to why I'm a fan of Ulog. As I've looked in on the tag several days here and there, it's so refreshing. It's blogging 2006 right before the corporate idiots came in and made it all stuffy and felt the need to smack down the mommy bloggers and parent bloggers and people who were just telling their stories bloggers.

#Ulog and #Ulogs are a beautiful cacophony of life that blends into a breathtaking opera!

@surpassinggoogle is somehow getting people to understand that their very own life is fascinating to people all over the world -- fascinating to people who do not experience life in exactly the same way but yet share the human experience. That is what life is all about ... the telling of the stories.

Blogging that just disperses facts is as boring as hell and is not a blog. It's a research website for the myopic.

Hmm not that I have any opinions on this mind you.

Anyway I might be getting near my 2000 words here. So, let me conclude.

We observe Saturday as Sabbath and I try very hard not to think about Steemit. I find it helpful to my brain to give it a complete break. So, no I'll not be joining in on the Saturday show. Although, It is tempting to consider giving an occasional visit. Probably not until winter. Summer is also physically draining. There's a whole lot of Sabbath sleeping at my house in the summer ;-)

Thank you for inviting me to join in on Saturday and thank you for letting me know you're inspired! I am really interested to see where you take your experiments!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

You are awesome and so freeeeeking inspirational.
I bought a sketch pad severval days ago but it is still emply.
Ever since my set back I am afraid of doing art,
as it so difficult for me, now.
I took everything for granted.
I have lots of cards so this can be done and I can post them
and then give them away to inspire others.
T HA N K . . .Y O U !

Loading...

My Ulog #2 can be located here: Freewrite: The Room I am In follwed by my Ulog #2 and my last fractal is A Fractal Friday

Nice art, and I love how your writings are so conversational! Not forgetting your sense of humor too haha! Xx

Cool ideas are always day eaters! Wish I could remember the little bit of shorthand I learned in school, didn't pay attention much if at all!!
I really liked the way the text squiggled!
So much art to make, so little time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13