Freewrite: The Room I am In follwed by my Ulog #2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I love technology -- Until I don't! You will see why.
Let's start with the fact that SimpleNote failed to create a note and just dumped my freewrite, yesterday. Yes. The freewrite which had attached to it a chance for a prize. I almost gave up and went to bed. Then I stayed awake until 2am writing comments. Fixing other people's lives is so satisfying ;-) I don't know how they feel about it but ... ON to the Freewrite Rewrite.

ThroughtheScreen

The Room I am In.

Sitting by the open window I hear
Falling rain
Rushing of the rising creek
Blue Jays squawking
A passing car
A distant train

Leaking in from the front porch
Mrs. Kitty McKitty's complaining meow
Purr Bucket eating her food and his.

Kitty Complaining

From the rest of the house
Almost quiet but
A whirring fan
A clicking fan

I feel
The breeze against my arm and face
Carpet beneath my feet
A warm wooden table under my hands
The satisfying response from the keyboard

I see
My coffee mug
Pencil
Phone
Journal
Index Cards
Tools of my trade

I see
Lightning flash
A power blip
A message on my Windows:
Scanning and Repairing Drive H: 2% complete

message on my windows

And that was that. Five minutes.

It helps that this process of listing my surroundings is actually one of my little lesser used tricks for getting my brain to settle into one space. I really should do it more often. The fact that I am practiced at this also helped me do the rewrite from memory and possibly quicker.

I will admit. I did take poetic license with the last portion. I couldn't resist. The lightning and power blip (fast failure/recovery) happened earlier in the day not while I was writing. And I don't think the hard drive recovery had anything to do with the blip. My PC is on an UPS and it went right to work. Plus my PC wasn't on at that time. This has happened a time or two before. I figure it's time to do a complete backup again and prepare the budget for another hit.

I did however take the photo of Windows to include it in my Ublog.

Kitty's photo I took right after the Freewrite because she came to complain (more) while I was taking the photo of the very wet front yard. She barely tolerates Purr Bucket. It's probably just as well that he only comes by every 10 to 14 days. I always never expect to see him again. He's a bad looking old cat who is a miracle. So, it's always a joy to see him again.

Okay. I've got to do some sort of housework today. And spend some money. I'm going to join Gillian Perkins' Startup Society. I'll report back with a review. I like her YouTube videos though. I think my husband is going to join the Purple Monkey University in a month or two. He'll have a review if I tie him to a chair, video tape his inquisition, steal his keys and upload to DTube under his account. Sad but true. He'd rather repair the cars and work in the yard or walk the dogs or make lemon curd cheesecake with shortbread crust.

For the rest of my current thoughts on Mr. @surpassinggoogle, writing ulogs and personal blogs, art therapy as medical advice, and my revisionist history writings, I strongly advise you to review the comment section of my first ulog. Those threads have taken on a life of their own.

If you are a random visitor, if you don't leave a comment, I won't know you're real. It doesn't matter if you can't upvote. Don't fall for that BS. Please, Leave a comment. I don't follow anyone who doesn't leave a comment.

If you are a member of @SteemitMamas or SteemUSA OR if you are participating in Ulogs OR FunkyEdits OR DYICAD2018 ...

  1. Feel free to leave a comment telling me how inspirational my writing is (or isn't) ;-)

  2. AND THEN you can also tell me what you've written about lately. LEAVE a LINK. Live large, break the "rules" (here).

  3. And who knows, then I might like what you write and follow you around, too.

  • Plus!!! Do you know that I reward good comments?

But Wait! There's more! Check out these great groups!

@mariannewest

@mariannewest started and maintains the Five Minute Freewrite. She allows time travel. So, if today's prompt doesn't cause a spark, look at yesterday's. You can always find the current prompt by checking her profile.

This particular freewrite was inspired by: Day 236: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: describe the room you are in.
See The Latest Freewrites by others.

Quite a community revolves around the Freewrite Prompts. So. @freewritehouse was born. There's all kinds of fun always. Plus there are Freewrite curations and interviews. Many Discord servers revolving around STEEM have a separate channel for promoting Freewrites but the Isle of Write hosts the Freewrite Retreat. (see below)


@ulogs: Member Posts, Discord

20180516_002249_0001.png

@SteemitMamas: Member Posts, Discord

footer SteemUSA & Isle of Write

@SteemUSA: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @BearOne Arly

@IsleofWrite: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @PegasusPhysics


8th Annual ICAD Challenge

If you don't leave a comment I won't know you're real

Above all, seriously, cut through the bot line and let me know you're real ! !

Sort:  

I think in another lifetime I would have just loved being a blacksmith or living in the middle of nowhere with and just enjoy the simple things of life. Building things with my hands and just being happy to do so.

Electronics just in general keep becoming more frustrating and time consuming as they get more intertwined in our lives. They claim to make them easier yet every day there always something going on! We have never been so connected yet so alone in our own lives. Everything shared to the masses yet less in person human contact.

I'm not quite sure what path in life has lead me to sending so much time in front of electronic devices. I sometimes wonder if I'm controlling them or are they controlling me? That line seems to get more blurred every day.

Hey! Congratulations on Surviving Thriving for a Year in Steemit! I really enjoyed your post My One Year Steemit Anniversary!

We do almost live in the middle of nowhere, almost, not really but we've got enough space around us to pretend until we drive less than 60 seconds. Anyway! Yes! we've had similar thoughts. I think some call it homesteading.

Definitely definitely a blurrry line!

Hehe yes it is more like trying survive. I hope year 2 is the thriving part for many of us! I got quite a few projects going on now regarding steemit so we will see.

Indeed, homesteading looks interesting. If I was not trying be somewhat modern these days I could see that kind of lifestyle being a place of happiness.

I use to do a lot of woodworking when I was a kid. I just miss creating things by hand and seeing them unfold. That fresh scent of sawdust in the morning or late at night while shaping and sanding wood.

em there are small blocks of wood and drimmel tools at Lowes these days. Quick and easy index cards (raw format). Just saying ;-)

Hehe that is so tempting! I have so many things I want to do but just not enough time to get to them all. I’ve been craving wanting to play the violin again as well. It is so tempting to buy a really cheap factory made one off amazon just to have one again. Along with a few hundred other thing as well.

While cleaning out a drawer this morning I also found index cards! It is such a nice bite size drawing area I can see even more so now after looking at one in person why some choose that as there medium.

well it's only chosen for practicing and pushing the envelop or playing with concepts for the months of June and July. I really encourage you to take a gander at the actual web site. Daisy Yellow's Index Card a Day

And hey! Get that violin too! You never know about time. It's not at all dependable. Shifts like the sands. It would be a shame to suddenly have time and no violin!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Ahhh Mrs. Kitty is adorable!!

Thank you! She was a "gift" left on my doorstep who quickly gifted us with 4 kittens.

Kitty McKitty is exceptionally social. Always has been. My friends love her because she will greet them, collect some affection and then relax in a corner of the porch.

Kitty lives in my heart's soft spot and, when I am left unchecked, I will gush on and on about her, and her children. ;-)

Thank you for visiting!

Awwww! You are so lucky! So how many fur-kids you have?
I have two fur-babies, now in doggie heaven. Sweetie the Black Lab left us in September 2017 and Cubby the Yellow Lab in March of this year. We are still heartbroken 😞.
6B3BD7D2-A544-4AB2-B326-142FEE55EE03.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25